We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brand new hotel - great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“brand new hotel - great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, The rooms are nicely decorated, super clean and comfortable. The hotel is located just a few blocks down to downtown and Siesta Key Beach which we find it very convenient. For $128 a night its a great value for money hotel if you want to spend a couple of days down in Sarasota.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you Ian! We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to review. Looks like you live nearby – we’d be delighted for you to make the drive down and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    154
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
210
37
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I booked this place through online travel site. Got very good price for the location based on prices of other hotels in the area. A bit skeptical but needed two nights in downtown Sarasota, and the reviews were ok. Though the location is not the best, it was near everything we wanted, clean area and seemed (and we felt) safe. The hotel turned out to be beautiful, though not lavish, it had the necessary amenities in a simple, refreshing style. Staff was very friendly, and the room was clean and nicely decorated with a Florida beachy feel without being tacky. We have stayed at the more extravagant (and expensive) hotels in the area, yes theyre nice, if we were staying for the resort use I would go to one of those, but for a few nights of being on the town, Indigo foots the bill. The only thing I missed (not) was the crazy parking fee.
Nice place, keep up the good work Indigo, I will have to try other locations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Mr. Trip! We’re always glad to see a skeptic turn into a believer!

We appreciate the compliments and hope you get a chance to visit more Indigo’s around the country and world. We’re growing fast and aim to please at each location. Come back and visit any time; we’d be delighted to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Hotel Indigo in Sarasota Florida is a very clean a well managed mid-size hotel close to downtown Sarasota and the water. Check in with Priority Club was really fast and they allowed us into our room early (by 3 hours). Parking here is free and available above ground or covered underground.

Location:
The location of this hotel is a little bit strange in that it is not on the water and it is not right downtown. Everything is a walk, bike or car ride away. They offer free bikes that you can use to head to restaurants and bars on the water (anywhere from a quarter mile to 2 miles away).

Note about the location: if you are driving here, the entrance to the hotel is on Blvd of the Arts, but there is pretty poor signage on the entrance. Be careful to look hard for the Hotel Indigo shell logo on the small driveway on Blvd of the Arts.

Rooms:
Exceptionally clean rooms with lots of room. Nice showers (walk in), no bath tub. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel, LCD TV's in room and a mini bar fridge which is empty for you to bring your own stuff.

Bar / Restaurant:
Really nice little food/bar area with very good staff open all day an until 10pm or so. They serve a full menu for all 3 meals and the food was very good. The bar offers wine and beer only.

The stand out part of this hotel is really how nice and accommodating every single staff person was. The only down side I give it is location (hence 4/5). It isn't bad location wise but it isn't great. You are not on the beach (nor do they advertise it) and you do have to take a car or bike/walk to get to off property food and entertainment. The hotel itself is 5/5, only location holds it back slightly. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Patrick! We can’t even begin to express how glad we are when such thorough reviews pop up. It’s not only something that we value for feedback and continuous improvement, but also for the gift it offers other guests. What better way to get a feel for a potential stay than through the mouth of another guest? One amendment for those future guests (just so we don’t get any unhappy campers!) is that there is a small fee for the bicycle rental ($10 for half a day or $15 for a whole day) unless you book a package with a complementary rental. It seems that you planned ahead, Patrick!

We’re very glad you were pleased with your stay and received the experience all Priority Club members and guests are due. We’ll pass on your kind words to the staff and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

First of all, this hotel is clean and that's always a big plus. It also appears to be new as of this writing. Because it's owned by Holiday Inn, it's not so much a boutique hotel as it is Holiday Inn's version of a boutique hotel. But that's okay and, in this case, quite good. Whereas bigger hotels try to bang you for wireless service, this hotel gives it away for free. Big bonus point in my book. The staff is extra-friendly and aim to please. When I didn't like a local beer at the lobby bar, the bartender gave me another choice with no problem -- I appreciate that type of service. On the slightly down side, the pool is non-existent and actually the size of a hot tub and the gym (?) is very weak. However, you can walk downtown and I did take exercise walks in the a.m. to Starbucks and Whole Foods, and that's a nice option. I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: When I rate spa, I'm talking about the gym. I did not get any other services....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you writer! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your feedback. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the pool and gym; we understand that can be frustrating. We love that you mentioned the proximity to Starbucks and Whole Foods – it’s one of the best parts about being so close to downtown.

Come back any time! We can’t wait to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Fl
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel. It has a great location in downtown Sarasota. It is near all the sights - the beaches, shopping at St Armand's Circle and plenty of dining options. The hotel has a state of the art in design and built in energy efficiencies. It also has a great warmth with all the vivid colors and art work spread throughout the hotel. Our room was outstanding. It was large and gave the feeling of openness. The room furniture was new and well suited to make anyone feel at home. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was superior at customer service. The price was reasonable for the excellence of the facilities and the care you received. We loved our experience at this hotel and would recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: Enjoy the live music during Happy Hour on the weekends. Relax in the hot and cold spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
CarpeDiem, thank you very much for all of the positive feedback. It’s always very rewarding to get a glowing review, especially one as specific as yours! We agree that the hotel is in an excellent location and are very grateful to be surrounded by such a fun neighborhood.

Come back and visit any time – we’d be delighted to have you. Anyone who advocates Carpe Diem is A-okay in our book :-) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had to book this hotel out of necessity. We had originally booked a different place in Siesta Key that was just a complete dump, so we ended up staying in Sarasota instead. Let me qualify my comments before I get started. I am a Platinum member with Priority Club which is Holiday Inn, Intercontinental, Stay Bridge, Hotel Indigo, and among others. I will have to say, this was the best experience I have ever had staying in a Priority Club hotel. The staff was extremely helpful, polite, and go out of their way to make you feel more comfortable during your stay. They have a small bistro to accommodate your eating needs. They have a spa for your wife's needs, and the rooms are VERY clean and roomy. In our room on the 2nd floor, the bed was comfortable, it had a couch and sitting area, a large bathroom, and also a large wine cooler/fridge. The service was impeccable, the ambiance with the indigo music was outstanding. I can not say enough great things about this hotel. My wife would offer one suggestion, that the rooms be equipped with a continuous fan feature on the A/C to provide some white noise and dampen occasional hall noises. My wife and I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you Kevin! What a kind review. It means a lot coming from a Platinum member – you certainly know your hotels! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning to visit. We love the suggestion about the fan feature for white noise—we’ll pass that on to Frank, our Director of Engineering, and see if we can have that in place before your next visit.

Please let us know when you’re coming again and if there is anything we can do to make your stay extraordinary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The service was exceptional! They looked up local information for us and placed it under our door. The hotel is beautifully maintained with laminate floors in the rooms, decorative pillows in the hall, and creative murals throughout.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Sjstek, thank you kindly for taking the time to review! We’re very glad you were able to take advantage of our neighborhood and hope you enjoyed the suggested local activities. We aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.