We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for college kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key to your Saves list
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1735 Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34231   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great for college kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and loved the hibiscus. We have many memories here and frequently reference the hibiscus in our conversations.
The rooms were not the advertised ones online. They were not renovated but we found them still nice and clean. The kitchen is big enough to make a meal which we did plenty of times. The front desk staff was amazing. I don't remember her name but she helped us with dinner options and problems with our room etc... She was professional and did a great job. The breakfast was actually really good. They have amazing muffins ,cereal, toast and waffles.
The pool was renovated and warm which was nice. We cooked a meal out there and had a good time.
We did not have a car so we had to walk everywhere. The beach is about a 15 minute walk but a very nice one! We really liked that because we could have conversations and get ready for the beach. Overall great time at the hibiscus!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hibiscus. It is our goal to be able to provide a memorable experience for each and every guest. I thank you again for choosing to stay with us, come back anytime to see your friends at Hibiscus Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    66
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
81
76
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penna
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Location is fine. Front desk staff not friendly at check in, but no big deal.. Room was clean. Nice touches/upgrades, but it doesn't make up for the thin doors between rooms. Each room has the potential to join the next.. The trouble is the rowdy group next to us yelling until well into the night kept us awake. It was less soundproof than my walls at home. We gave it a try based on trip advisor reviews. It may be charming for younger folks, but traveling with a family (kids) this place wasn't for us - my 5 year old who loves to travel asked to stay somewhere else - he felt unsafe; probably the thin doors and walls. Would go with the chains next time (Best Western is nearby).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jen B, I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us at Hibiscus. It is our goal to provide, safe, clean, and comfortable accomodations for each and evewry guest. Please rest assured that your concerns will not go unheard, and each and every issue mentioned in your review will be addressed by the property management team. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to show that what you experienced was not the norm, but the exception. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place, just a short drive to the beach and walk to some stores nearby. The breakfast area was small, food choices lack some variety but the waffle was good. I really liked the smell of the towels, the bed was very comfortable and kitchen was a little small but really was great to have during our entire stay coz' we love to cook! Pool area was nice to eat out at night, though next to the street, it might get noisy at times. Pool was clean and well kept. Overall, I would love to stay again when I get back to visit siesta key.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks Sunnyshine76 for choosing Hibiscus Suites for your recent visit to Siesta Key! We are grateful that you chose to stay with us, and you truly enjoyed your stay. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Hibiscus Suites during our most recent trip to Siesta Key. The hotel is located about 1/2 mile to one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida. The continental breakfast in the morning with warm waffles was an added benefit. "Big Show" is willing to help ensure your waffle comes out perfect. The room was nice and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. I agree the one downside was the pool located so close to the road, but since the weather was chilly during our stay, it was nice to have a heated pool to swim in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank CourtneyM5910 for your great review! I am very grateful to have received your feedback for us to better the property for the next guest. Your kind words for The Big Show is appreciated, and I will be sure to pass on your kudos to her. Thanks again for stay ing with us at Hibiscus, come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Traveling to Sarasota for spring training games, we needed a convenient, not-so-expensive place to rest between games and beach outings. Hibiscus Suites is the perfect solution. From making the reservations to helping us with forgotten items, Julie and the rest of the front desk staff go out of their way to make your experience enjoyable.

Value was good, the room, with a small kitchenette and separate bedroom was perfect for our three night stay.

Just two minor flaws. The walls were thin, and the pool is literally three feet away from Stickney Point Rd - tough to truly relax with so many cars shooting by.

We thouroughly enjoyed Hibiscus Suites and will look there first if our travels take us to Siesta Key again!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a back deck which, although facing houses, provided a shady place to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time for submitting a review of our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and allows us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed the comfort of your full Suite guest room, and the friendliness of our staff was of great enjoyment. I would like to thank you once again for staying with us, and don't forget to come back and visit your friends at Hibiscus anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hibiscus twice. The room was clean and the staff was helpful, especially Rufus Baker who was most helpful in every way, recommending restaurants, getting me extra soap, and being incredibly polite. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: They have 3 small rooms that are $90 a night instead of the suites that start at $ 129.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Andy K for your review! I am glad to hear that not only are you a return guest of ours, but also that our front desk attendant Rufus was of great pleasure and assistance to you. I will be sure to pass along kudos to him on your behalf for providing such a warming experience. I thank you again, and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came from 4 nights at the Marriott Beach Resort on Marco Island, so I had very low expectations for this place. Its a bit dingy when you drive up. We drove over three hours & arrived at 2:45pm & we were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. Really?! That was kind of a bummer, because I really din't want to get back in the car. The room though is a converted motel room with a little kitchenette complete with full fridge, mini stove, microwave, dish ware. the bathroom was clean & updated. The bed had plastic bamboo glued to the back of the bed so there were no curtains. It made for a cool effect, unfortunately the light from the street shines through the bamboo & we found it a bit bright for sleeping. The ice bucket was moldy & should be replaced, otherwise it was pretty clean. Our biggest complaint is noise. the walls are very thin & we heard every shower & toilet flush all night long in the building. If it wasn't for this (we need to sleep) we'd go back here.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs & an eye mask
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you AdventureGirl007 for your review. We strive for excellence each and every time, and I'm sad to hear that we did not meet those standards during your visit. I have personally addressed the issues you had mentioned with our property Management team and Ownership for their input and immediate correction. Please email us at stay@hibiscussuitesfl.com if you should have any further concerns that you would like us to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Address: 1735 Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splurge on your next vacation in the tropical paradise that is Hibiscus Suites! Our hotel is located 1/2 mile from Siesta Key Beach, voted the #1 beach in the United States! All of our rooms are large Suites which include full kitchens, with separate living and sleeping quarters. We also host an outdoor heated pool open year-round, as well as a complimentary continental breakfast each morning of your stay and FREE WiFi access throughout the hotel. Book today, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.