We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great food, but beware of Hawaiian Butterfish...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roessler's Restaurant

Roessler's Restaurant
2033 Vamo Way, Sarasota, FL 34238-3147
941-966-5688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 796 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, but beware of Hawaiian Butterfish...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was delish but can cause abdominal discomfort. (Escolar is also known as butterfish (incorrectly), Hawaiian butterfish, walu/waloo, or super white tuna). I'll let the reader use discernment.
All the other dishes were amazing and the everything about the place is saying "Great" and therefore the 4 star review. Service was excellent and I will go back and get some of the other dishes that looked fantastic and were great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The restaurant is in a beautiful setting with lovely views from every table. You wouldn't expect to find a restaurant of this caliber in this area. The food was prepared and presented in a beautiful manner. My friend had the schnitzel and it was "the best she ever had". I had the hawaiian butterfish and the fish was moist with an almond sauce. The crab cakes were all crab. The sides that come with each dish were unusual and delicious. The service was excellent and we were not rushed. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion, date or just a treat!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A civilized hideaway in plain view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Roessler's restaurant on Vamo just off S. Tamiami Trail at the southern end of Sarasota is a civilized gem hidden in plain view. Beautifully set tables that are far apart from each other fill several quiet and luxurious rooms. Classical music plays softly in the background. The menu has a variety of rich and traditional dishes - veal sweetbreads, crab cake, fantastic duck in cherry sauce, Weiner schnitzel Holstein, the best Key Lime pie in town. There is also a very nice bistro room with a lighter and less expensive menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The very best resturant in Sarasots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in the area for 14 years and have eaten in most every resturant around. This is the best. Its consistant,great food and proffesional service. Had the crab cakes wife the snapper both were the best! Have no problem recommending this resturant. Ron

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Night out with our daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently went to Roesslers to share an evening with our daughter, who had recently gotten engaged. The staff was really wonderful. The appetizers, crabcakes and escargot, we really just perfect. The main courses were also wonderful as was dessert. We like this place a lot, the atmospere is elastic, can be formal, can be informal - just that kind of place where you can be what you want and it just accomodates you. Ask for "George Clooney" as your waiter - you won't be disappointed, either in him or the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roessler's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roessler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roessler's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.