We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother/Daughter Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Sarasota to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mother/Daughter Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT..long debate on whether to stay on Lido beach or inside the city of Sarasota, I kept gong back and forth between HOTEL INDIGO and a hotel on the beach...WE MADE the best choice..HOTEL INDIGO was: spotless, SO FRIENDLY the staff were A+ all the way... they could not have been kinder or more helpful...the two wading spa pools outside were a fabulous refreshment when returning from a day out on the beach the dining in DWN TWN Sarasota was much better than anything we found near the sea. Hotel Indigo is only 4.4miles to Lido Beach and St. Armands, it was a lovely drive in the mornings...we saw the beach hotel we had thought about booking and YUCK...SO VERY PLEASED with HOTEL INDIGO and its STAFF would DEF go back anytime and recommend to ANYONE that wants a great clean friendly place within reach to anything you could desire while on holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you FloydMarie! Hotel Indigo has everything the beach has to offer and more!

In some ways, Sarasota is a boutique town, just like the Indigo is a boutique hotel. Staying in the center of it all allows you to get a taste of everything—without worrying about sandy surfaces!

We’re delighted you stayed with us and had such a pleasant experience. Let us know when you’re coming back and we’ll set up a special mother/daughter treat. (Hint: we just opened a luxury salon and spa in the hotel!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    183
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
104
265
39
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

What I liked about this hotel is that you felt like you were walking into a locally owned hetel. They had schooner bikes to rent. Also, the huge Adirondack chairs added a sense of humor (Edith Ann) to the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Major shopping and the harbor are within walking distance. I really appreciated the uniqueness of this hotel and absolutely loved my huge shower.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thanks, Michael! We agree—there’s something about walking into the Indigo lobby that just makes outside troubles drop away. Must be something in the Sarasota air…

You certainly picked up on some of the finer points of the hotel and the town. A variety of arts and cultural events go on throughout Sarasota all year long; we recommend checking some out (like the Film Festival or the Chalk Festival) and making another trip down South soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed one night with wife to attend concert at Van Wezel auditorium just a 5-min walk away. Free parking right on site. Reasonable room rate for high-season in Sarasota. Nice clean room with beach-motif. Workout room and small patio with hot and cold pools. Bar and restaurant off lobby. We ordered nice breakfast off the menu, not overpriced, and they also had a very fair-priced buffet. The Ringling causeway to St Armand's circle is about a 10-min easy drive. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
ChazB, we think you just about summed everything up. The Indigo is right in the middle of all things Sarasota and is certainly the best value in town.

We hope you make it back soon…let us know when you’re coming and we’ll help you plan another amazing visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farallon, Panama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Thanks for recommending us the Indigo hotel. perfect location, very comfortable room,nice gym hot and cold jacuzzi (although the huge space would have been enough for a good swimming pool).There were one or two irritating things`: They did not replace toiletries or coffee, we had to go and get them in reception, even after we asked the chambermaid if she could replace them. The other thing that we found most odd (may be because we are European) is that in hotel `Indigo, in the heart of Florida, the land of oranges, breakfast was a buffet breakfast, meaning that all beverages (non alcoholic of course) were included with all the food, except....the orange juice!!! If it had been orange pressé (freshly squeezed orange juice) we would understand but this was...industrial, run of the mill the most ordinary juice you could have in the worse hotel! They did not even say it on their menu, it came as a surprise on the bill as an extra $3.50 per glass! We must say though that they removed the charge when they saw that we were absolutely outraged by the charge. There excuse was they wanted to keep the cost of the breakfast down!!! At $13 the breakfast was decent but certainly not as lavish and generous as the Hilton in Tampa which was $16 inclusive of orange juice!!!
We would still stay at the Indigo should we go back to Sarasota, despite those petty little annoyances.
Sarasota itself is beautiful, beautiful beaches, a lovely little opera House with genuine fresh productions, theatre, we loved the Ringling Museum which houses the unique circus museum unique in the world, the Mary Selby gardens the Asola theatre.We loved it.
Many thanks again for the many helpful suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you, Sofiarom, for the remarks. We’re glad the trip was a net success, even with a few road bumps. That you chose our hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews makes us happy :)

Sorry that the toiletries and coffee were not replaced and that there was some confusion at breakfast time. Certainly not our intention! We’re glad you brought it up and that we were able to come to a resolution. We’ll use this feedback to work on continuous improvement.

