We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beau Lido Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beau Lido Suites
Save Saved
You added Beau Lido Suites to your Saves list
149 Tyler Dr, Lido Key, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our 4th stay, and as always - lovely. Understand one thing: This is "Old Florida" lodging. i.e.: appears to have stood still in the 1960s (which is one of the charming things about it). VERY well kept, and CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. The staff couldn't be more gracious, and Carrie (your contact) is wonderfully accomodating.
It is one of the quietest places you'll ever stay, and you can hear the gulf waves off in the distance (on the other side of another building across the street). Located in a quiet, residential neighborhood just a block off the beach, it is well lit at night and very secure and safe. (we never lock up our bicycles).
Plenty of chairs and lounges to soak up the sun. No pool, but the beach is just a block away!

Negatives: Could use a few simple upgrades to enhance the guest experience: i.e. new cloth shower curtains and curved rods would really make a difference in the bathrooms. Our room had a broom to clean the terrazo floors, but no dust pan. Iron, but no ironing board. There is no one available to address this type of thing in outside of 11:am to about 5:00 pm, so check your room and address "issues" during these hours. Beds are VERY firm (hard), and if you want a king you'll get two twins pushed together with a nice hard mattress ridge down the middle of the bed. This could be addressed with the addition of a simple foam mattress pad, but would be another expense for the owners.
Note: if you stay in room 1 or 2, you will wait at least 15 minutes for the hot water to reach you. Know this ahead of time if you are in a hurry to get showered and out the door. But, once the hot water is there, it is plentiful and readily available.

The property (landscape) is very well groomed.

Have never seen a bug in our room in all the times we've stayed there.

We consider the Beau Lido a first choice when visiting the Sarasota area for convenience to the beach, St. Armands Circle, and value.

Room Tip: The "deluxe" rooms are worth the extra $ for the amount of room you get and proximity to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    76
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
67
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Outstanding location, clean, clean, clean. Carrie and Mark are super. We travel a lot and are always looking for a "Mom and Pop" value. This place is tops on our list. Stove, full size fridge, microwave, plenty of dresser space, quiet, and close to everything. You could spend $200-$300 a night easy and the only thing additional you would get is an in house restaurant ( and there are two within 3 short blocks. Thanks Carrie and Mark, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Add my kudos to the previous reviews. Spotlessly clean rooms, well-maintained grounds, Wifi, cable, kitchenette, very comfortable bed, and helpful friendly staff . . . and pets are accepted with refundable deposit. Located on a quiet side-street off the main road, just a quick walk to the beach. Excellent value. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This property is old but is homey and clean and it's right down the street from Lido Beach. Beau Lindo reminded me of old Florida with a comfy hammock hanging between the trees and a shuffle board court right in the middle of the property. I know the price seems too good to be true...but it isn't. if you're on a limited budget, you won't do better the Beau Lindo.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room #1. There are security spotlights right outside your window!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you are looking for the BEST vacation , within a budget..Beau Lido is the place to go. The beach offers white powdery sand,calm emerald waters, concession stand, gift shop , access to community pool and its all just a 2 minute walk up the street from your room. If you are in the mood to shop till you drop, St. Armand's circle is just a short walk up the beautiful scenic streets leading out of Beau Lido. My daughter's and I rented a 1 bedroom apartment and could not have been happier. All the comforts of home were provided, clean sheets, towels, kitchen accessories, cable TV, even Wi-Fi...and if you have teens, you know this is important! Carrie, our hostess was very gracious and offered us anything we needed. She even mentioned that they serve a great breakfast at the beach and gave us a menu. We will definitely vacation here again!! Very laid back atmosphere...well worth your vacation dollars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new port richey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the "upgraded" two bedroom house. The couches were black, no exageration, had to put sheets over them from the beds, and at that point your worried about them too.
Went to look for a plug, moved the dresser out and the dirt/dust was thick layer. Everything needs painting and repair. Windows that were once are boarded up, it is a maze of disrepair!

I dont know if other rooms are like this one, but to see Trip Advisor awards on office door is amazing considering what we saw?

Sorry, but you need to clean it up, paint and fix.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else OR before you pay check out the room!!!!! Please
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a clean, older motel a short walk from the beach. If you want high-style, definitely stay somewhere else. But if you like the old Florida vibe and just want a clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced place a short walk from a great beach, you'll love this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau Lido Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Lido Suites

Address: 149 Tyler Dr, Lido Key, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from beautiful and serene Lido Beach on the Gulf of Mexico, Beau Lido Suites offers a relaxed an budget friendly escape. Central to the beach as well as the international shops and restaurants of St. Armand's Circle. Enjoy the sun and sand on beautiful Lido Key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beau Lido Hotel Sarasota
Beau Lido Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau Lido Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.