We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff, very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff, very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights. This hotel is convenient to the airport, a short walk to downtown, near a grocery store, etc. Every member of the staff was extremely pleasant, especially Miguel at breakfast. Our only concern was that our room seemed rather dark, even with all of the lamps turned on. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay and we would not hesitate to do so again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Steelangel, thank you for your recent comments about our property. We are conveniently located near many shops and restaurants; it is refreshing to take a short walk or even a bike ride around town. Our staff tries to go above and beyond for each guest, and they really enjoy hearing the positive feedback from our guests. Please stop by and see us again, whenever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    141
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
185
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed there, 2 nights in a king deluxe room (overlooking a parking garage) with a small sitting area, and a writing desk. Room and bathroom were very clean. However, the pillows for a king bed were too small, and too soft. And, it would've been nice to have a minibar, instead of an empty mini refrigerator, just sitting on the floor next to the TV cabinet.

Another shortcoming of this property was that the fitness room was lacking in basic workout equipment. The small outdoor pool and separate spa were both very clean. However, the pool/spa area should be privately landscaped, as you can be seen from the street.

Otherwise, this property is conveniently located between the historic district, downtown, and the bridge to St. Armand's Circle. The breakfast in the restaurant was consistently good, and had a nice variety of items. The entire staff was friendly and helpful, too. There was also ample parking in the hotel's garage, which was complementary.

I would definitely consider staying at this hotel, again. I would just ask to have a room in a different area of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask not to be facing the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dborlando2, thank you for your recent comments about our hotel. We hope you got to enjoy the neighborhood and see what Sarasota has to offer. We wanted to let you know for future stays that we offer king size pillows upon request. We are going through a renewal phase and the fitness center is in the plans to be renewed. We welcome you back anytime, please let us know when your coming so we can put those king size pillows in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a pleasure to stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. Sandra and Erika at the front desk were awesome as well as the entire staff. You can walk to the water, downtown, etc. Having transporation for within a three mile radius was a real plus. Would stay here again. They made our frist trip to Florida very special. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Room 431 has a couch and is very spacious. Really lovely shower and bathroom. Peekaboo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you, Judybellingham. It was a pleasure having you as one of our guests, we are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Our staff makes a true effort to go above and beyond for each and every guest. We hope to have you back whenever you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I really liked this hotel despite a few shortcomings. The staff was knowledgable, helpful, and very friendly. The rooms were crisp and clean. I loved the control I had on room temp! Very easy to operate unlike mamy cryptic thermostats.
The bed was comfortable with ample excellent pillows, but coukd have been a little softer for me. The couches and chairs were niceand the bed serving tray was a nice touch!
The TV and channel selection were great! The wi-fi was slow though. I switched to my phone as it was faster. Speaking of phone...after 4 days my network (ATT) ceased to function inside the hotel. ?? It worked outside just fine though. The iron and ironing board were good too.
The bathroom was very nice with a huge walk-in shower (I had a suite). The towels were always fresh and the essentials were all there.
The downsides: the floors were worn and in my room (329) they had gaps and bad wear in spots. The trim around the vanities needed new paint as they were worn. That's it...nothing major.
I come to Sarasota often and this will be my new hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Seahawksman, It is nice to hear about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback on your room. We are going through a renewal at the hotel and will be updating our guest rooms, including the floors and all other areas in the guest rooms. It’s wonderful to know that you will choose our hotel in the future and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were to stay at the Ritz Carlton for a conference which was full. We were directed here and stayed for 5 nights.
This was a wonderful stay from the time of registering. The staff were all relaxed, friendly, accomodating and knowledgeable. It is the kind of place in which you can run downstairs to borrow a couple of wine glasses or a corkscrew, deal directly with the person who "possesses" it and get back to you room in 2 minutes.
We didn't hear a sound from adjacent rooms during 5 nights. The rooms are lovely. Ours did not have a bath, but had a large shower. No balcony.
There is free parking- our friends at the Ritz paid $25/ day. Free Wifi- at the Ritz- $11/day.
Bikes for your use outside.
We didn't eat here.
Overall, we felt pampered and relaxed. The staff were problem solvers and facilitating. Highly recommended and although not cheap, by our standards, felt it excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Rkmahar, sounds like you had a delightful stay. Thank you for the nice comments about our staff and hotel. Offering complimentary parking and wifi is a nice advantage for guests when they choose to stay with us. We are so glad to have you stay with us, please come back to the Hotel Indigo if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I never though on a business trip in Sarasota, I would find the hotel bistro to have the most delicious and creative dishes in the city! Even if you are not staying at Hotel Indigo, you must come have dinner at H2O Bistro! I recommend anything on the "Specials" board! Bravo Chef Sol!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
YoungG9333, thank you for your reviews on our H20 Bistro, Our Executive Chef is very proud of his food and we love to hear the positive feedback. Please stop by anytime to enjoy another one of Chef Sol’s specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Indigo with my elderly parents who thought they died and went to heaven! From the gorgeous decor to the royal treatment that they gave us it was a perfect experience in every way! AND before we left a young lady by the name of Julia shared a special gift with me that I will always cherish! Thanks Julia and staff for being so kind to us! We will definitely stay again :) Dr. Deborah Lippi PhD., Key West, Florida

Room Tip: all rooms were well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Debracharlotte1, we are so happy that we could provide the “royal treatment” for you and your parents! Being able to give you something so special is just the type of thing we try to do, to make each guest’s stay memorable. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to the next time you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.