We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks

Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks
7523 South Tamiami Trail, South trail Plaza, Sarasota, FL
+1 941-926-0441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 848 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
SRQ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

May be 'cause we're from Chicago, but we have eaten the real deal in Philly. These are 'pretty good' but not over the moon. No fountain drinks and fries aren't my liking, but nice family-run business and supporting these over chains is always a positive choice!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    15
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteaks in Sarasota ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is by far the best cheesesteak I have had ever since I lived back home in Philadelphia. They use Amarosa hoagie rolls imported from Philadelphia and 100% rib eye beef. They are moist and the flavor is amazing. If you want a taste of Philly without leaving Sarasota then go on into Gentile Bros. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best cheeseste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this place after seeing a menu. We lived in South Jersey for a few years and experienced authentic Philadelphia cheesesteaks, which are hard to find elsewhere. We ordered a cheesesteak and an eggplant/mozzarella and marinara hoagie. They were both delicious. The bread is flown in from Philly, the marinara is homemade and the steak is top quality. The owner and his son are very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them. We will definitely be back! Try this little gem, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Haze, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Philly cheese right here in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here three times -just found the place a month ago

River with wiz n great onion i'm addicted


Only disappointment
the fries - order chips - fries might be coated in rice flour or something
if this place used real spuds I would come more often
the sandwich is fab

The guys are great really concerned that their customers are happy

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Philly Cheese Steak in Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Clean and Friendly Atmosphere with Fresh Food. True Philly Cheese Steak Sandwich with Cherry Peppers on the side! They fly the bread in so it has to be great!! Very good prices and they offer delivery. These guys got it right!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.