We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
3926 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
941.364.5833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #339 of 819 restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

we went with a group of 13, the food and service was excellent. We were half an hour late for our booking and they still got us seated - they couldnt have been more helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    17
    16
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always love Sonny's, and this is a good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great food, friendly staff and reasonably priced. Our family of three paid just over $30, and that was including a decent tip. Enjoyed it much more than the Oaks, which we had tried the night before. Predictable, in the way that a comfortable pair of shoes is. Will be back next time we're in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Finger lickin' sticky bbq delite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Come here for the best bbq ribs in town at affordable prices. Around $13 for a whole rack of ribs, fries, slae and garlic bread..great service and a friendly setting. Note, the car park gets full quickly as this place is popular with the locals

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Standard Issue Florida BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Sonny's is the only production BBQ outfit that I know of in the deep South. If you live here and like BBQ at all, you have eaten at a Sonny's at least a dozen times. It's tasty, reasonably priced, country comfortable, etc. Basically, the Waffle House of the BBQ world.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sonny's Sarasota...love the ribs and Sonny's special signature sauces!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My son just loves Sonny's! He was 12 the day we discovered it for the first time (heard about how good Sonny's is through friends where we were summer vacationing) almost 2 years ago. Nice casual atmosphere good for families, young, old and everything in-between. He loves the ribs and wide assortment of signature sauces that are on your table. The portions are large and that is perfect for a growing boy...he loves that! The first time we went was on our birthday (he and I share the same birthday) and it was a memorable meal (his Father and sister were there too). We took pictures, laughed and had a good time and most of all had a yummy meal and went away feeling very satisfied if not quite full! Having dessert at Sonny's is usually out of the question I assume as the main meal is more than enough. We will definitely go back on our next vacation...once if not twice...last year we went a couple of times! THUMBS UP to Sonny's...we are big fans!!
GEISH
N.S., CANADA

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.