We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice In Three Days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar
5353 Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231-4269
941-925-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 795 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
deland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Twice In Three Days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The title of this review says a lot. There are many restaurants in Sarasota, yet I chose to eat at Phillippi Creek Oyster Bar twice in three days. Visiting my sister in Sarasota is always relaxing. Eating out is the icing on the cake. Phillippi is a must if you love seafood in a nautical setting. It is rustic with tables indoors and waterfront dining outdoors. I love the tropical setting. But it's the food you will return for time and again. Both visits, I had the Stuffed Flounder...that good, really. Sisters had stuffed scallops, stuffed shrimp & fried clam strips. Mom had a full lobster. The sides were the usual..Cole slaw, rice, baked potato, etc, BUT all were seasoned well and added to the goodness of our meal. Of course, no decent southern restaurant would forget Hush Puppies and Phillippi's is no exception....exceptional! Yeah, yeah, you can get chicken, filet mignon, or a salad, but really? I must give our waiter, Brian,(both nights) thumbs up. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and always at-the-ready. As a serious foodie & recipe blogger (www.cucinananette.blogspot.com) I would recommend this great oyster bar even if you don't like oysters!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    229
    79
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“sarasota ledgend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

our 21st year of eating at the restuarant have to say our last visit not the most memorable but it was late food was still good i always have the soft shell crabs in season gator was good but they had run out of pasta? think the best time to visit is aroud 6pm but we will be back for the record my favourite appertiser are the raw oysters once ate 36 is that a phillipa creek record well it was my birthday see you all next year

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wandered in on a whim..had a great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really liked their food, prices average. Wait staff seemed rushed and flustered, but gave us decent service. My husband and I both got shrimp boils. We got a Gator bites app which was really good. We both left full and satisfied. I really like the atmosphere of the place, its got both indoor and outdoor seating. The menu is pretty large and offers all kinds of things other than seafood. I would say that this place is best suited for adults, as it has a large bar section, and a seafood based menu. The location is great, right out on the water and the small plaza its tucked into has cute shops and opportunity to enjoy a small stroll after dinner. I'd go again, im anxious to try more of the menu. We watched what others were being served, and a lot of it looked really good

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place was recommended by a "local" and I certainly understand why after eating there. The food was delicious...try those Shrimp, fish, lobster kabobs...yum!! Extra special bonus...the manatees showing off by the docks :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

6 of us were in for dinner the other night & had a great dinner. The service was a bit slow, but the quality of food was good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.