We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way To Celebrate A Birthday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Sun Lakes, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Way To Celebrate A Birthday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband was celebrating his 65TH birthday on September 28TH and we wanted to go to Siesta Key Beach to celebrate. We had not been to the Sarasota area for 12 years and the last time we visited, we stayed on Siesta Key. However, once I read the reviews of Hotel Indigo Sarasota and looked at the online pictures, my mind was made up. We were not disappointed. The Hotel is beautiful and clean. Everyone was friendly and the atmosphere was upbeat. The drive to the beach was not bad at all. Actually, we liked not being right on the beach so we could relax. Our only complaint was the bed pillows were way too soft. We should have asked for firmer pillows and next time we will request them. We plan to stay at Hotal Indigo Sarasota again and do more exploring in the area. The day were were leaving, the desk clerk recommended a great seafood restaurant not far from the Hotel. We went there for lunch on our way to the airport and it was really good. My husband had a good birthday and we can't wait to visit again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4TH floor and it was quiet with a king sized bed. We liked being able to park in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Michelle2489, Happy Belated to your husband and thank you for celebrating with us! We love that you chose our hotel based on the online reviews and pictures – all thanks to people like you reviewing!

Call ahead next time and we’ll have firm pillows set up in your room before you arrive. And make sure to come back again before 12 years passes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    141
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
185
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is my second visist to this hotel. Enjoy the decor and the restaurant. The bathroom have walk-in showers rather than tubs, so would be much less likely to slip in and out. The hotel is convenient to downtown. There are walking paths nearby, near the water. There is convenient parking under the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is a little tricky (you drive in through the back or side entrance on Boulevard of the Arts). Try the Toasted Mango cafe within a half block for breakfast. Only complaint I have is that the AC cycled off/on a bit loudly during the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Tom1397, welcome back and thank you for reviewing again! You hit on two gems: the walking path (Sarasota Recreational Trail) and Toasted Mango. We encourage all guests to explore our neighborhood and get the true Sarasota experience and it sounds like you did just that.

Sorry about the AC and we hope it didn’t disturb you too much. I’ll pass that information along to our Director of Engineering and we’ll have it fixed by the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Indigo for a weekend getaway with the wife. Great boutique hotel with friendly staff. The room was spacious and clean - clean is always important as my wife and I both work in hotels. Due to tile and wood flooring, the lobby can get a little loud when people gather at the bar but it sure looks beautiful!!
The location is great and you can get to eateries, harbor or Siesta Key in a matter of minutes. We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Branquelo68, we love insider reviews! When someone knows the hotel business and is able to verify that the little details are being done right, we’re very pleased. Thank you for your stay with us and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Probably the best value in Sarasota. Close to everything. Rooms more than adequate in size. Excellent bathrooms and unlike some the nearby hotels - free Wi FI. If you need to be in Sarasota and need a place to stay, avoid the larger properties across the street and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
HogRider50 it looks like you traveled quite a bit to make it to Sarasota. We’re glad you made it to our hotel and doubly glad that you took the time to review! It sounds like you’ll be back. When you come you’ll have to let me know – did you ride your bike all the way down from Alaska?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. They were always willing to stop what they were doing to give directions, complete with map and highlighted routes. The rooms spacious and clean. Shower was nice and large. Loved the large murals on the wall in keeping with the theme. We were within walking distance of Main street for the restaurants and shops. Enjoyed the water with lemon awaiting us in the lobby. Would definitely return to this hotel or any other the other Hotel Indigo's. The only negative is that the doors slam loudly. I was on vacation but others must have been there for work and I was awakened at 6 am and 7 am on Monday/Tuesday by the sound of people leaving their rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello Lorraine S,
Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to receive positive feedback. We will see what we can do about the additional towel rack when we have an opportunity to make changes to the guest room bathrooms. We do not have any microwaves in the guestrooms, but if on our fourth floor executive level we do offer in room refrigerators. If you are a priority club member and we have availability, we will be happy to upgrade you on your next stay. Thank you again for taking time to write your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved this newly renovated hotel. Color scheme was gorgeous (got the paint color samples), very relaxing and comforting but modern. Good location, near Marina. The whole place was spotless (even touching up little worn spots with paint) and smelled good. Large showers in the good sized bathroom. Need a couple more towel racks tho. Very comfortable bed. Desk, large chair & ottoman in room. No fridge or micro tho. Filled the ice bucket and put our water bottles in it. Bottles of water in the rooms are $3. each so make sure you buy from the vending machines. Breakfast was included in our tour and was sufficient with made-to-order omelets but I wouldn't have paid $12.95 for it. Not too far from most sights in Sarasota. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you Lorraine! What kind words. And I believe I talked to you about the paint samples – glad you liked them so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Similar to our other experience at Hotel Indigo Athens, this is a GREAT hotel! The hotel, spacious room and common areas were spotless, the staff knowledgeable and courteous, and the location was within walking distance to everything. We are already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Biggrabe, we’re looking forward to your next trip too! Whether it’s with us or another Indigo around the world, we hope you enjoy. Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.