We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Lido Islander Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring special
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
georgia
1 review
“Ok for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

This place is ok, cute and very affordable for the area. We had 3 problems. The first was that at the time we booked our stay the website stated that our unit had 2 bedrooms with a queen in each bedroom. We arrived (2 couples) to find a king and two twins. We had to call the off-site managers and had to really push for them to do anything. They ended up just pushing the twins together (no connector or anything) and one couple got to spend the weekend trying not to slide onto the floor through the middle of the bed. Even though this was clearly their error they didn;t offer us any discount or alternative accomodation.
Second, the individual bedrooms that can be rented separately or with another unit are a real problem. This is NOT like an adjoining room at an actual hotel, instead it's just the 2nd or 3rd bedroom closed off with a slide lock. That means almost no insulation and you're hearing and being heard by strangers (luckily our were nice and only a little annoying).
Finally, we had some real problems with the cleanliness of the unit - arrived off the road ready for a shower and had to wipe the lasts guests dirty sand out of the tub first - yuck!
All that aside, we had a pretty good time, it is close to the beach and shopping, just wish it had been a little nicer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Multiple problems and no on-site staff to help
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    35
    15
    28
See reviews for
39
85
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

Our stay here was absolutely TERRIBLE. We were eager to get back home after the first night. If you book the room online, the pictures mislead you, showing only pictures of the nicest rooms. So make sure you check which room you are actually buying. There is no “front desk” that you can receive help from the owners were very difficult to contact when we had a problem. When we confronted one of the owners about the misleading booking, he only smiled as though he had planned to scam his customers and suggested a $50 per night upgrade for a better room.

The queen sized bed inside studio 1A took up the majority of the space in the room with only a little room to walk. A “fully-equipped kitchen” for the studio meant a hidden mini-fridge, microwave and toaster strategically nestled inside the cove of the closet. A couple mugs and glasses were stowed away along with a tray of silverware in a tiny, shelved closet. The bathroom sink served as the ‘kitchen’ sink. Speaking of which, we had to wash the dishes or otherwise we’d be charged a cleaning fee. I doubt if they washed the plates and silverware unless the previous renters hadn’t. A table stuffed in a closet served as the only countertop in the room.

The beds were musty and we noticed the top of the quilt cover looked a little brown. In the bathroom, the sink was yellow and was in need of an update. The medicine cabinet was rusted and the shower drain was plugged so that when you took a shower, you took a bath instead. The room would only be cleaned regularly during our stay if we requested it, and we would be charged a cleaning fee. We had to sweep the floors and got a nasty pile of dirt from who knows how long ago. We didn’t mop but we wanted to because we got brown feet if we spent too much time in the room and had to wipe them off before getting into bed.

They gave us one large towel, one small towel, and a washcloth for each person so when they got dirty, we had to wash them ourselves or grab an extra towel from the “guest supplies box” that had very few items and limited towels. We took a towel from this box at one point but it smelled as though someone had it sitting in the washer for too long. In fact, one day in the morning we noticed that there was a stack of wet towels and sheets that had just been washed. That NIGHT, they someone (one of the owners) put them in the dryer… so they smelled disgusting. We confronted her about it and she told us she didn’t know they had been sitting out that long, despite the fact that she knew the cleaning lady was only in from 11am-3pm.

Our bathroom window didn’t close or lock and we were weary about being in an unfamiliar place. She told us we had nothing to worry about because (I quote her) “There has never been any crime around here—ever”. I found this hard to believe so I looked up the crime rate for Sarasota and found the crime rate is higher than the national average in every category except motor vehicle theft. We finally closed the window but we had to keep it shut, which was a bummer since it was the only ventilation in the bathroom other than the bathroom door. So much for privacy.

Regardless of being in beautiful Sarasota, it was difficult to relax because we were so stressed about the room. We couldn’t sleep well because there was no air conditioning. The internet connection worked only when it wanted to. We had NO privacy, and it was hard for two people to get ready in the morning in the small bathroom and small living space. We had to worry about doing chores or paying extra for their lack of service. We were a young couple without a lot of money looking for a nice place to relax, only to be exceedingly disappointed. This was a complete waste of our money and time and we would have been better off staying home.

  • Liked — It is close to St. Armands shopping and the beach
  • Disliked — Not relaxing in the least
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

The location was great. The management was horrible. We had to fix many maintance problems ourselves. The only staff at location was a very friendly maid. The owners are very hard to get ahold of. I am still having billing issues. The rooms were clean but small. would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

Filthy and unsafe. Windows opened up into grassy alleyway where garbage and recycling for building were stored. Bathroom window in back opened up into back alley where 4 large piles of animal droppings were. (deer??) Stench in bathroom and throughout. No fan, no air conditioner. Crumbs on kitchen counter, make-up spill on dresser. Tile floor throughout, needed vaccuuming. Fridge dirty. I had to leave, could not stay there with my children. Apt. 1B

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2006
The complaints in her letter are totally false and without merit. However, I do vehemently object to the assertions in her letter and will defend the integrity of my property and my staff.

As soon as we were made aware of the guest's concerns about the property, we sent the housekeeper over immediately. The guest was already loading her bags back into her car to leave the property without affording our staff the opportunity to walk through the room and correct any problems. Not only did she vacate the property without letting our staff rectify any issues there may have been, but she also did not formally cancel her reservation. Since we never received a formal cancellation from , we were prevented from re-listing and/or re-renting the room on a weekend in which we were totally booked. In fact, we had to turn away guests who were already in the property and wanted to extend their stays, hence the “No Vacancy” sign stayed up. It is interesting that she would even notice the “No Vacancy” sign, since our property is tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood and not located on a major road people use to travel on the island.

