We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Meals in a Five Day Stay: What does that tell ya?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar
5353 Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231-4269
941-925-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 820 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Four Meals in a Five Day Stay: What does that tell ya?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and was not far away along the Tamiami Trail. On our 5 night stay in the area, we ate here 4 times and had their Fried Oysters appetizer all 4 times, always delicious, fresh, and never greasy. Ate a variety of other seafoods, but the other best was the char-grilled Grouper. It is especially fun for lunch, when you can eat out on the deck, right next to the water. Perfect weather (warm with a gentle cooling breeze) added to the great food and made this an experience worth repeating several times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    137
    156
    61
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“teriaki chicken sandwich is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

teriaki chicken sandwich is the best anywhere. service is great. I have gone there by boat and by car. it has been a long time but I have gone many times and always good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oyster Heaven with amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For those of you who like fried oysters, this is the place to go when in the Sarasota area! It is rare to find a restaurant outside of Louisana who knows how to fry them so they remain tender on the inside.....there are also outstanding onion rings, great stone crab claws in season and a giant menu of seafood that's hard to beat anywhere! All served up in a laid back, bring the family, bring a date, bring the gang sort of atmosphere.....I recommend a creek-side table which are very popular. I kept looking for alligators.....they also treated my wife, who has a fish allergy like a queen and suggested a variety of items they could bring specially to her. The Manager there took our order himself.....when you have great food, great staff, the only thing you can have is a positive experience....this restaurant did it for me!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun casual dining on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a party of 10 everyone enjoyed their meal. Snow crabs, scallops, grouper, mussels, seafood combo, and flounder were all good. The onion rings were freshly made and the oysters were delicious. We all topped the evening off with key lime pie.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We heard nothing but good things and were mostly satisfied. Most of the food was awesome bit the crab legs were a little chewy. Drinks were good, service was ok. Our waiter was a bit of a spazz, forgot the drink order and wasn't very personable until he delivered the food, then he wanted to have a conversation, which was a little annoying, right when my dinner arrived. The atmosphere was really cool though. We loved the old boathouse building right there in the creek and we found some of the best souvenirs in there shop and they were all dirt cheap. All in all, I'd recommend stopping by this place if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.