We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This little boutique hotel is a great place to stay while visiting in Sarasota.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Easton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This little boutique hotel is a great place to stay while visiting in Sarasota.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two days here while touring the Sarasota area. It was a perfect spot for us. The decor of blue, white and green, is perfect for the locale & the small dining room is casual but very attractive & features a perfect sit-up bar. Staff and manager were friendly and helpful with site suggestions & directions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel arel quieter. There is both above ground and underground parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you MaryLou! We appreciate you taking the time to review and are grateful for your kind words. We’re pleased that you had such a good trip to Sarasota and are flattered that we were able to contribute. Let us know if you plan on being back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    151
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
200
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is more of a boutique hotel and less of your Hyatt/Holiday Inn type hotel, but it's not pretentious in the least. The decor is very Florida; they've used a blue/green beach glass motif and it's really pretty. The lobby has a bar (beer/wine only) and sitting areas as well as the check-in desk. The staff was extremely accommodating (Thank YOU, Avery, for tracking down my sweater!) and professional. Our room did not have a view, but since we were mostly in the room to sleep, we didn't mind. It was a very large room with a refrigerator and coffee maker. The beautiful contemporary bathroom included robes. We walked to lunch in the "downtown" area of Sarasota which has many nice shops and restaurants, but drove to dinner as this time of year it is quite dark there by 7 p.m. Although we could have walked to the opera, the science museum and several other attractions, we drove to the Marie Selby botanical garden (10 minutes) on the first day and on the second, we also drove to the Ringling Museum (15 minutes). Breakfast is not included in your room rate (which was extremely reasonable especially compared to other hotels in the area), but we ate there anyway for the convenience. It's buffet style with omelets made to order. My husband really enjoyed his omelet. I had oatmeal. You can walk to a restaurant that serves breakfast if you like a more substantial meal. All in all, we really enjoyed this quiet little oasis near the heart of bustling Sarasota.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room on the opposite side of the parking area as there is quite a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
RoscoePound, thank you for your kind words! We agree with you on the décor – it is indeed very Florida. And you would know, coming from beautiful Sanibel Island!

We’ll make sure Avery receives your thanks. We love when our employees make a lasting impression on guests and it seems like he did that for you!

Come back and visit us again soon. We look forward to having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I are snobs. But we don't want top shelf, expensive, lush, [garish] luxury. We want clean, simple, modern, comfortable. That typically means a small boutique hotel - the kind that tend to be hard to find on the interwebs...
Who knew a chain hotel would satisfy these two snobs?
If you want plush, deep carpets go elsewhere. If you want crystal chandeliers, find them down the street. If you want Motel 6, go to Motel 6. But if you want wood floors, simple appointments, a careful design aesthetic, and well thought out bathrooms - come to Indigo.
It's not super elite. It's not Phillipe Stark/Gordon Ramsey high-end. But for the price they do a heck of a job.
It will be my go-to chain from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
HarryDurt, thank you very much! Sometimes it’s hard for us to explain the Indigo concept; it’s more of a see-it-to-believe-it kind of place. But you nailed it! And we couldn’t be more pleased that you took the time to share your experience.

Keep coming back – we believe in continuous renewal and will be making some updates in the next few months. We’d love to have your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This property was chosen to accommodate our wedding party and family and it was a SUPERB choice! We loved the BEACHY feel that was chic and classy...pristine clean....and located near just about everything! The wedding took place at the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens just about a mile or two up the street...super convenient! The staff were quite friendly and our hotel service superior.

Only note of caution...be aware that there are handicap accessible rooms and hearing impaired rooms. We had asked for a handicap accessible room for our elderly mother but received a hearing impaired room not knowing the difference. There were no rails in the bathroom or in the shower and she did not shower, only sponge bathed, during our entire stay. When I brought this to the attention of the staff, the quickly apologized and realized that even a hearing impaired room (which many elderly can be) should also have handicap accessiility...i.e. rails to hold on to. Most elderly who need handicap accessibility also need the hearing impaired amenities so I hope they will attend to this issue.

Great job! Loved it! We hope we can stay there again some day!

Room Tip: When asking for a handicap room, be sure to know there are handicap accessible rooms and hearing imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Yougottaknow, thank you for that feedback! We apologize for our mistake between the handicapped room and the hearing impaired room. As always, guest feedback is more important to our operations than most reviewers know!

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We also hope that you can stay here again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My second stay here. Clean, comfortable, and friendly. Rooms are lovely--not boring, and the shower is HUGE! The furniture is more like a friends' guest room than a hotel. The hotel doesn't have a large bar/pub if that is important to you, but has a friendly little lobby bar. You'll love this place. Nice location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Peter, we love that – “the furniture is more like a friends’ guest room than a hotel.” And we agree! We want all guests to feel relaxed and renewed during their visits and do all that we can to make it feel like home. We’re glad you enjoyed and will see you on your third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Especially for its price class, this is terrific property. I have allergies and need fresh air and unscented rooms, so generally I research new hotels thoroughly before my stays. I booked here, however, to attend a last minute family event....this is where the group was staying. I called ahead and asked the room be cleaned a certain way, etc., but that's not always predictable. What a great surprise! The hotel honored all my requests, and then some. They had the room ready for early check-in (as I requested), and had run an ozone machine and cleaned with unscented products. More important, the entire hotel is immaculate. I am VERY picky, and this is one of the freshest hotels I've seen in quite a while. The decor is very "Florida"....upbeat, open, airy, just luxurious enough, and, as you might imagine, a soothing indigo blue mixed with whites and sea colors. As a side note, I live within walking distance from their hotel in downtown Chicago, and the decor is similar. Some urban visitors love the "sea" flavor, but I think it works better in Florida! Hotel staff is outstanding. They took great pleasure in "getting it right". The hotel location is less than 10 minutes to the airport, walking distance from the bay (you can see it from the windows), a short drive to the beach, and close to retail and the center of everything. That being said, the area is a litle congested, but I managed to find walking paths and had no trouble getting around. I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: For a small upcharge, I had one of the "suite" rooms, which are on the ends and near the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Regulartraveler, we’re glad you had such a pleasant experience! We take guest preferences very seriously and are pleased that we were able to meet all of yours. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review in response. We’ll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake,MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed there for 3 nights while in town planning her wedding. Since this hotel was recommended for wedding guests we decided we had better try it out. Great choice. Guests will love it. Very light and soft feeling rooms. Very clean and beautifully decorated.. Very friendly and fast room service when there was no room for us to eat in the bar due to a wedding party there. Soft music in hallways, murals on room walls, beautiful walk in spa shower, hardwood floors, everything just added up to a great experience.

Room Tip: From our experience I don't know if there could be a bad room. Only saw ours which was fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Mom0802, thank you so much! We’re glad you and your daughter had a pleasant weekend. Pass along our congratulations on her upcoming wedding!

We appreciate you choosing us as a preferred hotel for your wedding guests and sharing your endorsement on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.