We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Risotto!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Bar & Restaurant

Broadway Bar & Restaurant
1001 Cocoanut Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34236-2428
(941) 953-4343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #604 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Risotto!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Have eaten here a couple of times recently, after a marginal experience a couple of years ago. The meals recently have been excellent. The Risotto is to "Live" for. The Osso Buco is awesome, as well as several other menu options. Bean and Bacon soup is a winner too. Combine the food with very good service and you will come back again......and again as we have and will do.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    10
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was so yummy <3. I had the eggplant Parmesan , perfect! My hubby had chicken parm. I was almost jealous :) we were greeted by a wonderful young man named Justin, he promptly greeted and sat us, and let us know our server would be right with us. Dawn was our server, very friendly and prompt. She made sure we had everything we ordered perfectly. Her happy manner and attention made our night. Justin is such a hard worker! He was on the ball and effective. Great worker , glad he was a part of our night out. Thank you Dawn and Justin!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

had lunch here. ordered a philly cheese steak sandwich. It was huge and very good. Nice atmosphere and the employees were very friendly. Nice atmosphere too. would definetley go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to BB before going to a show at Van Wezel. Arrived at 6:10, didn't even get soft drinks and water until 6:30. When we placed our order 3 subs came out okay but a spinach salad and cup of soup came out as soup/house salad. The serving waitress took the side salad away promising to correct the order and bring out a spinach. No one ever checked on our table after that point, spinach salad never arrived. We finally asked for our check at 7:25 so that we could make the show! Our kids thought the subs were good and fries were crisp. That's about as positive as I can be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Broadway has REALLY gone downhill!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Disliked it
I have been a regular at the broadway bar since (1979ish) their original location "hole in the wall pub". Food is Meh!--average. Price is expensive--my husband ALWAYS hassles me when I want to go there because he says "FOR WHAT??" Sometimes they have a group of teens play jazz and I like that they support the local talent. Service is often slow but I really like the wait staff and it isn't rocket science right? Who cares. All-in-all good enough until I bought a living social deal and they would not honor it! They wouldn't let me AFTER ALL THESE YEARS --I know the owners-- but they still don't know me!-- buy a pizza "to go" OR buy one & take home the part I couldn't eat. John, the owner said it was against the rules of the deal. I explained this was a deal that I BOUGHT! Not a coupon I clipped and I was a repeat customer for YEARS! YOU KNOW WHAT?? I'm done! Wait staff knows me. Too bad for them I won't be back. I tip well and don't expect much! But now I am offended! BYE BROADWAY!! Wish you had something besides nostalgia to keep me

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Broadway Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.