We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beau Lido 2(or 3)bedroom house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beau Lido Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beau Lido Suites
Save
You added Beau Lido Suites to your Saves list
149 Tyler Dr, Lido Key, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beau Lido 2(or 3)bedroom house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Traveled as family -2parents + 2 college kids. We stayed for 5nights in the stand-alone house, so that is the only place I can review. It is 2 bedrooms, but a 3rd bedroom can be added by unlocking a door in the living room area. Otherwise, that particular bedroom also has its own door to the outside- and can be rented as a single occupancy, small hotel room with fridge, microwave, tv, bathroom. Someone did occupy it during our stay as a single rental. It was kind of an 'odd' feeling to know that someone was on the other side of that door, and we could hear their tv in the evening(which meant they could probably hear ours!) It made me feel a little bit like we had to try to be a little more "quiet"- although no one told us that nor did we have any problems or complaints. Just out of respect, in the evening, I would not have yelled over to my kids' bedroom to ask a question while I was sitting in the living room. Just something to keep in mind if you think you are renting a 2 bedroom house which you will have all to yourself- you may have a nearby occupant within the bldg. The house was clean, clean. I never EVER saw one bug in the place, nor did anyone in my family comment on seeing any. I loved have a full kitchen, dishwasher. Plenty of pots & pans(with lids) and plenty of silverware, utensils. Nothing "high end" but it all worked well for our cooking needs. We had both a front door and side door, off the kitchen. It was really nice to have a 'house' and the neighborhood is soooo quiet and you feel really safe enough to leave both doors open, since they have screen doors! It was crazy to be able to do that in this day and age, but you never really saw anyone 'questionable' walking around this residential area. If inside just by myself, I probably would not have done that though(as a female...). Coming from Ohio, it was great to sit with doors open and a breeze coming through, in the month of March unheard of in Ohio! We also loved parking literally at the front door, and walking right outside to street level. No elevators, no long walks to the parking lot for the car. Open the door and Boom! you are right outside ready to walk over to the beach. The beach is 100 steps away, just across one road, which has clearly marked cross walks. Still need to look as you cross, but pedestrians have the right of way, and there is very little traffic. This brings you to the public beach for Lido Key. No hotels/condos block your access to the beach in this area. There is also a large, clean public pool at this location, along with a snack bar and some entertainment on certain days of the week. Pool is $4 adults, $2 kids. We did not use it nor did we buy any food items. You can rent an all-day umbrella $12 which is VERY sturdy and shades a large area. The guy puts it in for you, takes it down at end of the day. Also beach chair rentals. The house is a 10min. walk to St Armand Circle. This is the only large shopping/dining area on the island. Very busy place, great to window shop, dine, get out and about. Hard to believe how super BUSY the area is most of the time, with lots of traffic, when 10mins. away Beau Lido is quiet as a mouse! It is a great walk, SAFE thru residential streets if you don't want to drive and worry about parking a car. About the house overall: it is very much an older Floridian style home. It could use some updates for sure, you can tell it was built quite some time ago. It is not 'modern' like hotels/condos. It is very low key. If you are looking for glitz(as previous reviews have also said...) then this is NOT the place for you. It is older, QUIET and no night life. The beds are very FIRM as past comments have stated. That took getting use to. One drawback is that the bathroom is 'shared' btwn the 2 bedrooms. A door opens to each, you did have to shut/lock both doors. If you're the last one to bed, brushing your teeth late at night could wake both of the bedroom occupants. Also walls are thin in this older home. All of that being said, I would very much consider renting it again! If you want a lot of action, attention, and pampering however, you need to look at other properties. Carrie- who other reviewers have mentioned- is very nice, helpful. But the hours of someone being on property are approx. 10am- 4pm. Otherwise, there is a ph# to call. So you need to take care of most things during a short window of time. We did not have internet service for first 48hrs, it was not a huge problem for us, but it definitely could be for someone who is counting on having it!!! Don't know if this is an ongoing issue, since I have seen others comment on it......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
68
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Beau Lido contains a block of motel suites that include a small kitchenette and a TV with many cable channels. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathrooms adequate, though pinched for space. Located walking distance from Lido Beach and St. Armand's circle (and an easy drive across the causeway to wonderful downtown Sarasota) the Beau Lido is very conveniently located. Carrie, the daytime caretaker, is very helpful and keeps residents with a good supply of towels and anything else she can.

