We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Carefull...service is not great!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be Carefull...service is not great!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

I always try to stay at Hilton family hotels whenever I can. They usually are pretty good. Overall, the hotel was in good shape. Very nice breakfast buffet with hot eggs, sausage, and other assorted breakfast foods. That was about the high point to the stay.

Issues I had with my stay:
1. The closet door was off the track and just sitting half way in the door.
2. The air conditioner did not work...I had to change rooms.
3. There is no wireless service in the rooms, so if you have devices that depend on wireless, you will be disappointed.
4. Many issues with the cleaning staff
- I had two beds, but only one washcloth, one hand towel and two bath towels. i would expect at least double that. Seems like they are tying to cut costs.
- I used the plastic cups on the first day and the cleaning crew never replaced them in three days.
- The kitchen was never cleaned in the three days.
- The toiletries once used, were not replaced.
- Everything was left wherever it was put by me...the cleaning crew could not have cleaned the floor at all.

I would not stay there again...I travel about 22 weeks out of the year, so I compare this against what I normally would expect from a quality hotel. Look elsewhere...

  • Liked — The room was roomy
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    78
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
89
74
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

What a great place to stay for a 30 day trip! The suites were like a little apt. and excellent service! Beds were very comfortable and the suite was very clean. The best part was in the early evening they have a appetizer buffet which actually was enough for my dinner and FREE! Wine & beer too! Staff was very friendly and the pool and jacuzzi were great and inviting after working all day.
Best price for the area and only a couple years old.

  • Liked — Felt at home
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I have stayed in a lot of Homewood suites hotels. This one is nothing like the others. Our room wasn't even a suite. It was an oversized hotel room, but not as advertised. There wasn't a separate living room. It was all one room. The a/c was very noisy. The light came into the room from everywhere. The door let it through. The windows couldn't be covered on the ends. All in all it is very dissapointing. The people who gave good reviews must not have ever stayed at a Homewood before. We reserved 5 nights and left after only one.
On the plus side, the employees were very nice. They wouldn't give us a late checkout, even though the event they booked us for was going to be over after the checkout time.
If you like old, somewhat dirty and dated motor motels. This is for you.

  • Liked — employees were nice. pool area was nice
  • Disliked — this is not a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

This hotel is really great. The service was excellent and it was very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were extremely spacious. And how many hotels do you know that have a golfing green by the pool (even if it is small). The pool was nice,clean, and not over clorined. The food was delicous and having free internet was absoulutely fantastic. I met the owners on my stay and they are wonderful people. I really enjoyed the stay!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

I stayed at this location for 3 days/2 nights (weekend) in January while visiting a friend in the area. I would definitely stay in this hotel again in the future.

The rooms are quite spacious consisting of a sleeping area, sitting area (with fold out couch), kitchenette (fridge, microwave, burners - the only thing not available is a stove), separate vanity area with sink, and bathroom. The beds are very comfortable. The pull-out couch has a very thin mattress and is probably not good for people with bad backs or other ailments of the sort. The breakfast is excellent consisting of a variety of hot and cold foods, including a make-your-own waffle station. Wireless internet access is available for free in the guest rooms. The pool is small, but sufficient. Also in the pool area is a small, novelty golf tee area.

The hotel is located very close to the Cincinnatti Reds spring training facility and would make an excellent "home base" if attending any games there. It is however far from the beaches (~10 min. to St. Armand's Beach, 20-30 to Siesta Key) so it is not a hotel that you can just walk out of and be at the beach. A CVS and Target are located within driving distance.

The only "con" is the parking can get very bad if you return late to the hotel. They allow parking by some curbs overnight to alleviate this problem.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

We stayed at Homewood Suites Sarasota in June for 4 days. This hotel is very nice and clean, located close to SweetBay Grocery Store, to fast-food places, about 15 minutes away from the beach. Breakfast is comp. very nice, and comp. dinner monday-thur. was nice too. Do not expect too much, but light food and comp. beer and wine is better then nothing. We will stay there again!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

This hotel, while appearing to be new, seemed cheaply constructed. Furnishings looked chintzy. The bedroom and the living room each have in-wall air conditioners. The one in the bedroom was noisy and drafty, and the temperature was either too cold or too warm. Management wasn't helpful in finding a solution. The hallway floors have a hollow sound, and late at night I could hear people walking to their rooms. The layout of the hotel was also strange, with some rooms being a very long walk to the lobby area. The continental breakfast with machine made coffee wasn't anything special, either.

I've stayed at Homewood Suites many times, and found them quite satisfactory. I hope this isn't a sign of things to come.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Address: 3470 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.