We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bene Italiano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Baci

Cafe Baci
4001 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-3647
941-921-4848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Baci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 828 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bee Ridge and Tamiami Trail
Description: At Café Baci, we strive to perfectly recreate the full Italian experience. From the moment you walk through our door, you sense the difference and you feel the culture. The atmosphere here is enchanting and peaceful, the Italian cuisine reminiscent of that created by some of the greatest Italian Chefs. Relax and enjoy your stay with us. Savor the delicate flavors of history. Close your eyes, breathe deeply….you are in Italy, if but only for a moment. Buon appetito!
Boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bene Italiano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Enjoyed a nice meal here prior to a show at the Van Wezel. Atmosphere is comfortable, service was prompt and attentive. We tasted the house wine special, a Rosso, which was quite nice and we ordered a bottle for a very inexpensive $18.00. The Red Snapper, Chilean Sea Bass, and Veal trio dishes were all excellent. The lasagna was very tasty especially if you like a sauce with lots of meat. All portions were generous. The sautéed mussel appetizer was enough for two, and the small portion salads were plenty for one and very fresh.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    166
    47
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch
1 review
“Great food and Great service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Cafe Baci to celebrate Valentine's Day ...and it has been one of our best Restaurant's experiences. We ordered the Calamaris and they were great, the best in town. I specially loved their tiramisu, and the Veal parmesan was excellent!!! The server Kim was very nice and professional. I highly recommend that place to families and couples.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only Took Me 6 Years To Eat Here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been driving by Cafe Baci for the last 6 years and everytime I say to my husband, "We should eat there one day!". However when it comes to making dinner plans we always tend to stick to the chain places in town (I know, UGH, right!?!) and we would always forget about Cafe Baci. Well this past Saturday my 6 year "dream" finally came true. My husband surprised me by making reservations and I was thrilled when we arrived! We were seated at a nice table in the back area, it was at 6:00 PM so it wasn't quite busy yet. We started out by ordering the appetizer on special; Baci Pasta Sachets. O.M.G. It was one of the best things I have EVER eaten. Homemade pasta, filled with four cheese in a truffle cream sauce. If you have ever had any form of the truffle "flavor", you know what I mean. If you haven't, you are totally missing out! It's such a unique flavor. It was $11 for 5 of these small sachets but it was worth every penny. I also ordered a glass of wine, they only have 10 by the glass, so I went with a Reisling. It was wonderful! My husband ordered Chicken Cordon Bleu that was on special and he loved it. I had the Chicken Parmesan. Both of our entree's came with roasted potatoes and green beans which were wonderful. The only mistake I made was not ordering pasta with my meal, as I assumed it would come with it, which is my fault because that is clearly not always the case! In total we spent about $85 including tip, which is mainly due to my $8 glass of wine and our appetizer. I thought for the portions we received that the prices were quite reasonable. We had such a nice meal, great service, great atmosphere. We can't wait to go back! I have really missed out on some amazing meals these past 6 years!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Been around for ages and the food is why”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A bit on the upscale for Italian. $14.95 for pasta and meatballs is "dear" but the good is good and consistent. Easy parking, and always had nice service. Just bring $$$

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“okay, but not great Italian dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The standard italian fare, was good, but not exceptional. The members of our party who had the rack of lamb and fish were barely satisfied with their dinners. The service was excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Baci also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Baci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Baci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.