The guest arrived well before our 3:00 p.m. check in time, hence the pile of laundry outside the door. She was told that her room would be ready at 3:00 p.m., but she could put her bags in her room. She declined. She retuned to the property around 4:30 or 5:00 p.m. Our housekeeper was still on the property for quite awhile after her return and did not receive a complaint from her. Our housekeeper said that the only thing that happened was that she seemed very agitated when she first arrived (prior to entering her room) and asked in a rude manner if her room was clean. It was only after the housekeeper left some time later that she called us with her complaints. We immediately sent the housekeeper back (who was only about ten minutes away) to address any of her concerns. Our housekeeper believes that she actually left, because the one bedroom apartment she rented simply was not large enough for her and all of her kids. This is really the first complaint we have had about this housekeeper. In fact, our guests usually rave about her. I have even been told by a guest “that the housekeepers at the Ritz have nothing on her”.

All the rooms are non-smoking and therefore ashtrays are placed on the property for smokers. The ashtrays are cleaned throughout the day as the guests use them. Of course, there may be a lag time between the time they were last used by a guest and the time the ashtray is cleaned by our staff, but I emphasize that they are cleaned frequently.

The guest next series of complaints are about some dirt on the floor and in the kitchen. I spoke to the head housekeeper and she assured me that the room had been moped and dusted. She also stated that she went into the bathroom after the guest's departure and found it to be clean and the only “stench” in the bathroom was of Pine Sol. Unfortunately, the guest did not remain on the property long enough to give our staff the opportunity to clean the areas of her concern.

The garbage cans are located behind the building line as mandated by the City. We have carefully placed them in an area that is away from all of the windows. The guest would have had to peer out the window and all the way to the left to even see them. In fact, she is the first guest to complain to us about their location and we often have guests leave the windows open.

She mentioned “large piles of animal feces in a row” (deer?) outside the window. The property is on island in Florida, there are no deer within 25 miles of the property. The housekeeper said there were no animal feces (the property does not permit pets and is set far back from the road), but there were some seashells that some children picked up from the beach, which is a block from the property, and were left outside to dry.

The guest alludes to a “hidden alleyway” and that she was afraid someone might climb in. There are no alleyways on the property. The property is situated on a residential street in one of the most exclusive neighborhoods in Sarasota called Lido Key. Currently, the homes listed for sale on our street range from a $1.5 million dollar vacant lot across the street to over $4.5 million for the house located 3 houses over from our property. We have left the bikes that our guests use and thousand dollar kayaks unlocked on the property for years without incident. We even leave the front door of our second home (which is also located on Lido Key) unlocked for days when it is not being used by us, as we await friends and relatives to visit the property. Surely, any fears as to someone climbing in are unfounded, as further evidence by the number of guests that routinely leave their windows open at night to take advantage of the refreshing ocean breezes.

Ironically, the guest could find the smallest specks of dirt on the floor and refrigerator that all the prior and subsequent guests never mentioned to myself or the housekeeper, yet she was unable to find the thermostat on the wall for the air conditioning unit. All of the other guests that have stayed on the property were able to find the a/c control without the need of assistance, except this guest. The room has its own a/c control unit prominently located on the main wall behind the couch, which the guest would have clearly seen as she exited the room.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

My family including 3 children flew down to Sarasota from Chicago and drove to the Lido Vacation Rentals in Sarasota to enjoy a rare time away. At first we were impressed by the area that is until we arrived at 528 S. Polk. The exterior was not great - the interior was horrendous. To make matters worse they did not even have our room ready and offered two separate rooms far apart from one another. Well, there was no way we could separate the children. In addition, the rooms were so bad. They smelled and were dark, dank and uninhabitable. We scrambled to find a place to stay for the night - for it was Easter Sunday. And the story goes on but the main point I want to share is that the owners never refunded our four night, five day stay deposit. They also advertise falsely claiming their rooms were newly remodeled. This is not true!!!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2006
The guest were booked to stay in at the property. However, due to an unforeseen maintenance issue, the room was not available for the first night of the guest’s stay. The guest were offered free of charge, two (2) rooms until their room was available, the next day. The guest declined this generous offer and decided to cancel their reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

We booked here for a weekend and found the room assigned to be dirty (obviously had not been vacuumed) and literally crawling with fleas.
I attempted to reach the innkeeper, left a message with my cell number but received no response.
We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn (great hotel) and then to add insult to injury found they refused to cancel my stay at Lidovacationrentals and had in fact, charged my credit card for the entire stay. I disputed charges but, they continue all the while offering no documentation of the charges, therefore I have no proof of the problems.

Book here only if you like fleas and don't mind a filthy room.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2006
The guest never stayed at the property. The guest tried to cancel their stay, and when told they could not cancel their stay 24 hours prior to check in, without losing their deposit (as was stated to them when they made their reservation) they became very upset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2004

If you are after a quiet, well kept, place to stay in Sarasota then this is for you. My Partner and i stayed in the Studio (one bed/one bath), and it suited us just fine.
It was bigger than many European hotel rooms we've stayed in so wasn't a problem for us.
The room had a TV, Fridge and Microwave and you just change your (Provided) Beach, Bath and hand towels when you need to..
Took a peek at the other 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and they are HUGE. Kitchenette area big and were pretty impressive for the price.
Washing facility available at small fee (75 cents) so all in all great.
Beach less then 2 mins walk away but Siesta Key beach much better (10 minute drive).
Very pieceful and only 5 mins from St Almands circle..






Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Manager at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
You stayed an entire week at our property. Our manager and you talked almost every day during your stay, in fact, she visited your room on a couple of times. Never once during your stay, did you mention anything to her. The room was thoroughly clean prior to your arrival. If you would have let her know that you were less than satisfied, she would have done everything possible to clean the room to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.