We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best experiences I've had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #13 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“one of the best experiences I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I love this hotel - it has everything to make the stay pleasant. Coffee maker and kitchenette in the room, a nice breakfast in the morning (eggs, bacon, cereal, bagels, waffles), free wi fi. Very well laid out room - sink outside the bathroom, lots of counter space. Monday through thursdays they have a 'welcome home reception' where they serve food and I believe wine and beer if you want it. I have stayed at other places with evening 'food', but it's been the hot dog and macaroni and cheese variety. this place serves (a different meal every night) stuff like beef stroganoff and chicken marsala. I didn't try the food, but the menu posted in my room looked good. I think homewood suites will be my first choice from now on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I was so pleased to read your descriptive review. I will share this with our staff and commend them for a job well done. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    67
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
77
61
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We we recently here for a vacation to Siesta Key Beach. The hotel is 8 miles from the beach and very conveniently located near downtown Sarasota. The rooms are clean and well kept. Having a kitchen with a full refrigerator (esp when traveling with a family) is a great bonus. The full (free) breakfast had something for everyone. The best part of this hotel is the pool. Its beautiful, clean, and really well kept. I haven't seen an outdoor pool at hotel that is this nice in a long time.
One drawback is the parking is limited and sometimes you have to park far from your room, but its not a big deal at all. If we go back to Siesta Key Beach, we would stay here again for sure. It was a good value. The bed in our room was not great, but the sofa bed wasn't bad - go figure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform others about our hotel. Thank you for the write up about our pool. I have been in the hotel industry since the 1990's and I have traveled extensively myself I have not seen too many hotels with a pool area and pool as large as ours. Thank you for mentioning that it is well kept also, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

A really nice hotel. Clean, friendly staff and very helpful.

Free breakfast is great with enough options for everyone. Rooms are great with a small kitchen and seating area. There are the usual name brand local stores Target etc for you to stock up on things for the fridge if you fancy making your own food.

Nice pool with a grill area for you to use as well. Car park is small and busy. We had to park on the other side of the hotel a couple of times. Not a big deal as it took me all of 30 secs to walk to my enter point of the hotel. Hotel manager makes a point of speaking to everyone each morning. Nice simple touch.

It really is an ideal hotel for families with younger kids. I was traveling with my wife and 3 year old.

Other useful tips. You will need a car as if you are here in Sarasota you are here to go to Siesta Key beach. It is a easy 15 min drive. We drive there everyday for 4 days.

The beach is great. The water is nice and toasty. Kids will love it.

Chair rentals are $10 and umbrellas are $17. May be worth buying a cheap chair or umbrella for your stay and leaving it here rather than paying the above amounts. The burger shack has a great kids deal. By a kids meal and they get a free bucket and spade...... What every makes them happy and saves you money.

Happy to answer more questions if it will help. As I write this we are still in the hotel and check out tomorrow.

I a lot in the USA and Europe so I know a decent hotel when I see one. And this one is just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our hotel and to inform others about the area. Siesta Key is a very beautiful area and informing others about the prices is above and beyond, so thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I came to this hotel for business and for pleasure! I have to tell you that I was pleasantly surprised. The company I was interviewing with put me up and I extended my stay for the weeken to visit family. The thursday night dinner was great and free beer! Hello? When does anyone give free beer anymore here they do! Laverne was super nice who served us, breakfast the next day was just as good we didn't have to go out to search for food everything was right here. Staff was nice rooms were in good shape and clean. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and the success that you had during your stay. I am the new manager and we are working hard to esnure that you have a clean comfortable stay, we hope that you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This Hilton brand is good but this particular hotel was hard to navigate around to get to your room. I had to walk a great distance with a ton of "stuff" from my parking lot to the room, so I did not like that. The room was tidy and clean except there was a lot of tiny little hard crystal-like balls all over the floor (near bathroom) which I gave to the front desk to examine and advise housekeeping to do a better job. The service was good and they seemed to be amenable and care for your needs. For me, I think I'll stay someplace else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I started my position a month after you stayed and I can agree with many of your statements, we needed to do a better job and it is my feeling after 45 days on the job that we have improved. I would like you to come back for a night as my guest, you may send me a response via trip advisor or you can reach out to me directly at the hotel or my e-mail edward.carroll@hilton.com
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

About a year ago I was looking for a hotel to house my wedding guests for my memorial day wedding. My husband and i got married at the Chelsea Center. We checked out some hotels near Siesta and none were as accommodating as the Homewood Suites. Not only did they give me great rates for my guests, but they gave us two different rooms to choose from. However, the thing that impressed me the most was the fact that they let us use one of their conference rooms for our rehearsal dinner for no cost at all. I was so overwhelmingly impressed by all the staff and how they met my every request with a smile. If you're looking for a place to stay central to Sarasota and Bradenton, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I really like the Hilton chain. For example, their properties in Chicago and Naples where I have recently stayed are outstanding and a great value. So, I was surprised by the condition of my room on a recent one night business trip.
Check-in was pleasant and uneventful. Leaving the main entrance to drive to my room, I quickly noted there were no parking places available forcing me to drive to the far side of the hotel and walk back to my room with our luggage. Entering the room, we immediately recognized a mildew smell. On further examination, the cloth desk chair was deeply stained and the bathroom floor tiles popped and sagged beneath our feet. The corners of the floor in the bathroom had dirt in them and caulking around the tub had mildew in places. The bed mattresses were lumpy and broken down. I'll be having a chat with our Travel Department.

Room Tip: Try the Ritz Carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
If Conrad experienced what you did I am sure that he would be disappointed as well. I have been on the job 45 days and feel that we have made some very good improvements, We do have a 100% satisfaction guarantee that we have in place and I am not sure if you aware of that. I would like to reach out to you to see how we can reconnect and show you the improvements that we have made. Please reach back out to me via trip advisor or you can e-mail me at edward.carroll@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Address: 3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.