I doubt that one could get an average hotel room as inexpensively as a stay at the Beau Lido. My wife and I found it adequate and would return. However, the place shows many signs of age. Not all jealousy windows open and close; they are stuck closed. Light fixtures in the bathroom are full of dust and dirt. One light in our room had no working switch, though one could turn it on and off with the wall switch. Since I used the same outlet to charge my phone and laptop, the only way to turn off the lamp while leaving power on at the outlet was to loosen the bulb--no big deal; it was a CFL and remained cool to the touch. The coffee makers suck. And there are only a minimum of utensils and pots and pans so bring your own if you prefer.

I was unhappy with the network connection. It was weak in room 6 and barely discernible in room 1. Carrie told us that you often "just have to step outside your room to get a signal" but this did not help me stream Netflix at night--something I'd planned to do.

My favorite thing was the hammock in the middle of the vest pocket grounds. I didn't use it much but it created just the right atmosphere for a March respite from Pennsylvania weather.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms--closer to the office--may have a stronger wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is our third stay. Yes,it is tired and interior needs lots of updating.It is clean and the bed was comfortable.Most of all the location is supurb.
Carrie is wonderful. Spruce this place up and you will have a gem !!

Room Tip: Room one --bare bones -mold around shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our first trip to this area of FL. Lido Key, St Armands is beautiful. I knew going in that Beau Lido Suites were not high end. Very quiet neighborhood. Clean rooms. Quick walk to Public Beach. Place attracts an older group, we in our 50's were the youngest guests. No children, making for quiet hours.We were in a Deluxe room (kitchenette, sofa, king bed) for most of our stay. Cooking breakfast was a challenge, with only a very small skillet and large pots for use. We decided to stay one more night and moved to the Guest room. Here the challenge came, in that though you have a coffee maker there are no cups of any kind provided.In search of breakfast or even coffee, before 9 a.m. comes down to Starbucks on St Armands Circle. The guestroom was the cutest, white wicker furniture. Seems the owners could cute up the other rooms, even with 2nd hand furnishings and
painting all to match. Carrie, the onsite clerk (10-4), is a busy gal and helpful. We HIGHLY recommend Venezia on St Armands Circle. Delicious stone oven baked pizza. Take time to checkout all the history of John Ringling.Ringling Brothers . Over all Beau Lido is a nice, budget friendly place. Next time will drive a larger vehicle and bring extra kitchen items or stay at another efficiency .

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, choose standard and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and were very disappointed.
Moldy grout around the tub. The place was old and dumpy. Washer and dryer didn't work.
One lady takes care of everything all by herself, and she words hard !
Location was good. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Beau Lido is in a beautiful location.........minutes walk to Lido Beach and St. Armand's circle.
The unit was supplied with fresh towels daily & cleaned thoroughly weekly. Any issues were addressed immediately & solved (i.e. new batteries for t.v. remote, new coffee pot issued when the existing one in the room did not work). Carrie was delightful to deal with and a hard worker.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was Team SnowFox's first sailing regatta in Sarasota. What a treat it was to stay here. Older property but very neat and clean and the location was superb. The best of both the racing regatta venue, 2 miles away and beach access 2 blocks a way. A great place to relax in the quiet comfortable area. The booking service and logistics coordination was great.

Thanks for a great stay,
Team Snowfox

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau Lido Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Lido Suites

Address: 149 Tyler Dr, Lido Key, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from beautiful and serene Lido Beach on the Gulf of Mexico, Beau Lido Suites offers a relaxed an budget friendly escape. Central to the beach as well as the international shops and restaurants of St. Armand's Circle. Enjoy the sun and sand on beautiful Lido Key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beau Lido Hotel Sarasota
Beau Lido Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau Lido Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.