We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing anniversary stay here a few weeks ago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“amazing anniversary stay here a few weeks ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

other than some poor signage for this hotel everything was fantastic for a quick overnight stay for my wife and I on our 9 year anniversary. The lobby, restaurant and most importantly, room was spotless and gorgeous.

We were going to stay at the Ritz here in Sarasota but after reading reviews on this establishment decided to stay here instead. We're glad we did. Everything was in a word, fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for reasonably priced rooms, a location close to St. Armands, Downtown, and plenty of other area attractions.

We will certainly go back. I do wish they would have an actual swimming pool versus two small hot tubs outside. I would love to bring my small boy here for a family getaway but it would be nice to have a large pool to swim in. Otherwise, this place is tops in my book and honestly, one of the very nicest hotels I've ever stayed at other than the Westin in Denver, Colorado.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Eugene, we did a little happy dance when we saw that reviews led you to choose our hotel! Thank you for mentioning that – and reviewing so the cycle can continue!

Happy belated anniversary and thank you for your feedback. We’ll investigate the signage issue—ease of arrival for guests is a big priority for us.

Thank you again for the kind words and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    127
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
71
155
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is the first Hotel Indigo I have ever stayed in, and I have to say I was very impressed. Everything from the open air lounge in the lobby to the wall murals in the room and even the soft music playing in the hallways, this hotel makes you feel like you're having an experience, not just a hotel stay. Christian at the front desk was especially kind and helpful. He checked me in very efficiently, and gave me a map showing me the downtown Sarasota area and where I would find some local restaurants. In the morning, I stopped at the H20 lounge for breakfast, and had a delicious egg ham and cheese bagel sandwich, which came with a large bowl of fresh sliced fruit. I will definitely recommend the Hotel Indigo Sarasota to family and friends if they are traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
GatorJS3, we’re very glad that you had your first Indigo experience with us! And that you interacted with Christian – he’s a guest favorite and one of our greatest assets.

From the breakfast to exploring our neighborhood, we’re glad you had an inspiring visit. Come back again soon. We can’t wait to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband was celebrating his 65TH birthday on September 28TH and we wanted to go to Siesta Key Beach to celebrate. We had not been to the Sarasota area for 12 years and the last time we visited, we stayed on Siesta Key. However, once I read the reviews of Hotel Indigo Sarasota and looked at the online pictures, my mind was made up. We were not disappointed. The Hotel is beautiful and clean. Everyone was friendly and the atmosphere was upbeat. The drive to the beach was not bad at all. Actually, we liked not being right on the beach so we could relax. Our only complaint was the bed pillows were way too soft. We should have asked for firmer pillows and next time we will request them. We plan to stay at Hotal Indigo Sarasota again and do more exploring in the area. The day were were leaving, the desk clerk recommended a great seafood restaurant not far from the Hotel. We went there for lunch on our way to the airport and it was really good. My husband had a good birthday and we can't wait to visit again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4TH floor and it was quiet with a king sized bed. We liked being able to park in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Michelle2489, Happy Belated to your husband and thank you for celebrating with us! We love that you chose our hotel based on the online reviews and pictures – all thanks to people like you reviewing!

Call ahead next time and we’ll have firm pillows set up in your room before you arrive. And make sure to come back again before 12 years passes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is my second visist to this hotel. Enjoy the decor and the restaurant. The bathroom have walk-in showers rather than tubs, so would be much less likely to slip in and out. The hotel is convenient to downtown. There are walking paths nearby, near the water. There is convenient parking under the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is a little tricky (you drive in through the back or side entrance on Boulevard of the Arts). Try the Toasted Mango cafe within a half block for breakfast. Only complaint I have is that the AC cycled off/on a bit loudly during the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Tom1397, welcome back and thank you for reviewing again! You hit on two gems: the walking path (Sarasota Recreational Trail) and Toasted Mango. We encourage all guests to explore our neighborhood and get the true Sarasota experience and it sounds like you did just that.

Sorry about the AC and we hope it didn’t disturb you too much. I’ll pass that information along to our Director of Engineering and we’ll have it fixed by the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Indigo for a weekend getaway with the wife. Great boutique hotel with friendly staff. The room was spacious and clean - clean is always important as my wife and I both work in hotels. Due to tile and wood flooring, the lobby can get a little loud when people gather at the bar but it sure looks beautiful!!
The location is great and you can get to eateries, harbor or Siesta Key in a matter of minutes. We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Branquelo68, we love insider reviews! When someone knows the hotel business and is able to verify that the little details are being done right, we’re very pleased. Thank you for your stay with us and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Probably the best value in Sarasota. Close to everything. Rooms more than adequate in size. Excellent bathrooms and unlike some the nearby hotels - free Wi FI. If you need to be in Sarasota and need a place to stay, avoid the larger properties across the street and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
HogRider50 it looks like you traveled quite a bit to make it to Sarasota. We’re glad you made it to our hotel and doubly glad that you took the time to review! It sounds like you’ll be back. When you come you’ll have to let me know – did you ride your bike all the way down from Alaska?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. They were always willing to stop what they were doing to give directions, complete with map and highlighted routes. The rooms spacious and clean. Shower was nice and large. Loved the large murals on the wall in keeping with the theme. We were within walking distance of Main street for the restaurants and shops. Enjoyed the water with lemon awaiting us in the lobby. Would definitely return to this hotel or any other the other Hotel Indigo's. The only negative is that the doors slam loudly. I was on vacation but others must have been there for work and I was awakened at 6 am and 7 am on Monday/Tuesday by the sound of people leaving their rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello Lorraine S,
Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to receive positive feedback. We will see what we can do about the additional towel rack when we have an opportunity to make changes to the guest room bathrooms. We do not have any microwaves in the guestrooms, but if on our fourth floor executive level we do offer in room refrigerators. If you are a priority club member and we have availability, we will be happy to upgrade you on your next stay. Thank you again for taking time to write your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list