We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you leave here hungry, you only have you to blame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munchies 420 Cafe

Munchies 420 Cafe
6639 Superior Ave, Sarasota, FL 34231-5837 (Formerly Chicken Pie Co)
941-929-9893
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #465 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you leave here hungry, you only have you to blame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First, don't eat anything for 24 hours. Second, drive to Munchies and order anything (and I mean anything) and you won't be hungry for another 24 hours. The food (sandwiches mostly) was very good, priced right and served quickly. Not fancy by any stretch of the imagination but who cares - if you've got . . . . .pardon the expression . . . . the munchies, then this is the place to go for the cure

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    12
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good portions and very tasty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very curious about the name, so decided to check it out. Very busy place, long line, but worth the wait. Philly cheese steak was awesome. Would go again. One caution it's not health food or diet food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ona, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We saw this on man vs food so we had to go try it out. It is a very nice and relaxed lil restaurant/bar. The staff was very friendly and the food lived up to its LARGE reputation! My boyfriend who never gets full was absolutely stuffed and I had to take half of my sandwich back to the room! You definitely get your moneys worth and more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetsund, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OK food, but not as good as they said on Man vs Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband wanted to go there after seeing the TV program and who am I to say no. We went there in the evening and got to order pretty quick, but waited and waited for the food. When we finally got it they had forgotten the salad. We thought the wings were good, but I am not shure they are as good as they say on TV......
The place is dark and pretty worn down, but for us it was an experience. I would never go there at night alone as there were some creepy people there looking scary. (I thought).
A fun experience and nothing more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place out for a late lunch. All three of us were disappointed with our meals. I had the Philly. The bread was very soggy and the meat was bland. It was overall a waste of money. I give them credit for delivering, for those long nights out when hungry and you don't want to drive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchies 420 Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Munchies 420 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munchies 420 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.