We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Bill's Seafood

Barnacle Bill's Seafood
1526 Main St., Sarasota, FL 34236-5803
(941) 365-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 819 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We came from varying parts of the US to celebrate my dad's 85th birthday and decided to visit this restaurant as it had a variety of seafood. We happened to be there for early bird which was good because they have a very good variety and the portions are smaller. Overall, our food was very good. The stuffed mushroom appetizer was delicious; however it could have been served at a hotter temperature. The coconut shrimp appetizer was also very good and the mango dipping sauce was perfect. We had the stuffed shrimp, blackened tilapia, seafood strudel, steak, and crab cakes....all were very tasty. Our server was fantastic...making my dad feel special.... serving the dessert with a candle and singing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    47
    59
    31
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AT GREAT PRICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

While there are several locations the downtown restaurant is the best. Seafood is very good... many claim their crab cakes are the best anywhere! I like their blackened tilapia they know how to blacken fish to just the right taste. My wife usually gets their fried fish & chips and she loves it. If you want something other than seafood they have a wide range of other foods as well. They have an Early Bird from 4:00-5:30 pm for $12.99 which includes soup or salad and entree. Great atmosphere as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst tasting Food ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Large Portions, But Food Has Zero, Zero Flavor At All. ThE SaSame Tuna Sounded Good, But No Flavor, Same Wiyh Yhe Salman. The Parmssan Chicken Was Yhe Biggest Chicken I Ever Seen. Did Not Taste That. But Biggest I Ever Seen.
Bread Was Good. The Cocoanut Shrimp Was Tasteless.
Never Had A Blander Meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cleanliness is not on the menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went to Barnacle Bill's hoping to taste the crabcakes they are famous for. Instead I had to give the waiter a lesson in dishwashing and table cleaning. When we sat down the bread plates were dirty. We notified the waiter and they were promptly replaced. As we open the silverware that was napkin wrapped, there was food in the tines of the fork. Again we let the waiter know. He said," Oh, this NEVER happens here". Obviously it does as it was on both plates and silverware. As we ate our meal, we noticed a waitress cleaning a table next to us. Crumbs, salt, spilled food and all went right on the floor and chairs. I guess they all need a lesson in restaurant sanitation standards. The food came out quickly but was lukewarm. The crabcake although good was lukewarm also. I would think twice before going to this establishment again. Even though the food is OK, the unsanitary situation was a huge turn off. I say," eat at your own risk".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The seafood at Barnacle Bills was delicious. They have some very unique dishes. Our server had a complete understanding of the menu, but displayed some arrogance initially. This changed as the meal progressed. The ambiance was excellent. We look forward to dining at Barnacle Bills again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Bill's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle Bill's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Bill's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.