We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoder's Restaurant

Yoder's Restaurant
3434 Bahia Vista St, Sarasota, FL 34239-7442
941-955-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 859 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OMG! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Three of us went to Yoders for dinner. We all had quarter portions of fried chicken. The portions were huge and the chicken is excellent. We each had enough chicken for two meals. We also bought pieces of pie to go (no room left for desert after dinner). The coconut cream is superb. We will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
We look forward to serving you again, soon!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    215
    83
    49
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tourist Heaven--go once for the experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Mid-week lunch--line out the door as expected from prior reviews. All staff very pleasant. Wife and I had Amish specials--nothing to write home about. Plain, filling and not very tasty. Fried okra was good. Pie looked much better than it was--a solid C and no more.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.
Since opening our doors in 1975, we have strived to serve the best Amish home cooked food in our area. We were sorry to hear that we didn't live up to that mark on your recent visit.
Should we ever get the oportunity to serve you again in the future, we are confidnent we will live up to our own high standards.
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best FOOD in Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Best food, by far, in all of Sarasota! Fresh made, home cooked style food. The pies are amazing, but my favorite is the chocolate cake! The fresh produce they sell is great and some of the best. It's where I buy my honey at as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Your words are too kind! Thank You!!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Awesome Awesome!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is the best!! Had to wait in line for a while but it was well worth it. We had fish fry and it was great, the coleslaw was the best I ever had. I want to move there just so I can eat the everyday.And the pies make sure you save room they are delicious!! Can't wait to go back!!Only open till 8pm so get there early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Please come down our way again, soon!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amish Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Yoder's Restaurant is in the heart of a small Amish/Mennonite community in Sarasota. No horse and buggies, but plenty of bicycles. Down home cooking in a relaxed atmosphere. Portions are enormous. Then there are the pies. Oh my. Save room for dessert! It is first come first served, but the line moved quickly. Service was warm and friendly despite the large crowds of diners moving through.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us!
We're happy to hear you enjoy us and this small town Amish community!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoder's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yoder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoder's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.