We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Business Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are a local business with a downtown location very close to the hotel. Although it is not quite close enough to walk, it's no problem with the hotel shuttle which is only one of their great ammenities. The shuttle will also pick up and drop off our employees/guests from the local airport (SRQ) which removes the need for car rental if our employees are coming for only a one week work trip. Their bar/cafe also provides another ammenity for our traveling employees who don't have lots of time to get out for dinner or an early breakfast and the biggest surprise is the wonderful, amazing food prepared and served by their on-site chef. Their rooms are very clean, warm and welcoming with a local downtown Sarasota ambiance which makes it very comfortable for our business groups and always makes them feel like they are on a mini-vacation even though they are all here working daily. A company is only as good as it's people so the number one positive remark I will finish with here is their Staff who make our business groups feel like we are number one upon being a guest in their hotel and our employees are always ready to return as quickly as we can book the next reservation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DMSRQ,
We at Hotel Indigo Sarasota love our business clients and we are so proud to hear positive feedback from your company. We strive to provide all the creature comforts of home while also providing any tools that may be needed for work. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we look forward to a continued partnership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    148
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
193
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

first time ive stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Sarasota. Heard a few things, all good...got there in the afternoon, was greeted by a very friendly, smiling staff, checked out the room and was pleased. Biggest suprise came when we sat at the bar/restaurant and met Chef Solomon Shanker. Great food, great flavor and great desserts! Hotels are hotels, but he my friend is a reason to come back and experience Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Todd T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about our hotel and especially about our Chef. Chef Sol has taken our restaurant to new heights with his innovative ideas and passion for fresh, locally sourced ingredients and we couldn’t be more pleased than to have him recognized for his efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you don't mind not being right on the water this is the place to stay in Sarasota. It is convenient to downtown, the staff is great and the rooms are fresh, clean and uniquely decorated. It's also a great value, That said, if you are looking for fine dining in the hotel or more of a resort experience, this isn't the place to stay. It's a smaller hotel with small scale amenities. It's a great place to stay if you want a great hotel but are going elsewhere for dinner and daily activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Larry A,
We are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our great staff and clean rooms. We enjoy our proximity to downtown and our culturally rich neighborhood. We hope that when you return you will try some of our new menu items. We pride ourselves on our fresh, local, seasonally inspired menu and ingredients. We also rent bicycles that are great for taking over the bridge to St. Armand’s Circle or Lido Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, FL
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Hotel Indigo and couldn't ask for anymore. The location near downtown and the water was nice. With covered parking available it was convenient to park and the underground parking had elevator access that was easy. Check-in and Check-out was very quick and efficient. Our room on the second floor was quite nice and quiet even next the the elevators. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows (my wife likes that). Walk-in shower, convenient plug-in on the desk light for a charger, music playing softly as we entered the room and wood floors made it like the other Indigo hotels we have stayed at.Small quiet pool area with one "cold" and one "hot" pool for your choice. Bathroom/Change room right off door to pool from the hallway.
We were going to get a smoothie at their cafe but their blender was broken. That's about the only negative and that was no big deal.
I would return here again.

Room Tip: Larger vehicles might find it a bit tight in the garage to maneuver. It's worth parking there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Scoutdreams,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and hope that you will return soon for a fresh fruit smoothie on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just stayed a night in the Hotel Indigo in Sarasota. This boutique hotel really lived up to all the great reviews I had read about it. The service, décor and cleanliness were all outstanding. It was a pleasant surprise and the price was very attractive for a hotel of this caliber. I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear 826Happy1945,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We only hope that your next stay with us will be a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemary, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo for a business weekend meeting for my wife. We found the hotel to be a great stay for a great value! The staff was awesome! The front desk staff friendly and welcoming and made us feel comfortable from the start. The room was very nice, with a comfortable bed,
The hotel rents beach bikes for an easy ride to the nearby downtown area of Sarasota, St Armands Circle, Lido Beach and of course, the iconic VJ Day Kiss Statue.
We were a little confused and amused by the 'pool'. We couldn't figure out if it was supposed to two hot tubs or if it was a hot tub and a swimming pool for Lilliputians! I guess it would be handy for bragging about doing 500 laps in less than an hour!
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Indigo and will definitely stay there again for future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for partial beach view. It's 'very partial' but much better than the view of the rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Lola13th,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your weekend stay. Our staff appreciates positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your room and utilized our fun Indigo blue beach bikes! Our hot and cold spa wading pools are certainly not meant for doing laps (or even water aerobics) but they are a fabulous way to relax after a morning run across the Ringling Causeway, or a long day spent on your feet at business meetings. We did get a chuckle at the image of Lilliputian swimmers – we would welcome such tiny and worldly guests! Thank you again for your kind words and funny review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks pretty new, even though it is not. It is a close walk to Downtown and that is about it. Would have gotten a 5 for value, but it is not the best location and right next to condos and a residential area that is a little rundown. I would stay again for a short stay. Needed to go out for dinner as the little restaurant was not too appetizing. The staff was nice and rooms were clean. The bathroom was nicer than most hotels. We stayed 1 night and had a great view of the parking lot of a large condo right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Im4FunTravel, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We’re glad that you took advantage of our proximity to downtown to walk around in our Neighborhood. We are proud to be a part of the Rosemary District which is one of Sarasota’s original settlements and is rich in cultural history. We hope that you will stay with us again as our staff is always eager to share the story of our neighborhood. We also hope that you will eat in the restaurant as we have a very talented chef and we pride ourselves on using local, organic, sustainable produce whenever possible. We will be introducing our new menu in the next few months and we are excited about the direction that we are taking. Thank you for complimenting our wonderful staff and our housekeepers will be very happy to hear that you appreciated their efforts. We look forward to your next visit and hope to improve upon your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.