We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Boutique hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is extremely clean and in a great location that is a quick drive to St. Armand's Circle and the beaches. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and very well maintained. The hotel bar also has a very nice happy hour. The only drawback of this hotel is the pool is very small, so I would not recommend if you plan on spending more time at the pool then on the beach. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks Shelly! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed yourself—especially our Happy Hour. We regularly have Melanie Massell, a talented local jazz artist, come in and perform and every Friday we have live music by Herman. It may not be a pool, but we do think you’ll enjoy it. Give us a call before you head back and we’ll update you on Happy Hour happenings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    172
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
237
39
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
makawao
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

what a nice little property. after a long. hot day of exploring - you check into your room which is softly playing spa-like music and looks like a marine-coastally decorated martha stewart room. not my personal style, but very welcoming compared to corporate hotels. just a note for pool users - it's the size of a jacuzzi, but beaches aren't too far off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks worldlyfoodie! It’s important to us to make our guests feel relaxed and at home, so we’re glad we were able to do that.

Thanks again for taking the time to review. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I recently stayed five nights at the Indigo in order to assist a couple who were also guests. The husband was a post-operative outpatient from Doctors Hospital in Sarasota where he had undergone spinal surgery only days before. Their large studio room comfortably allowed a wheelchair (on loan from the hotel) easy access, the firm bed (with the addition of their own wedge pillow) provided stable support, and the variety of food available by room service eased the recovery considerably. Understandably, this is a rare circumstance. Other guests were at the Indigo for leisure travel or business (including airline crews) reasons. However, this situation revealed the high quality of guest services, the generous care available from the fine staff, and the restful nature of this surprisingly quiet hotel when one is above the ground floor. The lobby itself is a lively area for formal meetings or informal parties, and has an upbeat flavor that is very welcome and welcoming. The hotel's location is conveniently at a midpoint between beaches and interstate highways. Nearby Main Street is a mecca for fine dining (including excellent take-out) and relaxed evenings for those who have them. In short, the Indigo attains a high standard as a well-designed modern, comfortable hotel with a discreet staff, good location in a renewing arts district, and with superbly convenient out-of-weather parking under the hotel itself. My own walks through the nearby neighborhood were an enjoyable break from care-taking, with a first class Publix supermarket and other services to be found well within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Indigo is an I-shaped hotel. Rooms toward the end of the long halls may be most quiet, but no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Bokononer, thank you so much! We certainly remember your visit and are pleased that you found it as rewarding as we did. If a guest can find our rooms comfortable after spinal surgery, we imagine they can be comfortable in any setting.

Please come back and visit us again—no major surgery required!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel, no "wow" amenities. Small pool, AC in rooms is loud.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
TravelHero, we apologize. We look to wow each and every guest and are not satisfied until we do. We invite you to come back and stay with us again and we’ll impress you with some of our unique amenities, such as beautiful beach cruiser rentals and in-house treatments at Les Ciseaux Salon and Spa, one of Sarasota’s premiere beauty and wellness destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights at Hotel Indigo. Location not especially covenient for walking anywhere. On site restaurant was nice for breakfast. Beds are good if you like them hard. Decor is unique and colors used are great. The wine bar in the lobby is nice and we enjoyed it very much the first night, but the second wine-time was spoiled by a very loud, crowded event marking the opening of the hotel's new spa. The spa's employees and their guests filled the little bar. Noisy, noisy! Ran us away to find another place we could enjoy. Reception staff is friendly and helpful. When we go to Sarasota again, we'll pay a little extra and stay on the beaches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Tilly43_12, sounds like some noise interfered with what was intended to be a relaxing, tranquil stay. We’re sorry about that! Les Ciseaux, the spa we recently added to the hotel, was very excited to be celebrating the grand opening.

If you return, you’ll find that this noisy atmosphere is not the norm. We hope to see you again…we’d love to offer you some spa services so you can see how it is meant to add to the hotel’s serenity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently stayed here for 3 nights-check in was efficient, polite knowledgeable staff. The lobby is fresh and inviting-there is a small bar (wine or beer only) off to the side with an adjacent dining area. The room (king suite) was spacious with not much of a view- do not know if there are great views from this hotel as it overlooks street or high rise with parking garage.-however, I would certainly not let that be a deterrent from booking a room here. The rooms are done with murals, nicely coordinated decor (this one is beachy) and as with other Hotel Indigos, I found this one to be extrememly clean. My only negative comment was that the a/c had a tendency to cycle on and off a lot; was told they are working on it. Bed was comfortable and WI FI good. Just a nice little hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you L S! We may be biased, but we think travelers from St. Augustine know a thing or two about choosing beautiful beach towns. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay here and hope you continue to return. The only thing we like more than a knowledgeable St. Augustine visitor is a regular St. Augustine visitor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice, clean, and modern boutique hotel which is part of the holiday inn chain.
Pros: central location. walking distance to excellent tourist office with friendly staff and cute little free museum worth a few mins stopover. it's not on the beach but between lido/longboat and siesta key beaches.

Rooms: large flat screen tv, large refrigerator that allows you plenty of space to bring back food and drinks. Recommend the down home pies at Yoder's Amish restaurant. about 25 choices from cream to baked. the fresh blueberry cream was luscious and not too sweet.

2 robes in small closet with iron board.
very good comfortable beds.

Large bathroom with shower (no bathtub) well lighted. aveda toiletry products.

Small fitness center.

Breakfast (a la carte) was okay. standard. nice, airy open dining area.

free wifi

both underground and small above ground parking so car doesn't need to bake and elevator goes directly to Underground area.

Cons:
a/c unit makes a lot of noise. no safe. no bathtub, if you need this.
no swimming pool only small wading pool/hot tub.

Overall, nice place. vibrant, young and colorful. My parents in their 80's stayed there a week earlier and also enjoyed it.

One more tip: for vegetarians/vegans (and even healthy meat eaters), there is a great place to eat called Simon's coffee house just 15 mins south on 41. Incredible and cozy. The raw veggie lasagne is amazing and I'm not a vegetarian. Wow!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Poboxearth, we’re going to have to put you on our payroll as a concierge. You have the amenities and neighborhood down!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re glad you were delighted with our hotel and look forward to seeing you here again soon! Make sure to call ahead and we’ll have a Yoder’s pie waiting for you in one of those convenient large fridges.

P.S. Try the Taos Panini next time you’re at Simon’s. I drool just thinking about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.