We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island House Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Island House Beach Resort to your Saves list
Island House Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6150 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242   |  
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonder vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family and I have visited 3 or 4 times. Love it. Great place!!!! Wonder grounds great beach!! Great people running it. Clean! Can't wait to return!!! We didn't use pool we are beach people. They have chairs for guest. Amazing sunset. Some have been updated more than others. A lot of families return every year

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know when you would like to return.

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed in #10 b with another couple. It was a very clean and great location. The kitchen had all the equipment needed to make our stay very enjoyable. This property is close to other shops and dinning. The beach here is was very nice. We really enjoyed our time here and will for sure come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know when you would like to return.

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were able to secure 10S due to a cancellation. I emailed Scott, the manager, and he was quick to respond and work out the details. When we arrived to 10S, we were very impressed. It looked as though this condo had been furnished for someone living there first, and then rented (which I believe is the case). There was a glass dining table, beautiful dark wood furniture and leather couches/recliners with all the extras, down to the large candle holders, large antique wall clock, and beautiful pictures. The bedrooms had plenty of space and the bathroom were large – loved the large shower in the master bedroom. The kitchen was completely stocked with all you need, as well as things you don’t normally use but had just in case (blender for frozen drinks, large electric griddle, spices for cooking, etc.). We used the large crockpot for meals more than once….great to be able to put your dinner in the pot in the morning and then go to the beach while it cooks all day. The TVs were large, and the internet service was fast and reliable. The condo also had easy access to the beach…maybe 30 seconds to walk. The outside glassed-in room was great for keeping our beach stuff and we had an excellent view of the beach. The pool is at the front. It is large, but also heated – kind of warm for this time of year.
Siesta Key is voted as one of the top beaches in the USA each year, and it is easy to see why. Lovely white sands (that really stay cool in the heat of the day), beaches are very clean, water is clear (can stand up to your chest and still see the shells on the ocean floor), and the waves are a great size for boogie boarding for the kids.
If you visit Island House Beach Resort, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a great, family place that is fully furnished and looks just like a home instead of a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Island House. Look forward to seeing you next year! All the Best!

Regards,

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My family and I stayed in villa 34 which is not on the beach. It's not even beachfront view. It's about a 3 minute walk to get to the beach, which they don't tell you. That wasn't really a big deal to us, although we would of liked to of known that before we booked. The villa that we stayed in was clean, but in need of MAJOR updating! The fridge was barely working and took 2 full days to get our food sorta cold, and also, the air conditioning unit took a good 24 hours to get the villa down to a mere 72 degrees!! All the appliances were in working order but very old. Beds were horrible!! I do not think I ever slept on a more old, uncomfortable mattress in my life!! This particular villa was overpriced for what it offered. Since it was not beachfront, very old, and in need of MAJOR updates, I will not stay in this villa again. I may opt for the condos next time, which you can get directed located on the beach.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the comments. I am confused that you said the unit is not on the beach. We always inform our guests that the villas do not have a view of the water. You did not have to cross any roads to get to the beach, so I am not sure what you mean that it is not on the beach. The villas bathrooms were just remodeled, new carpet was installed 2 months ago and the kitchen is scheduled for a full remodel in the next few months. The unit was just sold and the new owner is getting it in great shape, just could not be done all at once. As for the ac, 72 degrees is a very comfortable temperature and the unit is less than 1 year old. Keep in mind, you were here in the summertime. I walked from the unit today to the beach and it took me 30 seconds so the 3 minute walk is a exaggeration. This is the first complaint I have had about the beds, I will check them out as soon as I can.
Sincerely,

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in V3; it was very clean, comfortable and very well furnished. The AC worked very well given how hot it was. The villa had everything needed to prepare meals. Only a five minute walk to a beautiful beach with plenty of beach chairs. You will need beach towels and a umbrella. The property is very convenient to many restaurants, bars and the Publix supermarket is across the bridge only 10 minutes away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know when you would like to return. All the best!

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

stayed over easter in villa 37 it was fanatastic,newly furnished and agreat location.Halfway between the white sand beach and the large pool.it was the best vacation weve had,already booked for next year.no place tops this complex

Room Tip: villa 37 was great loved the king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know when you would like to return.

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in May. The unit was very nice and clean. Views are gorgeous!! But, if something goes wrong in your unit GOOD LUCK!! The stove was not working. I called the desk multiple times, the lady working was no help and didn't seem to care. Finally after an email and 2 days later (at 9:00 PM) the very friendly and helpful maintenance man came by and fixed the breaker and some other small problems. If it wasn't for his kindness we would have has a bad week and all groceries thrown out, not just 2 days worth. No call form a manager ever!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siestakey36, Manager at Island House Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Leslie, thank you for the comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you had an issue with the stove.You checked in on May 25th and our office was only open until 2 and we were closed for Memorial Day on Monday. When you called the office to report it, you did not follow the correct steps as instructed on the voice mail, therefore your call was never paged out as an emergency. That is why the response time was longer than it should have been. My maintenance came down and got the stove working for you. We called the unit numerous times and we did not receive any answer so your comment that we never called is incorrect. We take pride in our service at Island House and if you look at the hundreds of reviews on Flipkey and Tripadvisor, you will see that. Once again, I am sorry for the issue you had.

Sincerely,

Scott Holland
Office Manager
Island House Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Beach Resort

Address: 6150 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Island House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.