We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ranola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ranola to your Saves list
Hotel Ranola
118 Indian Place, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ranola for the first time Dec 2 and 3rd in the king suite. The room was huge and the decor was unique and stylish. The room had a full kitchen with a little eating area as well as a large sitting area with a bar. We stayed in Room 1 and did not experience any odd or musty smell. On the contrary, the room was very fresh and clean. To be clear, this is an old building which has been very nicely renovated. The wood floors creaked and it didn't have the ultra luxurious finishes that some may prefer in a hotel. The air conditioner in the room is a window unit. None of that mattered to us...it only added to the charm. The hotel was in a great downtown location which allowed us to make the most of our time in Sarasota. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
86
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Recently stayed at the Hotel Ranola for the first time on the recommendation of a friend and was very pleasantly surprised. A wonderful staff/owners, electric design and so close to everything. Parked the car and walked everywhere. The room was very clean and roomy and the free internet was a plus. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Like others here, I had the same experience with the odd, musty smell. It was not overpowering, but was bad enough to be a little sickening, like an old, bad laundry fabric softener cloth or something. As another reviewer suggested, it might be from the A/C, but even when the unit was turned off, the smell remained.

We bought a giant bunch of fresh basil from the market, and kept that in the room, but its lovely aroma was no match or the underlying mustiness!

The bed was soft and if you got too close to the edge, you immediately rolled off the side! The room looked nice, but again, as another reviewer mentioned, the hotel does not have nice views, being bordered by the post office and Verizon buildings, mostly.

The staff was very nice and friendly, and had good suggestions for places to visit and eat. We've been to Sarasota, which we love, several times, and we've always stayed at the lovely Cypress B & B. Much nicer surroundings and the breakfasts and late afternoon snacks/drinks are awesome!

I was surprised to have such a substandard experience at the Hotel Ranola, since it has gotten such good reviews. But an un-ignorable musty odor can certainly put a damper on one's stay! Although, on the positive side, it forced us out of the room and out into the lovely environs of Sarasota, probably more than we would have done, if the room had been a better-smelling one!

Also, one minor complaint: A light bulb was bad in one of the bedside lamps. I asked for a replacement, and never got one. So, for our 4-days there, one side of the bed stayed dark.

Room Tip: Check the smell of the room first, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telran0la, Owner at Hotel Ranola, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room during your recent stay. Had you called the front desk when you realized there was an issue, we would have been happy to move you to a room that better suited your needs. As always, our goal is to ensure guests have a positive experience. It is impossible for us to correct a situation if we are not made aware of it.

Please feel free to contact us at 866.951.0111, if you would like to discuss the matter further. We certainly appreciate your business, and hope you will return to Hotel Ranola, Downtown Sarasota, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I have been twice to the Ranola this year in March and June and both times we had wonderful room No. 9. I have to say that, regarding to the "smelly" comment below, it always felt like walking into a fresh duvet cover surrounded by a coaxing wooden floor, it was very pleasing indeed and never smelled bad at all. The Ranola is perfectly located in downtown Sarasota with all the gorgeous restaurants (amazing pizza at Café Epicure), art galleries, boutiques, a wonderful farmer's market and Whole Foods in walking distance. The rooms are exceptionally well decorated, with a kitchen bigger than my own at home, and everything one needs. If it was possible I'd probably buy one of the apartments, it's just feels so welcoming and made only for you. Whenever you need something, you can ask Kathy and Lou and they'll make anything possible and assist you in every way.
We're looking forward to our next stay and hope it happens soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was our second stay at the Ranola. Rooms are large, comfortable and equipped with full kitchen. Walking location to Dowtown, Burns Court and Main Street. Owners and staff always perfectly hospitable. If you like small/family like hotel, this is the place in Sarasota. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Recently stayed at Ranola for the third time while visiting friends in the area. Still love the charm of this hotel and the proximity to downtown Sarasota. Parked the car steps away from the front entrance upon arrival and walked everywhere after that. Kathy and Lou are the consummate hosts and go out of their way to make your stay delightful. Already booked for my spring visit.

Room Tip: Hosts are more than welcome to show you your room before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Ranola on Oct.15 (our 17th Anniversary) Loved this hotel it is a converted apt building from the 20's. Location perfect for downtown. We just parked our car and walked Main St. Tons of restaurants in the area but I must recommend Ceveche Tapas Bar. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ranola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranola

Address: 118 Indian Place, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only hotel in the heart of Downtown Sarasota, Florida. Walk to dozens of fabulous restaurants. Shops, galleries, etc. Full kitchens, sitting area, spacious rooms. Pillowtop mattresses, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and more. Minutes to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ranola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranola Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ranola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.