We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property is just "ok" but I'll stay someplace else...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“This property is just "ok" but I'll stay someplace else...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This Hilton brand is good but this particular hotel was hard to navigate around to get to your room. I had to walk a great distance with a ton of "stuff" from my parking lot to the room, so I did not like that. The room was tidy and clean except there was a lot of tiny little hard crystal-like balls all over the floor (near bathroom) which I gave to the front desk to examine and advise housekeeping to do a better job. The service was good and they seemed to be amenable and care for your needs. For me, I think I'll stay someplace else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I started my position a month after you stayed and I can agree with many of your statements, we needed to do a better job and it is my feeling after 45 days on the job that we have improved. I would like you to come back for a night as my guest, you may send me a response via trip advisor or you can reach out to me directly at the hotel or my e-mail edward.carroll@hilton.com
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

About a year ago I was looking for a hotel to house my wedding guests for my memorial day wedding. My husband and i got married at the Chelsea Center. We checked out some hotels near Siesta and none were as accommodating as the Homewood Suites. Not only did they give me great rates for my guests, but they gave us two different rooms to choose from. However, the thing that impressed me the most was the fact that they let us use one of their conference rooms for our rehearsal dinner for no cost at all. I was so overwhelmingly impressed by all the staff and how they met my every request with a smile. If you're looking for a place to stay central to Sarasota and Bradenton, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trpauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I really like the Hilton chain. For example, their properties in Chicago and Naples where I have recently stayed are outstanding and a great value. So, I was surprised by the condition of my room on a recent one night business trip.
Check-in was pleasant and uneventful. Leaving the main entrance to drive to my room, I quickly noted there were no parking places available forcing me to drive to the far side of the hotel and walk back to my room with our luggage. Entering the room, we immediately recognized a mildew smell. On further examination, the cloth desk chair was deeply stained and the bathroom floor tiles popped and sagged beneath our feet. The corners of the floor in the bathroom had dirt in them and caulking around the tub had mildew in places. The bed mattresses were lumpy and broken down. I'll be having a chat with our Travel Department.

Room Tip: Try the Ritz Carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Curt909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
If Conrad experienced what you did I am sure that he would be disappointed as well. I have been on the job 45 days and feel that we have made some very good improvements, We do have a 100% satisfaction guarantee that we have in place and I am not sure if you aware of that. I would like to reach out to you to see how we can reconnect and show you the improvements that we have made. Please reach back out to me via trip advisor or you can e-mail me at edward.carroll@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have stayed here three times in the past four yrs, each time age of facility is increasingly noticeable. Facility needs updating, 'tho the convenience to beaches, shopping, travel is good and can overcome some weaknesses. Staff appears helpful, but they can do only so much working within the limitations. Second floor in center back affords less noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was such a nice place, I went back in January, the place was hosted one of those gold buying roadshows, people everywhere, could not get a seat for breakfast and the Police was there in the afternoon. I wont be back, to much drama

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarrenG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Excellent choice for our baseball team. The rooms are spacious with two double beds and a sofa bed. Full size fridge, sink and microwave are a huge plus. Breakfast is very good and well stocked escpecially with many teams staying there. Property is well maintained and staff did a great job.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyjillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions, each time for a week. Due to family issues we would leave in the morning and not come back to our room until around 7-8 pm. The last two times we stayed there , housekeeping issues reared their ugly head. Room not vacuumed, lack of towels and wash cloths...and even worse, garbage not removed. The first time this happened I took the garbage to the front desk and they threw it away ...they had a hard time believing I did this ..IMHO. This trip is happened twice! The first time , I was so tired from our day..I just threw out in the outside cannisters. The second time , I became extremely upset ..as we did not also have any papertowels , tissues or a bathmat in the room. I again took the garbage down to the front desk and they said they would return the garbage can later. I asked to speak to the GM the next morning. Well morning came , no call. Did see her by the front desk and told her what occured , she asked what room I was in ...and she walked away without nary a word of an aplogogy or anything...BAD BAD. Doubt we will ever return .

Must add that the Maintainence person , Willie , was very responsive and personable when we needed a burnt out bulb replaced..the morning after checkin.

Room Tip: Always check your rooms before check in ,,did notice a real bad order upon checking in ..which I rep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemro311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srqhw, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota. I understand that you encountered a problem with the cleanliness of your guest room. I sincerely apologize for this. This is one of the areas that we are very vigilant in to ensure comfort and satisfaction for our guests. I'm so sorry that we were unable to meet expectations, and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to Sarasota you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again. I appreciate your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 45 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 45 in Sarasota
5.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 45 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Address: 3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing