We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many things to be aware of prior to booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Lido Islander Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Many things to be aware of prior to booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pros:
The Lido Islander is only two blocks from the beach.
It is inexpensive lodging when you consider the location
There is a grill and a patio area. We met some fun people
The wireless internet is fast
You can walk to St Armands circle if you are into that sort of shopping and dining scene

Cons:
We stayed there 5 days and they never changed the sheets or even made up the room. No new towels, no vacuuming, no emptying the trash. If there are any left, you might find towels in a cabinet outside. Same with tp. We used the last roll.
The complex has central air and heat. You do not have a thermostat. One night when it was chilly outside, the heat came on and stayed on all night. It must have been 80 in our room. Balancing on a chair at 2 am, I tried somewhat unsuccessfully to close the vent in our room. We ended up opening the windows. The next night the a/c came on and froze us all night. The next morning we called the manager (who does not reside on the premises) and asked him to please fix the heat and get us an extra blanket. He did get us an extra blanket, but he took it from one of the other guest's rooms.
There are no grocery stores on Lido. So if you are trying to make a meal for yourself you need to drive to Long Boat Key or back into Sarasota. In season, this can take anywhere from 15 minutes to over an hour. One way.
Despite essentially having a kitchenette (the unit has a microwave, fridge, toaster, coffeemaker, and the outdoor grill), there are no supplies other than dishes and utensils. Since you will be held responsible for washing said dishes (in the bathroom sink), under penalty of additional charges if left dirty, you will need to buy staples like dish soap, paper towels, etc.

All things considered, I would probably not stay here again. Admittedly, it is difficult to find anything in season that is reasonably priced (the room we rent out of season on Siesta Key for $125 per night, is $345 in season). But unless you are just going to hole up on Lido and eat all your meals out at local restaurants on the circle, it might make more sense to book a room on the mainland and drive out to Siesta Key for a day at the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our property is a self-catering vacation rental, meaning we do not provide daily cleaning services. During your stay, we do provide fresh towels and sheets, we have a supply cabinet where you can help yourself or we have a wonderful staff on site daily to assist you. While you stayed in our Guest Room, our smallest and most affordable unit, our larger suites have the amenities that you said were lacking in your own room. The suites have a fully stocked kitchen to cook all of your meals, with central ac/heat with individual control in the unit. We do offer a number of different size units, ranging from the small and basic to fully stocked suites with full kitchens, providing an affordable choice in one of the most exclusive areas in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    58
    35
    17
    30
See reviews for
45
86
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for business on the Boulevard and 5a is a perfect little no frills room at a great price. Nice decorations, bed was VERY comfortable, all in a nice quiet neighborhood. I am a woman traveling alone and felt safe. Nice walk to the beach. Staff was wonderful and friendly. I will stay here on future trips also!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This location is perfect for families - we were able to stay with our two young kids and have a convenient location. Being able to walk to St. Armands and the beach can't be beat! The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated - just a few minor issues with the floor being dirty and some of the kitchen items being dated. We definitely would recommend this reasonably priced location to other families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was unable to keep my reservatin because of health reasons. I called and spoke to Dan (3 months before the vacation date) and he assured me it would be taken care of. I was charged and again Dan said he would look into the cancellation and credit me back. I have not received my refund!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We have tried to contact you a couple of times but you never replied. Please contact us, so we may get more information about your stay. Awaiting your reply. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a small, older place on LIdo Key, a Key that has grown much ritzier. Pluses- It is cheap, compared to other options on the Keys. It is walking distance to the beach, and to St. Armand's Place, the local shopping and dining center. One free parking place comes with the rental. The furniture is solid, if not always stylish. The beds are firm, and the place is clean. Minuses- the walls, towels and sheets are thin. The WiFi is sloooow. The kitchenware is a complete mish-mash, from flatware to pots and pans. There was a fridge, stove, coffeemaker and toaster. No blender. Whether it is worth it will depend on your expectations. If you just want to be near the beach and need a place to lay your head (and do not expect great views or luxury) this is your spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed recently for the Holidays, fantastic place! I love the hands off, no hassle check in! The only staff member I met was a lovely lady who came to wash towels and clean up in the mornings. She was very kind and helpful. For me personally, the WIFI worked well, but it's worth noting that my other friends kept losing their connections (worked sometimes). No one cared too terribly much though as we were mostly there to play at the beach. Lido beach is very nice! Very clean. The walk there and back is very reasonable. The sunset is not to be missed. The kitchen is a small but nice space in which to cook. The bed is very comfy! Overall a great clean little hideaway by the ocean. I would most definetly stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Delton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place is a hands off management type of place. Clean and quiet. Furnishings are simple. The place is a little run down but not in bad shape. Our kitchen had a microwave and fridge and simple dishes. Roll out couch was comfortable. The place is a 5 min walk from Lido beach which is a great beach. Beautiful sand and not too crowded, especially weekdays. Its a 10 min. walk from St. Armand's circle, if your the shopping type.The inn doesn't have any views, it's situated between houses in the neighborhood. Overall a good "getaway" place for the price. Warning: taxis to the mainland are EXPENSIVE. Like $20 to go 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lido Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.