We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great food, but beware of Hawaiian Butterfish...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roessler's Restaurant

Roessler's Restaurant
2033 Vamo Way, Sarasota, FL 34238-3147
941-966-5688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 795 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, but beware of Hawaiian Butterfish...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was delish but can cause abdominal discomfort. (Escolar is also known as butterfish (incorrectly), Hawaiian butterfish, walu/waloo, or super white tuna). I'll let the reader use discernment.
All the other dishes were amazing and the everything about the place is saying "Great" and therefore the 4 star review. Service was excellent and I will go back and get some of the other dishes that looked fantastic and were great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    22
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The restaurant is in a beautiful setting with lovely views from every table. You wouldn't expect to find a restaurant of this caliber in this area. The food was prepared and presented in a beautiful manner. My friend had the schnitzel and it was "the best she ever had". I had the hawaiian butterfish and the fish was moist with an almond sauce. The crab cakes were all crab. The sides that come with each dish were unusual and delicious. The service was excellent and we were not rushed. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion, date or just a treat!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A civilized hideaway in plain view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Roessler's restaurant on Vamo just off S. Tamiami Trail at the southern end of Sarasota is a civilized gem hidden in plain view. Beautifully set tables that are far apart from each other fill several quiet and luxurious rooms. Classical music plays softly in the background. The menu has a variety of rich and traditional dishes - veal sweetbreads, crab cake, fantastic duck in cherry sauce, Weiner schnitzel Holstein, the best Key Lime pie in town. There is also a very nice bistro room with a lighter and less expensive menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The very best resturant in Sarasots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in the area for 14 years and have eaten in most every resturant around. This is the best. Its consistant,great food and proffesional service. Had the crab cakes wife the snapper both were the best! Have no problem recommending this resturant. Ron

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Night out with our daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently went to Roesslers to share an evening with our daughter, who had recently gotten engaged. The staff was really wonderful. The appetizers, crabcakes and escargot, we really just perfect. The main courses were also wonderful as was dessert. We like this place a lot, the atmospere is elastic, can be formal, can be informal - just that kind of place where you can be what you want and it just accomodates you. Ask for "George Clooney" as your waiter - you won't be disappointed, either in him or the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roessler's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roessler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roessler's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.