We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Indigo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel Indigo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On your visit to Sarasota Flo. you must stay at the Hotel Indigo. Our stay there was perfect. Location to St. Armand Circle, restaurants, Sonesta Beach was just a short drive.
The hotel was clean and the rooms were a nice size. The hotel has a comfortable restaurant in the lobby and the food is good.
The staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is the best ever. I have stayed there before, and will stay there whenever we go to Sarasota.

Room Tip: You may get a better price by calling the hotel directly. There are specials on line also. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Robert Y, We are so glad you thought your stay was perfect. Our hotel offers some great amenities and we are happy you got to experience them. Thank you for recognizing our staff and we aim to inspire and delight each and every guest. We look forward to your next visit with us and hope it is sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I think I expected a little bit more considering the phenomenal reviews posted here and on Tripadvisor about this hotel. I'm not entirely disappointed, but not terribly impressed either. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. I find the restaurant to be overpriced and mediocre. I am shocked that they don't offer free coffee in the lobby like EVERY OTHER hotel on the entire planet. The fitness room is average, but very clean.

My room is clean and modern - although the bathroom had a bad smell of urine when I checked in. The exhaust fan cleared that out after a bit. I really like the big, spacious shower -- they could improve upon it by putting a Holiday Inn Express showerhead in there (you would think that ICH would at least demand that one of their premium brands have better fixtures than their bargain brand).

The bed is comfortable and the air conditioning works well. Be aware that you can't leave the fan running all night long, so you may be awoken by the fan cycling on and off. The rooms feature a small refrigerator, but no microwave. There is also no washer/dryer available for guests in the hotel which is disappointing for travelers on a longer trip.

I was "upgraded" to the executive floor upon check in. I'm not sure why this is any different from any of the other floors. On the contrary I found peeling wallpaper just outside my room which is surprising considering the attention to detail elsewhere in the hotel. (see photo)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Mike W, We’re sorry that your experience was not top notch as we aim to inspire every guest. We do not offer free coffee in our lobby however were happy to provide extra complimentary coffee for your room. We also have some great baristas who can whip up a latte or cappuccino at your request. We are glad that the fan was able to take away the smell you experienced, if you can email us your room number
(Admin@srqhotel.com) we will make sure that our Director of Engineering looks into the matter.
Within the Intercontinental Hotel Group of hotel brands, there are a variety of brands that offer specific standards to meet any traveler’s needs. At Hotel Indigo we strive to be an upscale yet casual option for travelers. We appreciate your feedback; we have chosen these shower heads in our rooms due to their eco-friendly features and our commitment to the environment. We greatly appreciate your suggestions and feedback.
We are in the midst of a continuous renewal within the hotel and many of our Attention to detail matters will be taken care of. We hope that you will try out our brand again and see that we offer great amenities in the downtown location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

From check in to check out time, we have never experienced such professional and going the extra mile staff and always smiling and accommodating during our one week stay.
Assistant manager Claudia and Christian were very wonderful when we first checked in as we were exhausted and accommodated all our needs. We extended our stay after all the outstanding service and the professional yet feeling like home kinda atmosphere. Hotel rooms are super clean and in the heart of downtown Sarasota. They beat the Hayat and Marriott service and we will come back in spring with the rest of our families to stay here again.
You have done great staff training here and we didn't want not to have you recognize it.
Ps Dunia (front desk staff) went out of her way to book a massage for my fiancée when they were all booked solid in town and had suffered a severe neck pain. No other hotels will do that.

Room Tip: Take the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Michael M for your recent comment on Trip advisor. We are very proud of our staff here and we thank you for recognizing a few of them by name, we will be sure to pass on your kind words. Customer service really makes the place your staying at different when you experience it in a positive way. We look forward to having you and your family back in the spring! Come check out our live happy hour on Friday nights when you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I was upgraded with no question when they saw my height. Non smoking property is immaculate and very colourful. The laminate floor is the only puzzle piece that does fit this nicely decorated property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astronut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Astronut21 for your recent review. I’m glad that we were able to anticipate your needs and accommodate you with an upgraded room. We are in the process of a continuous renewal and will be updating our rooms within the next year, including the flooring in the rooms. We hope you can come back soon and see all the changes! Thanks again and Happy Traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A very convenient (downtown close and a easy walk), clean, comfortable mid priced lodging in a local neighborhood. All Indigo properties are for the most part cookie cutter (not a bad thing, just some what bland) This property is well maintained, the rooms are comfortable and the walk in shower a big plus over the combo tub shower offered in this price point at other properties. A well equipped gym and a small pool round out this lodging.
Request a East facing room to enjoy the sunrise and to avoid the view of the adjacent high rise condo.
I would certainly revisit this property on my next trip to Sarasota.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gitane48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you Gitane48 for your comment about our property. I’m glad you noticed our local neighborhood, hopefully you got a chance to take in all the sights. We just celebrated our six year anniversary and are in the midst of a renewal. Make sure to come back next year and see all the great changes. Can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A colleague recommended this hotel to me as i was traveling to Sarasota on business. It turned out to be a great suggestion. A quick 10 minute ride from the Airport gets you delivered to the front door. The location is very convenient to all of Sarasota. The reception was warm and cherry. I like the flavored water vats similar to the Westin brand on arrival. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Avida bath products and a wine fridge made for a nice touch. Great Beds, wood floors, good alarm clock and bright rooms made for an enjoyable stay.
I have seen other comments about the service i have to say i agree. Everyone i encountered was incredibly nice and accommodating. The morning breakfast was a nice start to the day. I would stay here again for sure and i am a complete hotel snob.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vandelay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Vandelay09, we’re grateful for your colleague’s suggestion—and that you had such a positive experience! We agree: the quick ride from the airport is one of the best things about our location.

Thank you so much for the compliments about our staff. And your stamp of approval! Come back and see us next time you’re in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pros: Large and comfortable rooms; very friendly staff; good food in the restaurant; convenient location to the airport; shuttle service from/to the airport

Con: Very noisy air conditioner that cut on and off every few minutes...if you are a light sleeper, this may not be the hotel for you. We had to leave the light/fan on in the bathroom every night (after the first night of no sleep) to counteract the A/C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
MisterGrace, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate it!

We apologize for the air conditioner. We’re switching out the units as I type.

Come back and visit us again soon. We’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 45 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 45 in Sarasota
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing