We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Islander Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Lido Islander Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Parrish, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Islander Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The place certainly is unique. No desk or anything, but it wasn't needed. Just pick letter with room number up in a mailbox. Problem was mailbox was on 2nd floor. I had requeasted 1st floor room. My husband and I both have medical issues which made going upstairs difficult.. Our room? 2nd floor. Well, with the help of another guest, we were able to get things up stairs. The poor woman who helped us, fell down about 4 steps on her back. She also hit her head. Note, steps are extremely slippery when wet. The room was really cute. And really small. We didn't mind the size, since we are local and were only there overnite for friends' wedding. Main problem came, when I attempted to get into the bed, I honestly couldn't. I'm very short, and the bed actually came up to my chest. Plus due to a leg problem, can't exactly jump. But we managed, with my husband's help. Minor issue is no reading light, which would be nice. Major problem was parking situation. Absolutely, had alot more cars than rooms. I didn't get towed so that was ok. Good thing I had couple drinks and was mellowed out, so not much bothered me. If I need to stay on Lido for any reason, wouldn't hesitate to book there again. Just would go directly thru place itself rather than online booking agency. Just a suggestion, if all beds are that high, little stool would have been great, and maybe a sign making people aware how slippery steps are.

Room Tip: see my suggestions above. Place is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    32
    15
    26
See reviews for
37
82
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here on Wednesday, June 25, 2014. On the down side, like many older establishments, the walls were thin in our guest room. If there are kids around, which there were, you might want to adjust the romance accordingly.

On the plus side, the room that we had was SPOTLESS! The Queen Bed and pillows were very comfortable. We rented the small room as we were not planning on being in it too much and we found they packed a lot in a little space. We did not see the owners, but a binder with the "Best Of's" in the area was put together by them (Way better than the usual paid advertisements) and their phone numbers with the promise of 24 hour contact if needed was emphasized. Rules had quiet hours from 11pm-7am and even the kids next door had no problem following this. Best part for us was the short walk to Lido Beach. It is legal to have alcohol on Sarasota County Beaches (please, no glass) which makes for some wonderful sunsets! This Inn is nestled in a VERY EXCLUSIVE neighborhood with multi-million dollar homes surrounding it.
This Inn may not be the "Ritz Carlton", but If you don't think you are getting a good deal, ask anyone on the beach what they are paying. We will be back and stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Room was nice and clean . But , parking is AWEFUL . Hardly any room to park when other guests are there . And property is messy .Rooms are close together and noise carries far easily . I was hot the entire time I was there . And there is no front desk person , you check your self in and if you have problems you have a phone number to call . I think the worst part was getting awoken at 8 am to hammering in the room next door . Stayed there for my brothers wedding . Next time I will just stay in a REAL hotel . Will be cheaper and a better experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This property has an excellent location and I could not help but notice that there had been some updating in the suite. Someone had done a great job of decorating and updating the suite but the problem is that the maintenance (housekeeping) has done a poor job of keeping the property maintained. It's a shame to see the hard work of refurbishing the property go to waste. There was a missing door handle on the microwave, the bathtub needed maintenance and the windows were not secure. The window screens needed to be replaced. The other con is that the housekeepers do some of their prepping right outside the rooms. This becomes noisy. If these problems were addressed and rectified this would be a great property!!!!

Room Tip: I had a 2-bedroom suite that was on the bottom floor. If you stay I highly recommend this suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and the decor of the room. We are sorry to hear about the issues in your room, those maintenance issues are being corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lido Islander was the perfect place to stay! When you first pull up, you may be a bit skeptical as we were...but once we walked into our room- we were pleasantly surprised. We were in the one bedroom condo which includes a king size bed, bathroom, full kitchen, living room, and dining area. This was just the amount of space we were looking for and location. All of the rooms were clean and organized and comfortable.
The room was just as it is shown in the pictures and the host (Dan) and staff (Susan and Nikki) were always available to help answer questions and give tips. They even have chairs, toys, and other beach items to enjoy during your stay. Also, they a super cute area where you can relax under the palm trees and beautiful flowers to read a book, enjoy some coffee, or grill.

Just as described, Lido Islander is located in a fabulous neighborhood and was a short walk to the beach and to St. Armand's Circle (about a 7 min walk). Fabulous restaurants were so close- no need to drive (unless you are wearing heels!). We did rent a car at the airport, (Chevy Spark- I mention because it only cost us $7.87 to fill- we only used two gallons of gas!)- anyways, renting a car at the airport (25 min away) was a great idea because we were able to go to the grocery store (10 min away), Botanical Gardens (12 min away) and we drove down to Siesta Keys (25 min away).

Overall, our experience with Lido Islander was excellent and look forward to going back.

Lido Islander One Bedroom Suite Pictures: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/2400818?fb_action_ids=10203777040167939&fb_action_types=airbedandbreakfast%3Abook

Room Tip: Some suggestions for future visitors: We were on the second floor which eliminated us from hearing c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a perfect place to stay when vacationing in Sarasota. A few blocks from St. Armand's Cricle, literally around the corner from the most perfect little spot of Lido Beach. Great sand, clear water, small personal beach. The place itself was very nice. Comfortable bed and couches, a full kitchen, and a clean bathroom. We really felt at home the whole week. Although there aren't housekeepers that clean the room everyday, that's what gives it an at home feel. Parking lot out from, security cameras, and a communal patio. It will be as clean as you want to make it. It is among an amazing neighborhood with beautiful houses. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The drive alone is worth the visit, one home after another was breathtaking. The view crossing the bridge is magical. The building itself is modest, much cuter on the inside than appears on the outside. But once inside, this place comes to life with the feeling of "beach cottage and stay ~a~ while" life! The bed is a Cali king size, the sofa is a pull out sleeper as well. The kitchen contains Potts, pan, plate ware and everything was very clean and comfortable. The Lido Inn is a short walk from a beautiful beach, and the St.Armand circle, full of shops and restaurants. There are several busy ice cream places that make their own caramel, fudge, waffle cones and treats...a must do for those with a sweet tooth.we stopped by the art gallery and was greeted by the friendliest and most informative advisor. Dan, the owner of the inn, answered each time I called and didn't hesitate in providing us with ideas on best tiki bars in walking distance, and his favorites as well including The Salty Dog and O'Learys.
Just across the bridge in Sarasota, we had breakfast at a cute French bistro called C'et La Vie. Crepes, Quiche, salad, and omlettes. Everything was delicious!!! Following that, we strolled along the little town in Siesta Key, popping I'm and out of boutique stores and collecting little trinkets of memorabilia as we went. Then, finally, the long nap on the beautiful Siesta Key beach. Not a cloud in the sky, not a sad face to be seen. Miles of beautiful sand framed by colorful homes in the back drop. Surprisingly, lots of fishermen wading in the water, which was below the waste. One of them caught a fish at least three feet, a big strong silver fish. He managed to get it to shore on the line, where a group of amazed on lookers waited to see it.once he got the hook out, he guided it back to sea. I was relieved...
The Lido inn is the perfect price in the perfect spot for a romantic weekend, family vacation or a girls trip like we did! Id stay there again and again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lido Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.