We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, not matched by lovely food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boatyard Waterfront Bar and Grill

Boatyard Waterfront Bar and Grill
1500 Stickney Point Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231-3718
941-921-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #379 of 819 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely location, not matched by lovely food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The location of this restaurant on the Siesta Key intercostal waterway is wonderful, right on the water, with views on the boats.

With such a view, one could expect wonderful food. Sadly, this was not the case. We had the seafood bucket. We got a bucket with crab legs, large prawns and mussels accompanied by potatoes, corn on the cob , all in the bucket. Strange combination.  Presentation left a lot to be desired. While the prawns were extremely fresh, the same could not be said for the crab.

Desert was a cheese cake topped with extremely sweet cream. The cake seemed somewhat plastic, definitely not from the kitchen.

Our serving staff were very efficient and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    44
    38
    22
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good place to eat for lunch with nice views of the water.

Pulled pork sandwiches were really tasty and service is very good.

Something for most on the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We took a chance and were pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

On a road trip from Naples to check out Sarasota, Longboat Key and Siesta Key. 2:00 p.m. - we're starving, cranky and snappy. Time to stop but not to shop it. My husband spots this place and we decide to go for broke. It's on the water so we're ambivalent that the food might be lousy and you were paying for the view but NOT SO! We were both really pleased with the caliber of service and cuisine. Our server was very attentive and my husband was surprised that his blackened mahi mahi sandwich was REAL blackening spices. My Florida Cobb salad was excellent - plenty of shrimp and crabmeat. The view was lovely. It was truly a win-win on food and scenic view. Plenty of menu options, too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We keep going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My last review was in March, I believe. We have been back so many times now. Living just 45 mins away, it is well worth our drive. I have had lunch there 3 or 4 times now. Usually the grouper sandwich, with a glass of red wine for lunch. Dinner also fish, which is always cooked just right.
WOW, always wonderful. The fresh air and the view alone are worth it. I keep taking my out of town guest and family there for dinner, we always are very happy with the service and the meals. They think, it is Florida, we should have great seafood. But I have to tell them, it is hard to find. My two daughters will be here the end of Oct, and we will be sure to bring them here . Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Views, Music, and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose to eat outside so that we could watch the sunset. It was also quieter outside than the inside of the restaurant. We had a rib and shrimp combination dinner that we shared. We also had a pitcher of their in house sangria. The food was delicious, and the service by our waiter was also very good. We never felt like we were rushed to finish our dinner.

For entertainment there was a husband wife team that played guitars and sang in English and Spanish. They performed a wide range of songs: something for everybody. They were wonderful as well as extrememly talented. There were also people dancing inside to the music. There was a small dance floor in front of the bar.

This was a great place to enjoy dinner and relax!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatyard Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Siesta Key, FL
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Boatyard Waterfront Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatyard Waterfront Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.