We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carrabba's Italian Grill

Carrabba's Italian Grill
1940 Stickney Pt Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231-8849
(941) 925-7407
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 795 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Recently went with my parents and husband, went early as we knew to expect a crowd and likely a wait after 6:30 PM. Surprisingly great! I ordered off of the summer menu, $15 for an entree and an app or dessert. The portion was big and the meal was fantastic! My parents and husband ordered off of the menu and everyone was highly impressed with their meals. Reasonably priced and good Itallian food. Would return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    63
    33
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The service was good for a Wednesday night and the food was better than average. Considering most local places are mediocre at best, Carraba's is a good choice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great chain for Italian food. Very fresh and cooked to order.
Good service. Reasonably priced. Great for families.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our first time at Carrabba's - was expecting typical "chain-restaurant" food but we were all pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was not too big, it was "quieter" than the other restaurants we visited in the area (which was a plus). Our server was very pleasant and friendly and the food was amazing.
3 adults and 3 kids
Appetizers - we had the fried calamari - very good
Youngest child had the pizza - he said it was good
Next child had the penne pasta - he said it was awesome
Nephew had Pasta Weesie - Fettuccine alfredo with shrimp sautéed in a garlic, lemon butter, white wine sauce with sautéed mushrooms and scallions - big portion and delicious!
My sister had the chicken marsala (small portion) - not only was it a huge portion but she says it was very, very good.
My husband had the Linguine Pescatore -
Shrimp, sea scallops and mussels tossed with linguine in a spicy marinara sauce - just perfectly spicy, large portion, and delicious.
I had the Italian Classics - chicken parm and lasagne - just the right portion - the chicken was the best I've had in a very long time and the lasagne was fantastic.
We will definitely get back to another Carrabba's closer to home and hope we have the same experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummmm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I love me some Carrabba's! Great, great food. One of my all time favorites- it's what I get in gift cards every birthday from people. The Italian classics are all very good, but the grilled items are truly delicious. The Calamari? Out of this world- ask for both dipping sauces. Everything is big enough to share. They make the best Tiramisu I've ever eaten. Ambiance is great, servers are nice. I never really have any issues there. They also have a good happy hour from open until 7pm. Some other favorite items of mine are: Sirloin Marsala, Chicken trio, Mahi Wulfe, all their veggies (ask for pic pac sauce), margherita pizza, lentil & sausage soup, and ceasar salad. I know it's a lot.. but bbelieve me, I could go on and on. You can't lose in this place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrabba's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.