We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick some up to take home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walt's Fish Market Wholesale

Walt's Fish Market Wholesale
4144 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 921-4605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pick some up to take home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a fish market/restaurant. Has been around for a long, long time. The inside is not fancy but thy added a patio not too long ago if you are looking for a little more "ambience". Because it is a fish market with a wide variety of seafood, you are getting the freshest there is to offer. It is usually pretty busy because it is a local institution, so you might want to hit it in between the most popular hours. They start you with a fabulous smoked mullet spread and crackers...so good. The prices are decent and the portions are large. We were there for lunch last time and I had the mangrove snapper sandwich. It was delicious. We always grab something at the fish market to take home and cook.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    184
    52
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nine of us agreed it was a great meal. Scallops, Salmon, various seafood platters - all were outstanding. Very popular - go early - Walt's is an institution - well loved for good reason. Great service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FRESH SEAFOOD AT LAST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My friend and I went to Walt's Fish Market on a Friday night and the service was superb & no waiting to be seated. Seafood was fresh and was a succulent taste of shrimp. It was worth the price for seafood at today's prices. I highly recommend Walt's Fish Market in Sarasota Fl.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ate there 2x in one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great place for fresh seafood. Went for the smoked mullet. Ate outside in the great chickee patio built by Seminoles. Came back that night with a party of 15. Everyone's meal was very good. Brett, the owner/manager/fish catcher/fish smoker, is the grandson of the founder and is very personable. Great waitstaff. All around great find.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lobster Bisque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We go to Siesta Key every year and this year some friends of ours told us about Walt's having awesome seafood (especially the lobster bisque). The place is very casual and not really a whole lot to write home about. The staff seemed underwhelmed as some others have said. The seafood that I had (fried grouper) was pretty good at a fair price. My wife ordered the lobster bisque and it was outstanding. It had giant chunks of lobster in it and was very tasty. She said she wished she had ordered a bowl instead of a cup. We were both so surprised with how much lobster was in it (instead of just the usual bits). We will be stopping back by there just for that in the future. The seafood "market" case was fully stocked with a large variety of seafood and appeared to be a great place to go to get seafood to take home (although the prices seemed sort of high also). Hopefully if you try this place out the bisque will be just as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt's Fish Market Wholesale also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Walt's Fish Market Wholesale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt's Fish Market Wholesale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.