We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone but we will be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beau Lido Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beau Lido Suites
Save
You added Beau Lido Suites to your Saves list
149 Tyler Dr, Lido Key, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not for everyone but we will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews we decided to give this place a try. It is exactly what others have said. It is in need of an "update" there is one really sweet lady (Carrie) who runs it by herself and the location is perfect!! The inside was clean & met our basic needs. This is not The Ritz but the price and location alone are worth giving it a try. If I had to write "cons" it would be the toilet paper roll is very very close to the toilet & to bring your own hair dryer! Overall it was a good experience.I am glad we found Beau Lido & we will be visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
68
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Plains, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So happy to have found this little place. Clean throughout. Good bed and comfy couch for our grandkid. Fantastic beach just a block away - easier to walk than drive. The AC unit was remarkably quiet and worked well on a hot day. Kitchen adequate for simple meal prep; we appreciated the nice size refrigerator with a real freezer. The price was fantastic. The owners were great to work with. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, a delux. It worked very well for two adults and one kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wow! This hotel is in the heart of everything you need for a vacation. The rooms were clean and the kitchen was well equipt with everything we needed. Carrie was very attentive and so kind in every way possible. There were many options within walking distance. We were so glad we didn't rent a car because there is a trolley stop right beside the hotel. We rode that trolley throughout Sarasota (eg. to the supermarket), and all the islands right up to Anna Maria Island. This is a great option to enjoy a sweet paradise vacation without paying an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater,fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an old mom and pop motel. It's very clean and you can walk to beach and the Circle. Well not fancy the kitchen is great to have and Kerri is wonderful.The girls I went with have stayed there many times. You do have to get anything you need before you cross the bridge because there are no grocery stores and everything shuts down early. If you want to shop or just relax at the beach this is a good location. There is no pool.

Room Tip: The rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I found St. Armands "by accident" while exploring the beaches south of Clearwater one day about 20 years ago & I've been back every year since. After lots of trial and error staying at different hotels of every price range I found the Beau Lido - that was several years ago and I have not been disappointed since -
It really is the perfect balance of location, amenities and price - just a few steps from the beaches (and great Olympic size pool) Yet it is just far enough away to really enjoy the peace and quiet that vacation is all about for me! Beau Lido has everything you need & nothing you don't -
AND Marty and Kerrl really go out of their way to accommodate any little quirky need you may have - If you want to enjoy some peace and quiet without breaking the bank, this is the place!

Room Tip: There are many different types of accommodations from 1 queen bed w/kitchen to multi room suites- NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The good: 2 blocks from Lido Beach which is stunning, very helpful phone staff, clean room, mostly affordable for the area, and quiet.

The suboptimal (give me credit for being diplomatic): Beau Lido could try a bit harder to inject some character into the place. You know, landscaping that makes the patio more quaint and private, patio furniture that doesn't look like it was scavenged from a trailer park dumpster, a couple potted plants...that sort of thing. The location is so amazing if you could get past the depressing motel across the street, that I was temped to quit my day job and beg management to lit me spiff things up a bit. It exemplifies the mediocre in Florida that just isn't pretty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellarton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed in the 1 bedroom apt March 31/13 to April 8/13. We were greeted by "Kerry" who made sure we were stocked with everything we needed and gave us a brief orientation. When we inquired about directions to the nearest supplier of cold beer, we were disappointed to learn that it was a bit further than we would want to walk, but were thrilled when Kerry provided us with a modest 'welcome gift' of a few refreshments and a bag of ice to speed up the chilling process. This alone would deserve an "excellent" rating. While also being responsible for the day-to-day housekeeping & maintenance, Kerry was basically our Concierge for the week, providing information and solutions to all of our questions and requests.

We were a bit concerned about having 2 couples in the 1 bedroom apartment but with a minor tweak of the furniture layout we were perfectly comfortable all week. The yard was neat and tidy, there is plenty of parking, our towel and toiletry supplies were sufficient and dependable, hot water was plentiful, the BBQ and laundry were operable and available, and the lawn furniture new, clean, and comfortable.

The location is fabulous. We could walk to the beach carrying the essentials and were close enough that if we forgot anything we were just a quick stroll back to the room to pick it up. We stayed at a Treasure Island beach front hotel April 9/10/11 and were actually closer to the water's edge from our room at the Beau Lido than the beach front room at TI. The beach pavilion is just a 3 minute walk from the BL; cold beer, hot food, and entertainment.

St. Armand's Circle, basically the Rodeo Drive of Florida's Gulf Coast, is only a 10 minute walk away, and if you'd prefer "Downtown" nightlife, shopping, & dining, a city transit bus runs regularly from St. Armand's to just about anywhere in Sarasota for $1.25, or you can get a taxi to the downtown for $20 all in; Patrick's, Mattinson's, & the Gator Club are my recommendations.

If you plan to stay at a Lido Beach facility you should scout out the logistics of where to get what you will need for your stay. There are no convenience stores, grocers, or gas stations on (this) side of the causeway. A trip over the bridge is no big deal, but less time running errands is more time relaxing.

Thank you, Beau Lido (and Kerry) for helping to make our vacation an excellent one.

Damien Dunn (and Millie, Spud & Peggy)

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be spacious and well attended to. We enjoyed the privacy of being near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau Lido Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Lido Suites

Address: 149 Tyler Dr, Lido Key, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from beautiful and serene Lido Beach on the Gulf of Mexico, Beau Lido Suites offers a relaxed an budget friendly escape. Central to the beach as well as the international shops and restaurants of St. Armand's Circle. Enjoy the sun and sand on beautiful Lido Key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beau Lido Hotel Sarasota
Beau Lido Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau Lido Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.