We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best bar in town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Jack

Marina Jack
2 Marina Plz, Sarasota, FL 34236-8997
941-365-4232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 851 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not the best bar in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Met friends for a drink &nosh @ the bar downstairs. A disappointment. Cocktail hour over @ 6. So we were too late
But friends who were early had drinks that were very "weak"
The prices are high for the food, & the taste & quality were quite
Mundane. And the service was lackluster. We paid the exorbitant
Bill &left very unhappy....never to return!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    181
    98
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“food allergies with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Another restuarant that can handle multiple food allergies. I am vegan and gluten free. The meun includes gluten free foods. We ate upstairs in the waterfront dining area. All 6 of us enjoyed our food. While watching the different colors of the watershoot up between the dophins at the waters edge. We ate the Oysters Rockerfella, crap soup,salad, diver scallops, salmon, chicken and special veggy plate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Had a good lunch in a beautiful location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stopped for lunch. We had the Cuban and also Italian panini. Came with pickles & fries. Both were very good. 2 others had the burger & a chicken wrap. Again very good. I did start with a new england clam chowder which did not have any flavor. Only disappointment. If the soup had been good I would have given them a 5.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“High priced but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This restaurant is located in an attractive building in the harbor of Downtown Sarasota. It has a lower level that is informal and has entertainment. We dined on the upper level, which is very elegant and has a menu that I presume is more expensive. The place is designed such that all tables have a great view of the harbor, which is particularly impressive at sunset.

There is an extensive selection of wishes that are unique, attractively presented, and delicious, typically for prices in the $20 to $40 range. I don't normally like to pay that much, but this restaurant is so truly exceptional that it is worth a splurge.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food and service, fantastic view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

There were 14 of us here for a birthday luncheon. Valet parking is available, otherwise you are required to park in a large lot with a 3 hour limit that is at least a 5 minute walk to the restaurant.
The view from the dining room is spectacular. Many yachts, costing up to $17 million, are tied up outside as you look over the marina and Sarasota Bay.

Service was top notch from beginning to end. Our server was informed at the beginning that separate checks would be necessary and he let us know that it would not be a problem. As guests arrived, they were promptly seated and offered the opportunity to order a beverage.

My wife and I started with a Basil Collins ($12) and a bottle of Negra Modelo ($4.75). They do not sell any draft beers. For our meals we had a Grouper Reuben ($18.95) and a Lunch Special ($17). The Reuben - grilled Florida red grouper topped with sauerkraut, Thousand Island dressing and Swiss cheese on marbled rye bread was plentiful and delicious. It may be difficult to imagine sauerkraut or T.I. dressing on fish, but just the right balance of each actually complemented the fish. The dish also came with a side of french fries and a spear of pickle.

The Special that day was blackened snapper with one diver scallop, served with a dill butter sauce, white rice mixed with carrots, corn and peas, and green beans topped with julienned carrots. The snapper was perfectly cooked, moist, flakey and flavorful. The one scallop was of good size and also properly cooked. A grilled lemon-half was also provided.

Coffee ($2.50/cup) was good but not exceptional. A more robust roast would have been expected after such a good meal as this. Once again, our server, Don, did a phenomenal job of handling such a large group with finesse and professionalism.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Jack also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marina Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Jack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.