We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Chef Guiseppe isn't satisfied he won't allow the dish to be served” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangia Italiano The Usual Place - CLOSED

Mangia Italiano The Usual Place
2157 Siesta Drive, Sarasota, FL 34239
+1 941-284-2477
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If Chef Guiseppe isn't satisfied he won't allow the dish to be served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Sarasota is host to a variety of Italian restaurants which can be confusing when trying to find the real McCoy that is one that serves authentic Italian food (not American Italian), has a simpatico staff, and allows you to eat your meal Italian style - that is eating at a leisurely pace without feeling rushed. The Usual Place meets all of these requirements and more. The food is outstanding - be it a "special of the day" or from their menu. The owner's wife and or Hernando will greet you at the door and make you feel very welcome. If you are lucky you'll even get to meet Matilda who makes you realize this is a terrific family affair. The Happy Hour menu is one of the best in Sarasota allowing patrons to eat a terrific meal along with a glass of wine for a price everyone can afford. We've eaten there several times and last night went with a group of 12 - we all ordered different dishes and each one was fabulous. In all of our visits to this restaurant - we have yet to have a bad dish and learned why when we happened to see Chef Guiseppe throw out some food. It was then that we learned "if he isn't satisfied, he won't allow the dish to be served." The owners come from Rome and if you want to converse with Guiseppe you'll have to speak Italian but all of the others have a knowledge of English. Is it any wonder that when someone asks us where we like to go out to eat we often reply at "The Usual Place."

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    15
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
“the icing on the cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

we returned to this corner of Italy in Sarasota. Now everything has changed, from the tables to the new "cocktail bar". the room is really hot now. will be the owner advised us to record a starter .... pizza by the Yard, full of Italian cold cuts, something amazing. for later, a wide range of special of the day. every one of us has taken a different, all delicious and a good presentation. this place a little 'hidden but a few steps from 41 and siesta drive. in front of the mall. our place is becoming habit. and do not forget the delicious homemade sangria .... highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best New Jersey Italian food in FLORIDA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Good Italian food (restaurant) is difficult to find in Florida even though Sarasota has a few of them. Fabulous Italian food was unthinkable UNTIL I went to Mangia Italiano The Usual Place!! The food was fabulous!!! An excellent & affordable wine list; the most delicious bread; the fabulous & creamy mozzarella in the appetizer - I was thrilled!!! I had spaghetti with clams that was so good!!! Nice sized clams with just the right amount of sauce (gravy) with pasta cooked perfectly!! I couldn't believe it was all so delicious!! The menu has a wide variety of items and all priced very reasonably (with good sized portions). The staff was very nice and explained the specials very well. Attractive atmosphere, nicely decorated. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This may become MY Usual Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had dinner here the other night with my wife and it was delightful and delicious! I ordered the veal marsala and my wife ordered the ravioli. The veal came with green beans and it was excellent. The ravioli was hand made and stuffed with spinach and ricotta cheese. The appetizer was stuffed mozzarella cheese which was handmade with buffalo milk and it was smooth and buttery - the real thing! Dinner for two with two glasses of wine, one appetizer, tax, and tip came to $79. Well worth it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My first visit for lunch was a confirmation that this will be one of my favorites. Nearby the mall, it's worth the trip to experience authentic Italian food. The eggplant was wonderful, the service was perfect.. Checking back but not rushing us at all.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Italiano The Usual Place also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangia Italiano The Usual Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.