We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A very Good Stay"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"A very Good Stay"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not the greatest location, it's about halfway between the beaches and the interstate located near residential and shopping centers. However, it's not that far from the beaches and downtown Sarasota tourist areas and it's seems like a quiet area. Our experience was very good. clean and comfortable hotel. We stayed in a studio type suite with kitchenette and more than enough room for the 2 of us. Comfortable bed and nice sitting area to watch TV and work on the laptop. Very nice hot breakfast included and nice swimming pool. If and when we make it back down, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write about our hotel. We appreciate you pointing out our hotel features and location. As the Certified pool operator for the hotel it feels good to be recognized for a clean enjoyable pool. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    76
    40
    18
    10
See reviews for
88
71
16
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel and will stay here every time I come to Sarasota! First, the hotel is clean throughout. I am very fussy and I expect a lot. The room price was a little high, but the cost included a huge breakfast, a light dinner ,free parking and internet, and a super clean heated pool.

My husband and I stayed in a queen bedroom suite. The suite was perfect. I could watch my own TV in the bedroom while he watched his TV in the living room. Everything we needed was supplied in the room, refrig, microwave, table, dishes, dishwasher, stove top, and pans. The rooms were spacious and CLEAN! The housekeeping service did a great job all week.

The breakfast and light meal were delicious. Several assistants replenish items and a dining host cleared and cleaned tables. The hotel is run very efficiently. There was always someone cleaning and refilling.

We had a small problem with our room window when we first checked. Within 3 minutes of telling the front desk, maintenance was there to fix it. The repair took a minute. The only problem we encountered were the dryers, it took several cycles to get our clothes dry (we tried all 4 dryers). We informed the front desk so I imagine the problem was corrected.

The icing on the cake were the two tickets the general manager, Ed Carroll, gave us to see the Orioles play!

I highly recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: The queen bed 1 bedroom suites are roomy and contain everything you need with a complete kitchen. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and specific comments for future guests. I was glad that we were able to offer you the tickets to the game. The Orioles are a big part of every winter season for us and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are relocating to FL and need a place to stay for about 3 weeks We booked this hotel through the 800 number. Luckily I called the hotel to let them know we have a Cat. The manager then informed me that they don't take cats. Dogs only. Are you kidding me???? We were prepared to spend over $3000.00 for this stay. Forget it. I will never book Homewood Suites.

We had to cancel our reservation. I had to put Feb. 2013 in the "when did you travel section" to post my comment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although you did not stay at our hotel and only called in I would like to respond to your comments. Unfortunately we have had a very bad experience with a guest with a cat that caused us to change our policy. The expense that we incurred did not outweigh the benefit of allowing future guests with cats. You may think that one rotten apple spoils the bunch and this is how it may seem. The possibilty of this occuring again is too great and therefore we decided to move ahead on this change in policy. Thank you for understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

While visiting friends in the Gulf Coast area, we had occasion to stay at this hotel. While we have stayed at Homewood Suites in the past, this one stood out from all the others. From the warm greeting we received at the front desk (followed by a call to our room to assure that we were satisfied with our accommodations) to the time we checked out, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was clean, the bed super comfortable and the breakfast buffet, with its many offerings, was simply delicious. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends as a great place to stay while in the Sarasota area.

Room Tip: While we did not have the opportunity to sample the complimentary dinner buffet (served during the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We truly appreciate your specific comments and hop to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in January and was happy we chose this property. It was easy to get to from the highway and a short drive to the city of Sarasota and beaches. The heat in our original room did not work and staff transferred us to a little nicer room down the hall. Breakfast was good and the light dinner buffet during the week was good too. We did not use the pool but, it looked clean. Overall a very good Hilton property for the money.

Room Tip: No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your response and feedback. I am new to the area and I love the location as it is close to everything and I agree with you. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were driving from Colorado. We know that check in is 3pm. We arrived about 1pm to see if we could check in early. The woman at the checkout counter told us no rooms were available yet and proceeded to call us "needy" and come back in 2 hours. There are a lot of senior citizens that bring a lot of money to the Sarasota area in the winter which they should be thankful for, but our experence with Sarasota and the way seniors are treated was very offputting. The room was not up to our standards. It was very old and outdated. The dining chairs in our room were very rickety and a light bulb was out in the vanity area. The stair well is not very well maintained and needs a good vacuuming. The breakfast was terrible. Cheap food for old people. We ate breakfast elsewhere. I am surprised that the "Hilton" name was on this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I want to thank you for your feedback on our hotel and specific comments by one of our staff members. I will certainly use this as a training tool for the future. We are on the threshold of a renovation in the third quarter of this year, we will renovate all of our sleeping rooms then move to the common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first stay at Homewood and we were very happy with it. Very close the the fairgrounds (where we were working) and very quiet and comfortable. Loved the layout and the kitchenette. We try to use Hilton properties because we always have a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and your returning again to our hotel this year. we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Address: 3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.