We hope your Florida vacation was one to remember and that you’ll be back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is my second stay in an Indigo Hotel....the first was in Chelsea in New York a few years ago. I believe that this brand is going to grow into a very successful hotel chain....perhaps it already is so and I'm just becoming aware of it. I note from their website that there are some international openings in the offing. The room here was quite large, modern decor.....hardwood floors.....good furnishings and work space....large bath and notably large shower stall with upscale amenities....just a nice, clean, sharp, chic feel. The hotel is 10 minutes walking from Main Street and a wide choice of very nice eateries....the Opera was in session while we were in the area and there was a large crowd of attendees for that. The most memorable and perhaps important facet, in a way, of this visit was my experience in the business center. I went there to print a document. I was having some trouble getting my document to print......a young woman from the staff saw that I was in the business center and she came over to check on "how i was doing". She stayed with me and spent a good 15 minutes trying to help me.....then when we just couldn't get it done.....she took me to the front desk and allowed me to use the equipment there to get the job done. This little incident illustrates what is really significant about this property. It roused memories of my visit to the property in Chelsea, which had made a real impression on me for the attitude of the employees and the chic decor. Same here in Sarasota. The combination of a unique decor and an exceptionally well trained and motivated staff make this brand what I believe will become a destination for devotees. The helpfulness and energy of the employees seems to have infected all of the people who work in this hotel. They look like they're having fun. I believe they ARE having fun. These hotels have a "with it" feel to them. I will look for the brand in the future when I am traveling.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you roycharles; your review blew us away! It means a lot when a guest notices all the effort that goes into making our hotel great. That you had such a positive experience and took the time to share it warms our hearts.

As a boutique hotel, we have the ability to get to know our guests and develop personal relationships. It’s certainly true in Sarasota and we know that this attitude resonates throughout the brand.

We hope that continue to visit not just our hotel, but Indigos the world over. Give us a call when you’re heading back to town (941-487-3800) and ask for Leslie Power, General Manager. We’ll treat you like family and wow you once again with our staff’s energy and enthusiasm.

From one Pittsburgher to another, a thousand thanks. We look forward to impressing you time and time again…Go Steelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is really cool. We loved the room, the huge shower, the laminate floors, and the beach feel. It was very clean and we got a good deal with the government rate. However, there was no fridge or microwave in our room, kinda weird. Also, the A/C in controlled by the key card to save energy, but we found that it would randomly turn off in the middle of the night, leaving us to wake up very hot. Also the fan cannot be turned on independently of the A/C or heat. We were right next to the elevator, which is pretty loud, so we had to have the fan on the mask the sound.

The TV was new and nice, but the remote only works for the channels, so we couldn't watch a movie from our external source, because there is now way to charge the input on the TV.

This hotel is great, don't get me wrong- We would come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator. The elevator is very loud and can be heard in the rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, TNcoastie! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and got a feel for the relaxing environment of the hotel.

We’re pleased to announce that we are in the process of upgrading our A/C systems; soon guests will be able to operate the fan independently of the A/C…and we’ll still meet our high green standards. Let us know the next time you are coming and we’ll do our best to put you in a suite or a room on our executive floor, where fridges come standard.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel is truly a gem. While we hardly spend any time in the hotel since we were doing so many other activities, I am so glad we stayed here. It is located right across the street from the Hyatt (which we had also been looking at but it was just too pricey) and very close to the "downtown" area of Sarasota-well within walking distance to many restaurants.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, the front desk staff was lovely, and they even had a jazz musician in the lobby one night. The cliental of this hotel is definitely older (or at least that's how it seemed to us), but that was never an issue. There's really no pool area or scenic views, but this hotel is still a great deal.

Check out Station 400 for brunch and Darwins for dinner, they are fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Sounds like you had a great time! There’s always something going on in Sarasota and we think the Indigo is perfectly located to help you explore.

We hope you come visit us again soon! Let us know when you’re coming to town and we’ll recommend some other great activities and places to eat…although we agree – Station 400 and Darwin’s are pretty hard to beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.