We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nicely run facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Lido Islander Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value, nicely run facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights - the owner responded quickly while booking, etc. The unit (4b) was clean and provided what you'd need. We were literally only there to sleep as friends were at the marina nearby.
It is not fancy and the bathtub could use to be redone (rust near the drain) but everything was very clean and I could see our having enjoyed being on property had we had the time. The king bed was comfortable and we had no issues with parking or noise. You are two blocks from St. Armand's and amidst very, very nice homes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    35
    16
    30
See reviews for
43
86
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our family stayed at the Lido Islander for three weeks in August, 2014. We needed be be in Sarasota, but had no idea where to stay. Knowing what we know now, Lido Island is ONLY place we would stay and the Lido Islander is the best value for quality accomodations on the Island. Lido island close to great shops, great restaurants, very safe, and the best beach in Florida (really -- WAY better than Siesta Key, so much so that we thought local residents are deliberately trying to keep it a secret -- better shelling than Sanibel Island (bring your face mask as conch shells and sand dollars litter the ocean floor at >5' water depth, much less crowded than Siesta, and even with a nature preserve with adorable hatchling birds at the north end). The Lido Islander is walking distance to all of this -- 5 minutes to the beach or the Circle in a high-end residential neighborhood, and 5 minute drive to downtown Sarasota. Our only initial concern was that they did not have a pool, but this turned out to be a complete non-issue, as the beach was much nicer than any pool could have been -- and just as close! The one bedrooms are spacious with nice furniture, nice King bed, pull-out queen (a little lumpy, but we slept well enough) and two big TVs. Staff are very friendly and Dan was always available, clearly taking pride in his property and the happiness of his guests. We really felt like family and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Take the one bedroom over the studio. Just a few dollars more and signicantly more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataCheddar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I'm amazed at what they do with the space. It's tiny but cozy and efficient. Management is very friendly. We lost our key at the beach and we got a new one in minutes. The beach is a five minute walk away. They even have boogie boards and beach chairs for you to borrow. We will be returning!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lido Islander for three nights in an upstairs suite.

The location was excellent; just a few blocks off the St. Armands Circle and the shops and restaurants located there and a relatively short drive from downtown Sarasota and a convenient drive to the rest of Sarasota's attractions. Parking at the Lido Islander wasn't bad, though one night we couldn't fit our minivan into one of the parking slots one night, but could park out on the gravel by the street without a problem. Lido Beach is simply a jog down one of the adjoining streets with a lot of public parking. We drove down and watched the sunset one night and it was well worth it with little trouble.

The suite itself was attractive. The stairs were hard on my wife's knees, but bareable. We checked in by picking up the key in the box outside the suites. The kitchen was small and the appliances decent (though the fridge was a bit elderly and had no ice trays or ice maker). The sofa in our suite would have been comfortable except for the fact that it was a bit sway-backed (i.e., the central supports under the cushions have obviously either been broken or bent and you sink down severely). The chair was badly in need of new cushions, which would be a cheap fix. The mattress in the king bed was actually pretty comfortable. The ceiling fans in the living room and the bedroom were a welcome addition, since it seems that the air conditioner was laboring under the early August Florida weather. There was plenty of hot water for showers. The TVs were pretty good, though the channel listing left for us was obviously for a higher-end able package, since a number of channels weren't available.

The bathroom was serviceable, with a hair dryer provided. The soaps provided were literally smaller than a York peppermint patty, so we bought our own at a local supermarket. Shampoos were provided, but they were also in foil packs, so we provided our own. The bathtub was rather old, but clean enough with a decent shower head (that could use some decalcifying) and there was a rather large rust stain next to the drain that didn't affect anything but could be cleaned. The towels provided were nice. There is no daily replacement of towels or other supplies, though you can simply go downstairs to a cupboard that holds toilet tissue and towels, among other things if needed.

We needed to do some laundry (having been at a conference earlier in the week), but the day we tried, the communal washer and dryer were full of sheets, towels and clearing supplies from the morning's cleaning. Apparently whomever was working that morning simply left everything there. We got by, but it was an inconvenience we hadn't expected. Yes, we could have pulled everything out and dumped it somewhere, but that wouldn't have been appropriate.

Other than doors closing, there was fairly little noise, though our first morning found us awaking to the dulcet tones of a weedwhacker and a mower; another night had an odd mechanical noise we never could identify that kept my wife up part of the night. Our suite's jalousie windows were basically OK, though one of them wouldn't close all the way, meaning the A/C was leaking out a bit, but not enough to cause much of a problem. The door to our suite wasn't exactly the best fitting I've ever seen, leaking a lot of light from the shared foyer with the other suite on our end of the 2nd floor. Again, not that much of a problem in the long run, but cosmetically a little problematic. The view from our suite's windows was basically of banana tree leaves, pines and palms. Very peaceful.

Overall, a good and fairly reasonable experience. IF they'd fix the issues with the furniture, get a newer fridge with an icemaker and modernize the bathroom a little bit, it'd really be a wonderful deal.

Room Tip: IF you have physical issues, avoid the 2nd-floor suites as the stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Went here with 2 adults and 4 children. Was a very clean condo close to the beach. Very nice people own it. The only negative is that there is not enough parking. A few times we had to wait for visitors to leave in order to get a parking space. Stayed here 5 nights. Was one of my favorite places ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The place certainly is unique. No desk or anything, but it wasn't needed. Just pick letter with room number up in a mailbox. Problem was mailbox was on 2nd floor. I had requeasted 1st floor room. My husband and I both have medical issues which made going upstairs difficult.. Our room? 2nd floor. Well, with the help of another guest, we were able to get things up stairs. The poor woman who helped us, fell down about 4 steps on her back. She also hit her head. Note, steps are extremely slippery when wet. The room was really cute. And really small. We didn't mind the size, since we are local and were only there overnite for friends' wedding. Main problem came, when I attempted to get into the bed, I honestly couldn't. I'm very short, and the bed actually came up to my chest. Plus due to a leg problem, can't exactly jump. But we managed, with my husband's help. Minor issue is no reading light, which would be nice. Major problem was parking situation. Absolutely, had alot more cars than rooms. I didn't get towed so that was ok. Good thing I had couple drinks and was mellowed out, so not much bothered me. If I need to stay on Lido for any reason, wouldn't hesitate to book there again. Just would go directly thru place itself rather than online booking agency. Just a suggestion, if all beds are that high, little stool would have been great, and maybe a sign making people aware how slippery steps are.

Room Tip: see my suggestions above. Place is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here on Wednesday, June 25, 2014. On the down side, like many older establishments, the walls were thin in our guest room. If there are kids around, which there were, you might want to adjust the romance accordingly.

On the plus side, the room that we had was SPOTLESS! The Queen Bed and pillows were very comfortable. We rented the small room as we were not planning on being in it too much and we found they packed a lot in a little space. We did not see the owners, but a binder with the "Best Of's" in the area was put together by them (Way better than the usual paid advertisements) and their phone numbers with the promise of 24 hour contact if needed was emphasized. Rules had quiet hours from 11pm-7am and even the kids next door had no problem following this. Best part for us was the short walk to Lido Beach. It is legal to have alcohol on Sarasota County Beaches (please, no glass) which makes for some wonderful sunsets! This Inn is nestled in a VERY EXCLUSIVE neighborhood with multi-million dollar homes surrounding it.
This Inn may not be the "Ritz Carlton", but If you don't think you are getting a good deal, ask anyone on the beach what they are paying. We will be back and stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lido Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Lido Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.