We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Onesti's Italian Restaurant

Mama Onesti's Italian Restaurant
6152 14th Street West, Bradenton Not Sarasota, Sarasota, FL 34207
941 756 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 848 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Everything was good. But the service was slow. And the two veal dishes were lukewarm, not to say cool. We ask to re-heat the food and it came back lukewarm. Disappointed. I like my food hot and I don't understand how a plate coming out of the oven can be served that way. If they can overcome this problem, this restaurant would be outstanding. Very nice atmosphere, good choice and you can bring your own wine for a $7,95 cork fee. Worth brinning a good bottle of wine. Will try again later.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Homey Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a pleasant home style Italian restaurant. The service was good as was the food. Our only problem is that the food was too oily for our taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Looks aren't everything. What appears to be a sports bar is more than that.

We've ate here twice for lunch in less than 5 days while on vacation.

The service is excellent while ambiance is just a sports bar or gathering place among friends or family. Our waitress is a pro.

The rootbeer is awesome and so is the food. We had three different meals among us and the second visit was the same. The food is excellent. This is not a tourist trap or likely to be found on your radar and it's worth the visit. Great Italian food, good value and excellent service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ugh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a red sauce house. Had really poor service and food was not as good the second time we went. Waitress didn't tell us they were out of salad mix for salad and gave us something without asking us first.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've been there about 4 times now and every time the food has been very good. Actually, Probably the best Italian food I've had in quite some time. They give you rolls with tons of garlic - which I like. The gnocchi are made in a gorgonzola sauce, not just spaghetti sauce. I was hesitant on trying them because of the gorgonzola cheese, but loving gnocchis and my husband saying if I didn't like them he'd trade me, I figured I'd try them. Glad I did; they are the best I've had out in a LONG time!!! I've also had the (I believe it's called Onesti Special) which is chicken parm, eggplant parm and small side of pasta. This dish was also very good. The eggplant parm is rolled with ricotta cheese, which is very good. The wings are good along with breaded mushrooms - excellent. I am normally not a fan of cannolis because they always seem hard as a rock, but we tried them, and once again, they were very good.

So, two thumbs up for me as we've enjoyed the food and the service. The only thing negative is my husband said, his portions could have been a bit larger. He's had the chicken piccata, really liked it, said they make it the traditional way..

There is an outdoor seating area, however, the restaurant is in a strip mall and there isn't much much to look at other than a parking lot filled with cars.

The restaurant has a comfortable atmosphere. They have a small bar area, along with a few televisions throughout the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Onesti's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mama Onesti's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Onesti's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.