We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must pay attention to what room you pick!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Lido Islander Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Orlando
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You must pay attention to what room you pick!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have stayed here three times, and have got the one bedroom, two bedroom, and the guest room. Do not rent the guest room! It is a room with a bed, and two feet on each side of it. The other two rooms were fine. If you are a value travler you will love this place. It is dirt cheap and is walking distance to the circle and the beach. We come over from Orlando like once a year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    32
    15
    26
See reviews for
37
82
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We booked a suite but spent the first night in what appeared to be a converted box room - the fridge and microwave were in the wardrobe and the king size bed made it very awkward to move about ! We were moved to a suite the following morning and that was quite a nice set of rooms. There was no office on site only a cupboard under the external stairs with a label 'Office' There was nobody on site when we arrived and we found a note for us in a box on the wall, which advised of our move the next morning.(Incidentley our name was spent incorrectly on this and the room keys were on the table in the room). It was nearly 11am before somebody turned up and after we asked we found out which suite we were going to. We finally moved in there at about 12pm. The suite consisted of a large lounge/diner , a fitted kitchen. a bedroom and a bathroom all these rooms showed the need for some maintenance/TLC ( the towel rail fell off the wall and the sink plug did not work in our first room !) The only contact if required with the owners/management was by telephone.
Dont book room 1A. Our suite was 1B cant comment on the other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for your review. The Lido Islander strives to be very competitive in pricing compared to other hotels in the area. We offer a variety of room types with varying price points in an effort to offer something for everyone. The room you booked is our most economical option. Although the room is not very large, many people do enjoy having an affordable place to stay in an exclusive island location. If you feel you need more room, then we always suggest people try one of our suites, that offer all the comforts of home including a fully stocked kitchen. Try it next time you will like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

needs a lot of maintenance to make this good no curtains in the room only reed blinds (see thro) coffee maker filthy toilet not fixed to wall staff impossible to find all in all a bit of a dump in a very nice area a bit of work could make thi a very nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time let us know about your experience at the Lido Islander. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the hotel based on your review. I can assure you, we constantly updating the facilities and appliances to ensure complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

The Lido Islander is a pleasant little B'nB with out the second B unless you bring your own (breakfast that is). We were never bothered by the staff ~ we paid by credit card and found the keys in the room when we arrived and left them on the table when we departed. Emergency numbers were provided if we had a problem. We chose the least expensive room as we were mostly interested in a clean place to sleep while we were in the area. Our room was small but adequate for the 2 of us to move around and it was definitely clean. The room featured a queen size bed, a nice TV with Cable, a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, and small supply of dishes. It had a small table and 2 chairs at which we could eat a quick breakfast, a ceiling fan, and working air conditioning. If the Florida weather had cooperated, there was a table and chairs outside our door and a small garden area at the end of the parking lot for relaxing. The beach was a block away and a swimming pool was available by the beach. It was a three block walk into the upscale retail and dining community of St Armand. In the Florida area it was a good value ~ after all you come to Florida to be out and about seeing the sites, not sequestered in your room.

  • Liked — Homey feeling.
  • Disliked — Squeaky doors
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Lido Islander from November 20-24, 2008. The trip was a short getaway right after our wedding, prior to our 'real' honeymoon in February. After booking and reading reviews on this site, I had emailed the owner to see if we could upgrade our reservation from a studio to a one bedroom. He expeditiously responded to my inquiry, and stated that we could upgrade for an additional per-night charge. When we arrived, we were pleasantly suprised to discover that we were actually staying in a 2 bedroom unit (unit 5B)!

I was thankful that I had read posts on this site prior to the trip, as 'check in' is a little unorthodox. However, knowing what to expect, we easily located the mailbox which contained our check in instructions, found our room unlocked with the key on the table, and made ourselves at home. The two bedroom unit came equipped with a desk (we had brought a laptop to take advantage of the free WiFi, so this was perfect), a dining area with a table and china cabinet, a living room area with a sofa, coffee table, and flat screen TV with DVD player, a kitchen with granite counter tops, a full refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, cups, bowls, silverware, etc. One bedroom contained a king size bed with two dressers and a walk-in closet, and the other bedroom contained two twin beds with dressers and a closet. The bedrooms were connected by a full bathroom and there was also a hall closet. For the two of us, there was plenty of space in this unit, and we were thankful that we had chosen to upgrade.

As other posters have mentioned, it's true that the walls are very thin between the units, but the ceiling fans tended to drown out any unwanted noise, so we really weren't bothered by this fact. The one complaint that I have about the unit was the level of cleaniness. It appeared to be in need of a deep cleaning...especially the floors...and a fresh coat of paint and a new shower curtain in the bathroom would make a world of difference! Given the price that we had paid, I feel that it was still a good value, mostly because of the location! Although this property is not right on the beach, it is within walking distance of the beach as well as the charming St. Armand's Circle area with upscale shops and restaurants. It is in the middle of a nice, peaceful residential neighborhood.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, I think partially because we knew what to expect. This property is more like a vacation rental than a hotel. It's definitley not the Ritz Carlton (although there is one down the street!) My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway that wouldn't cost us a forture where we could relax and spend quality time with one another, and that's exactly what we got!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCMO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in Sept."08". I read the reviews before I booked our stay and really didn't believe what was said. Well, once we got there everything I read was true. The place is in a great location. Really there is only two complaints we have. One is that the place could be cleaner.( basically just the floors and base boards). Two,which is really kind of a big one is that you can hear your neighbors like they're in your room with you.The bed was real comphy,the bathroom was ok also.For the money it was worth it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — noise from other guests
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

As we arrived to the Lido Islander, we weren't really sure what we were getting ourselves into. Our room was a little on the small side, but for the price we paid, we really couldn't complain! The funny thing was that our table and chairs were in the closet, making it hard to sit! (room 1A, the room that was probably loud and drunk the entire time....sorry!) Besides the random lizards on the walls and not having room service, you have got to give this place a try. Your right in the middle from shopping and my favorite, the beach. I actually plan on moving down to Sarasota from Lexington, Ky and will probably be staying there for a couple days! Who knows maybe i'll meet my PA friends and the hot guy who was above us again! :=)
Get on to expedia.com and you will find awesome deals!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lido Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.