We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicken Madiera, Recently reopened restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Revelry Pub & Grill

Revelry Pub & Grill
3005 University Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34243
+1 941-355-1218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American, British, Gastropub, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Madiera, Recently reopened restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Restaurant with bar area recently reopened in neighborhood. Chicken Madiera was delicious, as well as the entrees ordered by three others in the party. Service was good, and not rushed. Staff attentive to orders. Extensive menu and drinks. There are a few bistro tables and chairs outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Freshly made food. Great bread.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the roast beef dip (amazing). The jerk chicken had a nice flavour and the mango hot chicken wings were great. The service was very good and the quality of the food was great. Lots of good beers to select from and they have happy hours. The kids had the pizza and the ate it all. This was our first experience at revelry and we will back again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"I can't believe you ate all that!" said our server...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went with a friend - both of us 20-something females in our gym clothes - and sat at a table in the pub area. There were a few people at the bar and at the tables near the bar but no one else at any of the tables near us (by the fireplace). They had a Happy Hour special until 7pm, and we got there just in time to get some specialty beers at a discount (applies to those marked with "HH" on the menu).

We spent a long time perusing the menu and eventually ordered two appetizers, two entrees, and would later order two desserts. Our server - Katie? Kelly? some K-name with "ey" on the end - was attentive but indifferent to us, giving us no enthusiasm whatsoever. We noticed this because when a group of four older folks who had been at the bar for quite a while sat at a nearby table to have dinner, she flipped a switch and was so nice and outgoing with them. The most we got out of her was her asking about the gym we go to and her telling us "I can't believe you ate all that!" (which, if you're reading this, I recommend you NEVER say that ever again to a restaurant patron!)

On to the food:
For appetizers, we got the Stilton Tart and the Mango Curry Hot Wings. The tart was good, but I wouldn't order it again simply because the plate was half "salad" and half tart, and I'm not a salad girl. The Mango Curry Hot Wings were good too, but the description is somewhat misleading: "hot curry rubbed wings dipped in mango chutney hot sauce." We were expecting a side of this mango chutney hot sauce and that it would be chunky like a dip. Actually, the wings were dunked in the sauce and served with a side of ranch. We asked for more sauce (which took a while to arrive, as our server forgot). P.S. The sauce is actually HOT.

For entrees we ordered the Short Rib and Mushroom Pie and the Salt Roasted Duck Breast with Caramel Sauce. I had the smashed potatoes with my duck, and my friend had the vegetable of the day, which was a shredded cabbage ordeal that she said was "okay". Her dish was AMAZING! Tender short rib and a perfect puff pastry. My duck was cooked perfectly and was so tender, but was not my favorite flavor combo (too much salt for my taste - my own fault since it's right there in the title).

Desserts were Coconut Panna Cotta and Sticky Toffee Pudding. Panna Cotta was "meh" and would not order it again. Sticky Toffee Pudding was AMAZING! Do not be turned off by "date cake" because I hesitated, then tried it. "Dates? What dates??" I would visit this pub just for a quick beer and sticky toffee pudding!

All in all, the food was great, but the service was just okay and left us wondering if we were being discriminated against because we were - what? young? in gym clothes?? We spent almost $100 bucks, so it couldn't be that...

**Will go back and try a different appetizer but will order the Short Rib and Mushroom Pie and Sticky Toffee Pudding again, and I suggest you do the same!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New Pub in Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Droped in to try for early dinner. Waitress seemed new and unsure of herself. Service was slow. Had pizza and other light food which was ok...just ok. Atomosphere warm and inviting. Lounge/bar looked comfortable.....nice decor---we ate in dining area. We may try again to see if we have a different experience but not anxious to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great experience they food was good and the service excellent ,the bartender was friendly and efficient. Good beers , the pizza was great but the shrimp and avocado ceviche needed a more spices. Over all good place to stop by for a quick meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revelry Pub & Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Revelry Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revelry Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.