We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TooJay's

TooJay's
3501 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34239-6109
941-362-3692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Atlanta, GA 30062
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Lots to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you can stand waiting on line for quite some time from 11-2, you will enjoy the restaurant. There is an extensive menu and the portions are very large. The prices were rather high, but you DO get a lot for the money.

Hopefully, you'll get a good waiter. If you don't, it will add to the irritation of waiting so long to even get seated!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Decent at most for a "gourmet" deli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Deli it is gourmet it is not, except for one item. We had a dinner there with of course the expectation that this was a family/Deli style restaurant. Staff tried very hard to please us and while the service was ok the food was I would say tasteless except for mash potatoes and the cheese cake which was border line perfect. We certainly will never visit this deli again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Toojay is ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I arrived and was greeted pretty quick. Service was ok at best. I had an appetizer. It arrived in good timing. The entree was a burger. I thought it was good and would order it again. I enjoyed the atmosphere. I thought the menu was a bit much. Too many choices. I would go back for the burger.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice,FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Always consistent great food no matter when you go.SAlads are awesome, desserts great. Also, take out is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, Unfriendly Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stopped in with 5 people on a busy Saturday evening. Hostess at front of house was very rude. After being seated, we had no napkins, no silverware, nothing at all.Took over 45 min from the time we were seated until everyone's food was served. We asked to speak to the manager and were repeatedly ignored until we hailed a busboy, who was helpful. Manager was sympathetic and offered a discount and dessert to make amends, but we will think twice before coming back here again! Staff needs training on how to treat customers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TooJay's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to TooJay's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TooJay's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.