We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walt's Fish Market Wholesale

Walt's Fish Market Wholesale
4144 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 921-4605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Bellevue, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Joined friends here for supper. They live in Sarasota and wanted to take us to their favorite seafood restaurant. I am so glad they did! We will definitely go again if we are ever lucky enough to be back in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    182
    52
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable fried shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Melt in your mouth shrimp, no chewing required. Go back in time to old Florida and enjoy! This fish market and restaurant serves unbelievable fried shrimp, peel and eat are also good....try the old bay and garlic sauce. Key lime pie not to be missed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool atmosphere, horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

20 minutes before any staff acknowledged us. The only reason was because we flagged a waitress down who wasnt over our section. She told the waiter to wait on us and he was a total jerk. Ordered Hush Puppies for an appetizer and were good. Ordered the fried pick two (grouper & flounder). Grouper was horrible. Very fishy tasting. Never had grouper taste like that, and I order grouper everywhere we eat. The flounder was delicious. Sit outside at the tiki bar, it is the best part of the restaurant. Hope you have better service than we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So happy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've eaten at Walt's Fish Market several times on my trips to Sarasota and I'm always happy. Last night was no exception. I had a special request and our waiter, Chris, made it happen. Thank you again Chris. He was a great waiter, and truly, most of the staff have always been very friendly. Great food, good prices, fun casual atmosphere. Love this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place is a must go to when visiting Sarasota. I live on cape cod and must say I have never had fresher fish or heartier portions for the price! Our server was great sorry I don't recall her name; the owner working hard right with his staff was great to see as well! A complementary fish spread with crackers before the meal was a nice touch. If it had been warmer we would have lingered longer at the outside tiki bar. If you are in the area you must stop for the pleasant surprise. Don't let the vintage sign or the location just off the highway tweak you it is a hidden gem! This place is very close to a 5 rating wish they took AMEX and that would have sealed the deal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt's Fish Market Wholesale also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Walt's Fish Market Wholesale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt's Fish Market Wholesale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.