We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key to your Saves list
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1735 Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34231   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Dumfries, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“nice enough, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location allows easy access to beaches and many of the attractions in Sarasota, which was why we chose it. The rooms are essentially converted apartments, so a good set up for families. They were in the midst of renovating when we went, and our apartment hadn't been done yet, so it was definitely dated, but clean. Service was good but not amazing, and the hotel was just what we needed for our short stay. The thing that bumps it from average to very good is the room set up - it's difficult to find such a good set up for a family at a reasonable price. This hotel delivers.

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really value all comments. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
76
70
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would definitely recommend Hibiscus Suites to anyone looking for a good value + great place to stay in Sarasota near the gorgeous beaches, wonderful restaurants and the wildlife.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I liked Hibiscus so much I extended my stay.

The price is right and I was extremely pleased with both the efficiency room that I used as well as the one bedroom suite. Kitchen is well equipped and very handy.

Also the Carrabbas across the street is wonderful as well. There are a number of stores nearby and the hotel's location is just across the bridge from Siesta Key. Nice pool.

Planning my next trip already and will bring family.

Room Tip: Both the efficiency and the suites are super - just pick to fit your budget. Efficiency is just a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I am so delighted that you enjoyed yourself here. Were even more delighted that you are planning your next trip here. We really do appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the Hibiscus Suites for a night this past week. It was superb! It looks like the room has recently been renovated and was in tip-top condition. It was so convenient with children to have the extra kitchen space and full size refrigerator. Julie, I believe she is the manager, is warm and hospitable! A gem! It wasn't right on the beach, but close enough to be convenient; a short walk if you're ambitious or a quick ride in the car. Only thing that wasn't appealing was the pool right next to the road, but those things you can't just pick up and move so I understand. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Disclaimer: I am slightly spoiled traveling and like the finer things. With that said, I don't mind staying a "regular" hotel at times when I know I'm there just for fun - beaches, parks, sightseeing and shopping and not on a luxury vacation. Traveling with my 2 and 6 year old we planned on visiting Jungle Gardens and spending days at Siesta Key. However, of our 3 night stay, we ended up leaving after the first night.
First, the good - the property was very, very, very clean. The housekeeping staff are amazing. Also, having a full size fridge is such a great plus. Parking is right outside your room - in motel style. It's only 5 minutes from Siesta Key although parking is difficult so just call FreeRide to get to the beach. However.....
The beds are hard as rock. Even my 2 year old couldn't sleep. Who ever knew toddlers to know the difference? I ended up having to take him onto the leather couch and let him sleep on my shoulder all night. My 6 year old tossed and turned and couldn't sleep at all. We were all awake at 3am exhausted and achy just waiting for the day to begin so we could leave. The worst part, you need to know if you're going with kids that the channel line up includes NO kids channels. No Nickelodeon or Nick Jr, no Disney or Disney Junior, not even the Toon channel or ABC family or even PBS.... on top of that, there was no DVD player at all to even be able to pop in a DVD so I could take a quick shower in peace. The air conditioning unit was LOUD. So much so that we'd rather swelter in the heat than deal with the noise.
The contintental breakfast is a nice offering, it's in the office and the staff is as nice as can be. But, it only consists of a waffle maker, toaster with a couple of bagels and a few choices of cereal.
All in all, good for anyone expecting a 2 star hotel, maximum three, and are okay with that. Go with the proper expectations. I mistakenly expected more based on the previous reviews and was majorly disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

When we first pulled up to the hotel, we were a little concerned--it was pink and had the slight look of a 60's motel. However, our concerns were immediately put to rest. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were super clean and great sized. There was a living area with a couch of two and some chairs, a small kitchen area with a full size fridge, stove, etc. The bathroom was nice in that there was a sink both in the bathroom and also right outside the bathroom, so two people could get ready at once.
We didn't put the pool and there is no hot tub.
Breakfast was included and was the standard fare--cereal, yogurt, breakfast bars, and also a woman making waffles. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you Kitties102 for your review of our hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and I thank you for taking the time to let us know about your exdperience. I am glad to hear that your concerns were put to rest immediately regarding the property, and that you found our newly-renovated facility of great comfort and enjoyment. Thanks again for choosing Hibiscus, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Fla with friends, we stayed and this hotel and really enjoyed it, it was clean the staff was friendly, the complimentary breakfast was great, the staff person making the waffles did an awesome job, made them just the way I wanted it, wish I could have gotten her name so I could mention her personally, the hotel was close to everything, beaches,restaurants, and the night life, it was a great place to stay and would definitely do it again,

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in a separate room from our friends, but I would definitely let them know ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Friends and Florida... doesn't get much better than that! Peggathe, your review is greatly appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing luxurious all-suite accomodations, to make Siesta Key vacations even better. Next time you're in the Sarasota area to visit your friends, please also remember your friends over at Hibiscus. We would love to have the opporunity to warmly welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedale, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at the Hibiscus Suites. Very clean and comfortable, nicely furnished, and the pool was beautiful. The hotel is located close to many restaurants and a shopping mall, as well as being right across the bridge from Siesta Key, so just a short 6-8 minute drive to Siesta Key Public Beach.
(If you're going to Siesta Key Public Beach, parking is ridiculous! Do yourself a favor and call Surfside Free Ride (941) 961-8238. It's a free transportation service for tips only. They'll pick you up right at the hotel, and drop you off at the beach.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, if you have trouble with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Just as you had mentioned shellconk, traffic during the summer can be quite busy on the Key. Our friends over at Surfside Free Ride do provide complimentary transportation until 2am each day, so you have the opportunity to enjoy the nighlife that Siesta Key is known for. Thanks for also staying with us; we're glad to see you found our wonderful property well maintained and clean throughout. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Address: 1735 Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splurge on your next vacation in the tropical paradise that is Hibiscus Suites! Our hotel is located 1/2 mile from Siesta Key Beach, voted the #1 beach in the United States! All of our rooms are large Suites which include full kitchens, with separate living and sleeping quarters. We also host an outdoor heated pool open year-round, as well as a complimentary continental breakfast each morning of your stay and FREE WiFi access throughout the hotel. Book today, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.