We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Word of Mouth

Original Word of Mouth
6604 Gateway Ave, Sarasota, FL 34231-5806 (Formerly Word of Mouth)
+1 941-925-2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 795 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Word of Mouth diners are know to come for Word of Mouth's breakfast alone, which features several varieties of pancakes, blintzes, crepes and the awe-inspiring Three Amigos Breakfast Burrito. The lunch menu serves a variety of yummy soups, sandwiches and salads. Open for breakfast and lunch.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a great spot for breakfast. The food is fresh and the setting is casual. The kids enjoy it. Nothing really stands out as good or bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    70
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is our favorite breakfast location when we travel to Siesta Key. There are many traditional choices on the menu as well as variations.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good real food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Four of us went to eat here at noon and were able to order very diverse meals...omelettes, sandwiches and salads. All of the food was basic but well prepared and served with a big smile. We were a bit disappointed when they informed us that they were out of all side pastries that were supposed to come with the meals... Get there early.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Super service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to the location on Osprey for dinner last week. The meal was so good. My husband had the filet mignon special, and I had their meatloaf. Both came with soup or salad and a baked potato and fresh green beans. The homemade soup was served with toasted bagel chips from the breakfast bagels. There was also bread and a dipping sauce. Everyone who worked there was so friendly, and our server couldn't have been nicer. We had a Living Social certificate, and when we were ready to leave, she brought us a muffin and a scone for breakfast to make up the amount that was left.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

this place is def one of my favs. great food, great price and unbelievable service. Christy is one of the nicest women i have ever meet. Always a great time when i go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Word of Mouth also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Original Word of Mouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Word of Mouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.