We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Restaurant

Columbia Restaurant
411 Saint Armands Circle, Sarasota, FL 34236-1492
941 388 3987
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 100 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax outdoors on our patio, or inside our Mediterranean-style dining rooms filled with hand-painted tiles and family heirlooms. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lunch and people watching in a St Armand's circle landmark; it doesn't get much better than here. The pitcher of sangria made table side went down like a tasty punch. The Cuban bread with flavory butter was a good start. Stuffed peppers for the appetizer; yes, get them. My son and I got the paella and it was delicious and plentiful. The wife got Mahi Mahi and loved it (lots of it too). And churos to finish us off. I say finish because we were painfully full, but man, those churos were good. Price wise, they aren't bad, definitely on par with all of the other restaurants in the area. And then you can venture next door and pick up a nice cigar.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    426
    199
    94
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great 1905 salad and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we enjoyed sitting outside and people watching the people walk by on the sidewalk..the salad was great..and i also had the cuban black bean soup..excellent..good service and great food..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family outing to restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First of all, I must tell you that I am of Spanish decent. I went with my 2 children and husband.I have eaten in the most amazing Spanish cafeterias, bistros and restaurants in Spain, I am also a pretty good chef myself when it comes to cooking a paella, so I was disappointed with the Paella Valenciana served at this restaurant. Everything was counted 4 mussels, 4 clams, 4 small scallops 2 white esparagus and chicken was breast that was pre-cut. No chorizo, no pieces of lobster or rocktail lobster and 28$ per person. We started with a 3 appetizer which consisted of Mussles al Andres, Calamaris, and croquettas de pollo, which disappeared quickly but without being noted. Mussles again had very little chorizo and not enough salt. Calamaris frittos were delicious and the croquettas de pollo had to much potato but were crispy and yummy. My son order the chicken tenders from the menu which he said were fine and my daughter with La tortilla espanola and gambas seared in garlic. She said, that the tortilla had way too much egg, and not enough patata tasting more like an omelet and no onions but was good. The shrimps were yummy. My husband and I had the Sangria, and again were disappointed it was too watered down. I suggest you order a bottle of Red Wine. The Churros and Flan were great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“such a good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We got Columbia to go last weekend. We got a few different things and then just split them up. I liked just about everything and we didn't get our usual bread pudding from there which is ridiculously good. The one thing that I was not a big fan of was the paella. A couple things in it have too much of a fishy taste for me, but the rest of it was good. Wish I had a Columbia near me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love the 1905 salad and must go to the Columbia and order it every time I visit Sarasota. During one 4 day visit to Sarasota we ate at the Columbia 3 times! Everything on their menu is great though so can't go wrong no matter what you order. Love, love, love!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.