We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is in beautiful shape and within walking distance to downtown Sarasota. The front desk employees are very friendly and extremely helpful, especially Christian who always gave us great suggestions on restaurants and excellent directions to get places.

The rooms are decorated very well and exceptionally clean. I only wish they had a refrigerator!

It was a great stay and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear LovesToTravel918
Thank you for your fabulous review. We love hearing great things about our employees. We pride ourselves in delivering exceptional service. Christian does a wonderful job providing guests with inside knowledge of the neighborhood and upscale service. In reference to the refrigerator in the rooms, our rooms on the executive floors include a mini fridge and it can also be rented at the front desk upon request. We are very happy to know you would recommend our boutique hotel. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    173
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
238
39
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed from Thursday through Monday morning and found this hotel to be a real delight. The staff were all genuinely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, neat and very pleasantly furnished and decorated. It was a real treat form the standard hotel "blah" decor. Instead of the usual nondescript painting, one whole wall was a mural from a local botanical garden. The desk was a good size for a laptop and papers. The WiFi was actually pretty quick. The room was also very quiet.

There was a very pleasant bistro off the lobby with pretty good food and goodies.

One nice feature was the underground garage which keeps your car out of the Florida sun.

Room Tip: I sprung for the "executive" room which is a tad larger but has a good size table and a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Michael G
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your comments. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the beautiful murals on your bedroom wall. Our upscale boutique hotel is one of the few hotels that portray the neighborhood’s key attractions through murals, furnishings, and decor. Our guest rooms were designed with you in mind and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again for another extended stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It is an adorable hotel with fantastic staff! The food is great and the hot tub is wonderful. A friend and I stayed here and wanted to keep extending our stay. The decor is too cute- very Florida. The shower is huge! Upon entering our room we were greeted with complementary trail mixes and cookies.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Emily K,
Thank you for your generous review. We are ecstatic to know that you adored our amenities and the many features this upscale boutique hotel offers. We love the new renovations that have taken place and we are so happy to know that you benefited from of our amenities and facilities. Please visit us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Indigo of Sarasota, Florida is by far one of the grandest, most modern hotels. The employees there always greet you with a smile on their face weather it's at the front desk when you're checking in, or when you're being waited on at the resturant or bar area. The service is very personal and they always want to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. The rooms are spectacular! With modern nature murals and modern furniture and sleeping arrangements. The bathrooms are spacious and very sophisticated. The food and breakfast is outstanding and delicious all made by the hotel's finest chefs. The decorations are modern, spectacular, and outstanding! The spa is a very quiet, reserved place to relax and unwind in. It is a quality, family oriented hotel but also appeals to a wonderful romantic feel as well. It is a phenomenal place to stay while spending an amazing time at the beaches and attractions of Sarasota, Florida!

Room Tip: The suites come with a complimentary mini fridge and "living room" area. Great for couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mindy H,
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful things about our upscale boutique hotel. We have shared your review with our staff. We are glad to know that you savored the breakfast buffet options as well as the bar. We are proud of our team at Hotel Indigo Sarasota. They do an amazing job and we are fortunate to have these individuals on the service end. From our front desk team’s warm greeting to personal Haikus, we aim to inspire. We love that Hotel Indigo's aesthetic appealed to you and hope that you share your review with your friends and family. We will be on the lookout for your future reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel Indigo

Not a great experience…pictures don’t tell the story

I was in Sarasota for a graduation and looking for a unique hotel experience. Initially, we were to stay at the Ritz Carlton- which is are go to when in Sarasota, but then I figured…why not branch out and try something new! Well…not sure that was the best road traveled.

To be fair… there were a few positives to note. The service- I must say was beyond average…but the facility itself just seemed more like a Fairfield Inn, which in fairness is not my cup a tea. When we entered the room, there was a welcome package on the bed of bottled iced tea and a granola bar and soft music was playing from the clock radio- nice gesture. Also, once voicing dissatisfaction with my room, I was able to see another room that would have become available the next night before making an informed decision to reduce my reservation from three nights to one. The front desk clerk was very understanding and quickly changed my reservation per my request.

As far as my dislikes, the room was more trendy than comfortable and the decor was so ostentatious that it was obviously difficult to care for. Makeup smears and abrasions on the white paint in the bathroom and the door-frame, blemishes on the white armoire and other furniture pieces. No closet other than the armoire in the room and the room just seemed “tight” with so many décor-oriented pieces. We requested the plush queen room and hmmm…the beds simply seemed like doubles.

The floors had this laminate covering that resembled wood and it was lifting in many areas across the floor. I just kind felt like I was in a showroom floor bedroom at IKEA that could not withstand the wear and tear of constant traffic. The other issue that I had was that the air conditioner was humming most of the evening and into the night. And the view…it was a residential building across the way..

On the upside, the small dining area was fair…no real functioning dining room but the servers and other staff in this area were very accommodating and alert to serving.

I guess for maybe $80.00 or $90.00 bucks..it would be a good deal…but for $224.00 plus tax..no….I don’t think so. I would have rather used my Marriott status at the Ritz Carlton for another $30.00 bucks or heck…for $110.00 we could’ve stayed at the Courtyard Marriott down the road, which is a great deal economically and a bit more sound in design as compared to Hotel Indigo.

Overall, it the website just doesn't do a good job of presenting an accurate picture of the property. It is MUCH smaller and “simpler” than described.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mimi823,
We thank you for your feedback and would like to address some of your concerns. We apologize for not leaving you completely satisfied with your stay. We live for positive reviews and we pride ourselves on our staff, cleanliness, service, quality, and design standards. We deeply apologize for the condition of the bathroom door frame and armoire and can assure you that it is not a common occurrence. Our housekeeping staff is thoroughly trained on standards and procedures to ensure that every guest room is well cleaned prior to check in. We will do our best to remedy these issues so that they do not happen again. In reference to the overall design of the hotel, we improve the hotel’s style and furnishings often to maintain a fresh look. We offer an intimate boutique experience that reflects the local culture and character of Sarasota. It saddens us to know that you did not enjoy our boutique charm or style. Our prices directly correlate with the level of service offered and the season in which you booked your reservation. We hope to host you again to show you how great our hotel really is. Please contact the Front Office Manager, Sandra when making a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I did not expect to have such a great experience with this hotel. As soon as I walked in the room you can smell how clean it is and the decoration overall is very cozy, cottage style. The room was very spacious and everybody was very friendly. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear MECE85,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to know that we exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on being more than standard. Our unique boutique style is intended to please. We would love to see you again for another chance to amaze you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I absolutely loved this gorgeous hotel! The service was impeccable, the rooms huge and very well appointed, and it was in a very quite area. This hotel is perfect for business travelers, or those that need to come to Sarasota, however, it is not that close to Siesta Key Beach at all, it would take us at least 15 minutes driving to get there, with no traffic. All in all, an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a room far from lobby and gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear DoctorAlfie,
We appreciate you taking the time to write this marvelous review about Hotel Indigo Sarasota. We love to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the services provided. We believe that our guests deserve impeccable service and we are glad to know that it was overtly portrayed. Our boutique hotel is perfect for intimate gatherings or corporate meetings. Not many hotels cater to a broad spectrum of travelers and that’s what makes us unique. We hope to see you again for another enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.