We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosimo's

Cosimo's
5501 Palmer Crossing Circle, Sarasota, FL 34233
941-922-7999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: An upscale trattoria atmosphere serving a blend of classic and new world Italian comfort food with a multi-cultural twist; feature homemade pastas, salads,and wood-fired gourmet pizzas. Takeout, outdoor seating, catering, and gluten-free menu available.
West Chester, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ate here with DW several weeks ago on a Friday. Had the Italian Sausage pizza and it was divine. Best pizza I have had in the area with possible exception of Shaner's which is now closed.
Definitely will make a return trip here next time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Despite the stark and cavernous interior, my wife enjoyed the best pasta with clams she ever had, and my pasta with seafood was also outstanding. Surprisingly extensive beer and wine offerings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner, with a few glitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Three of us dined for the first time here. The waitress was a bit confusing in her explanation of the "dinner for two special" but we finally got it. We ordered the pumpkin ravioli, soup, Caesar salad, crime brûlée, and a Pinot Grigio. All were delicious, and beautifully plated. Unfortunately, I was still actively eating my salad when the waitress appeared with the main course. The place was not that crowded at the time, and line of sight from the serving area was clear. She should have waited a couple of minutes. At the time for dessert, my husband asked for a cup of coffee with dessert. The dessert came a full 5 minutes before the coffee. Again, I could see no reason for this unless they were out of coffee, in which case they could have held the dessert and explained the delay.

All in all, though, the restaurant was more than satisfactory and we would go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“New location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great pizza and good selection of draught beers. Great deal for39.95 dollars 3 course and a bottle of wine for two

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Two great experiences in one week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Bolognese was as good as I've had anywhere and if you like spicy the seafood tortellini alla diavalo is a real treat. Service was excellent each time. This place is a keeper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosimo's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cosimo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosimo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.