We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on every visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TooJay's

TooJay's
3501 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34239-6109
941-362-3692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 795 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good on every visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Never varies good breakfast served by nice professional servers. Always good selection at reasonable cost

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Used for catering .. very good service, value and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a very good experience setting up a short notice catering event with Toojays. The staff was accommodating and the food was delivered on time for a reasonable price. The guests liked it. The only downside was the place is busy so it took some time to get to place the order.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyhirn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First time, won't be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Food was excellent, service was friendly and prompt, despite the place being packed. Visited during Yom Kippor, so the the place was heaving, had to wait an hour to get a table but well worth it. The waitress, Melanie, was efficient and friendly even though she was rushing around, said we would go back and we did, 2 days later, not so busy this time and the food was just as good. Go there and eat

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very friendly welcome by our server Leslie and she took the time to explain the specials and the make up of some of the drinks. Good food and healthy portion size. Plenty of refills on the drinks. At peak times it gets very busy and a queue quickly builds up but at least whilst waiting you can review the menu.

Good value for the food serviced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I worked for TooJays for 3 years. The food is very good, there is no dispute. The staff is very nice and I care a lot about them..... However my honest review as a customer puts all that aside.

The food is Fantastic, The deserts are to die for, The service was always hit or miss. Even as a manager when I came in with my family we often had things missing from our order or drinks were not as regularly refilled. The food was always worth it though. Its a family place, a bit of a lame setting for dinner with friends or romantic dates. They have a very diverse menu so there was always something for what ever mood you were in. If you go..... START with the deserts. The Sarasota location attracts an older clientele than some other locations so there is an early bird rush and there is typically a wait at lunch time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TooJay's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to TooJay's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TooJay's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.