We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for Custard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetberries

Sweetberries
2881 Clark Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231-6296
(941) 929-7322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 828 Restaurants in Sarasota
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best place for Custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We live close by and this is one of our favorite places to stop abd have ice cream, well in this case custard...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fresh, homemade, delish little spot for casual food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The lunch menu is fresh, healthy and delicious. That's the good calories, then there was the rich, luscious custard with hot fudge and homemade whip cream....this place is great! I love the chocolate.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really great custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

You can't go wrong with this frozen custard. Plain or with the mix ins, it's just great. Service is usually friendly. Don't know what they have going on with the septic system, but the bathrooms are sometimes stinky, though. Only fly in the ointment, so if you can avoid using the loo, it's all good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing frozen custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had never had frozen custard before trying Sweetberries but I can't imagine it gets much better than this. They do this little trick when they hand you your order. They turn it upside down so you can see how thick it is. Very tasty and lots of variety and choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The whole reason we went to Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Frozen custard is always great but the custard at Sweetberries is AMAZING! This was our third trip there and the whole reason we chose to visit a beach in Sarasota - I had a hankering for some custard! I have tried a variety of the custard with mix-ins but I think that their flavours of the day are always the best way to go. They are so delicious - my favorite so far is the toasted coconut almond chip but the caramel crunch was terrific as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetberries also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweetberries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetberries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.